We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey but a good first night stay too unravel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No 25, St, Anthony's Lane | Off Lewis Place, Poruthota Road, Negombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 85 Negombo B&B and Inns
Victoria, B.C.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A little pricey but a good first night stay too unravel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Clean rooms with ac,Tv sat.mini bar, and wifi in room. The food served in restaurant was very good had seafood curry and corn crab soup. Breakfast is included with al la carte choices eggs, hash brown, grilled tomatoe , fruit plate. As stated find pricey.

Returned to Negombo 4 days later and departing Negombo at 2am have found similar accomodation for $35 that also has restaurant. The best St Lach offered at check out was 3 times as much.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    57
    27
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
67
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dammam, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went to Sri Lanka in low season, so we were anticipating few guests on this hotel. We arrived late and the hotel staffs were helpful and we were given welcome drinks (which is not bad in taste). The room was spacious and cozy, however, they don't offer twin beds (we made prior request) but what they provided to us was good enough.

Since we were the only guests on this hotel during this period, breakfast was served on an order-basis. Still, they provided good breakfast meals, enough to make us full.

Location-wise, this is not a beach-front hotel, around 5min-walk to reach the beach area. But we enjoyed walking around because you can find all the restaurants, bars and few shops. We felt safe walking around since there were some tourists doing the same.

Overall, this hotel is recommended for budgeted travelers. Good value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is very good, nice food in the restaurant, nice pool and friendly staff.
The rooms are very spacious. They have a few small windows without curtains.
We booked via booking.com. The prices are then excl. taxes.

I would not recommend to book tours via the hotel. You pay a lot for what you get. The elephant park entrance appeared to be not included in the price anymore by arrival there. This meant that we were only paying for transport to Kandi really...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A very warm welcome after a long flight ,room was large and comfortable but we had booked a twin room ,we were disappapionted that the bed was a camp bed !!!) Near to the beach .Staff were very helpful as we needed help to visit someone nearby making telephone calls and arranging a tuk tuk .The breakfast was the best we had during our trip .Ideal to use at the beginning or end of a trip

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is one of the better hotels in Sri Lanka. The rooms are large, bright and very comfortable. The dining room has a nice ambiance and the food is delicious. Dixon and his staff make every effort to ensure that you enjoy your stay at St. Lachlan - I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Based here for approximately 12 days while working locally, the hotel is tucked off the main street in a residential lane in a position on the opposite side to the coastline, the rooms are large and cool and the bathroom is located behing the room although the A/C is bolted to the back wall making quite a noise, when we stayed there was a problem with local ferral dogs producing a dawn chorus but hopefully they have been removed or muted by now, the staff here are great if a little over keen to entertain and feed you, the food at the hotel is good if a little over priced but the staff do make an effort to keep you happy, the bar area is small but airey and is certainly a good place to take a beer after work, the hotel also has a pool which we used during our day off.This hotel does seem to be a popular transit hotel for visitors doing an asia trip so there was certainly a fair turnover of short stay people. The main street in negumbo has plenty of places to eat, certainly we tried most of them and didnt have a bad meal or drink in either of them, its just a case of giving them all a try. Not a great palce to stay long term but whe you are working you tend to spend little time at the hotel. Beware this hotel does suffer with power cuts but most places are the same in Sri Lanka

Room Tip: probably a good place to stay for a transit stop,good food,good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Großbritannien
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The food in that hotel was the best we had during our 2,5 weeks holidays in Sri Lanka. The rooms are very nice and the staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed two nights and were totally satisfied. The pool is a little small but big enough for a stop over or an overnight stay when arriving in Sri Lanka. Very nice atmosphere in the evenings withs classical music.
Reataurants and shops are 2 minutes away, the beach 3 minutes. Relaxing start - we would go back anytime!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites

Address: No 25, St, Anthony's Lane | Off Lewis Place, Poruthota Road, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lachlan Hotel Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.