We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No 25, St, Anthony's Lane | Off Lewis Place, Poruthota Road, Negombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 99 Negombo B&B and Inns
Dammam, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went to Sri Lanka in low season, so we were anticipating few guests on this hotel. We arrived late and the hotel staffs were helpful and we were given welcome drinks (which is not bad in taste). The room was spacious and cozy, however, they don't offer twin beds (we made prior request) but what they provided to us was good enough.

Since we were the only guests on this hotel during this period, breakfast was served on an order-basis. Still, they provided good breakfast meals, enough to make us full.

Location-wise, this is not a beach-front hotel, around 5min-walk to reach the beach area. But we enjoyed walking around because you can find all the restaurants, bars and few shops. We felt safe walking around since there were some tourists doing the same.

Overall, this hotel is recommended for budgeted travelers. Good value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    66
    32
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
77
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is very good, nice food in the restaurant, nice pool and friendly staff.
The rooms are very spacious. They have a few small windows without curtains.
We booked via booking.com. The prices are then excl. taxes.

I would not recommend to book tours via the hotel. You pay a lot for what you get. The elephant park entrance appeared to be not included in the price anymore by arrival there. This meant that we were only paying for transport to Kandi really...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A very warm welcome after a long flight ,room was large and comfortable but we had booked a twin room ,we were disappapionted that the bed was a camp bed !!!) Near to the beach .Staff were very helpful as we needed help to visit someone nearby making telephone calls and arranging a tuk tuk .The breakfast was the best we had during our trip .Ideal to use at the beginning or end of a trip

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is one of the better hotels in Sri Lanka. The rooms are large, bright and very comfortable. The dining room has a nice ambiance and the food is delicious. Dixon and his staff make every effort to ensure that you enjoy your stay at St. Lachlan - I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Based here for approximately 12 days while working locally, the hotel is tucked off the main street in a residential lane in a position on the opposite side to the coastline, the rooms are large and cool and the bathroom is located behing the room although the A/C is bolted to the back wall making quite a noise, when we stayed there was a problem with local ferral dogs producing a dawn chorus but hopefully they have been removed or muted by now, the staff here are great if a little over keen to entertain and feed you, the food at the hotel is good if a little over priced but the staff do make an effort to keep you happy, the bar area is small but airey and is certainly a good place to take a beer after work, the hotel also has a pool which we used during our day off.This hotel does seem to be a popular transit hotel for visitors doing an asia trip so there was certainly a fair turnover of short stay people. The main street in negumbo has plenty of places to eat, certainly we tried most of them and didnt have a bad meal or drink in either of them, its just a case of giving them all a try. Not a great palce to stay long term but whe you are working you tend to spend little time at the hotel. Beware this hotel does suffer with power cuts but most places are the same in Sri Lanka

Room Tip: probably a good place to stay for a transit stop,good food,good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Großbritannien
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The food in that hotel was the best we had during our 2,5 weeks holidays in Sri Lanka. The rooms are very nice and the staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed two nights and were totally satisfied. The pool is a little small but big enough for a stop over or an overnight stay when arriving in Sri Lanka. Very nice atmosphere in the evenings withs classical music.
Reataurants and shops are 2 minutes away, the beach 3 minutes. Relaxing start - we would go back anytime!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed in Sri Lanka and what a wonderful start! The very welcome custom of a cool drink on arrival (free) as we checked in. Our room was spacious, with ceiling fan and air conditioning, walk in showers, fluffy clean white towels, dressing gown and slippers. A balcony over looking the roof tops. the staff were so cheery and friendly and helpful as we had problems with the air conditioning unit (entirely our fault). We walked to the beach, about 5 mins walk down the side street and across the main road, had a swim, then dinner later on in one of the many restaurants on the main street. Sitting outside, lights in the trees, warmth and good food, watching the tuk tuks drive by -bliss after a wet summer in Glasgow! Not a mosquito to be seen - yet - that came later inland Sri Lanka!! Breakfast next day was lovely, sitting by the pool, good coffee and juice. Breakfast was too British for my liking, however what I had was well cooked. All in all, we thought the St Lachlan a nice, clean, friendly hotel with good facilities and handy for the airport.
Karen and Kathleen, Houston, Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites

Address: No 25, St, Anthony's Lane | Off Lewis Place, Poruthota Road, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lachlan Hotel Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Lachlan Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.