We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Holiday Village to your Saves list
Paradise Holiday Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154/9, Palangathurai, Kochchikade, Negombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Negombo
Hyderabad, Pakistan
1 review
“Best clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Rooms are big clean, nice quite area big hotel nice clean swimming pool, nice hotel staff specially at dinner guy name Philip he is very helpful and give good idea for food and guide. We are enjoying wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    49
    49
    28
    25
See reviews for
38
58
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in total at Paradise Holiday Village on our budget tour of Sri Lanka.

The hotel had everything we needed and more. We had an apartment with bedroom, bathroom, lounge/kitchen area so ample room to move around plus, much needed AC. My mother in law had her own large room with bathroom and mini fridge.

It was clean and fairly well cared for and comfortable. Had free Wif-fi, an onsite restaurant that was well staffed and the food was pretty good. The best thing had to be the fresh fruit juices for 100 rupees (around 50p).

The pool, as with the rest of the hotel, was a little rough round the edges, with un-grouted and sharp-edged tiles, was a god-send in the heat and humidity and was lovely to wallow around in.

Security was good with round the clock guards (who may or may not strike up conversation for a tip)! Everyone has a job to do!

A very pleasant stay in a very lovely country!
if you are looking for 5 * luxury - this isn't the choice for you, but if you are looking to experience the country and culture on a bit more of a budget whilst travelling around - give it a try!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were disappointed in this hotel. The rooms were all very big, but sparsely furnished, with awful furniture. The kitchen was very large, but there were no kitchenware supplied, very strange. The food at the restaurant was just average. The entire property needed a good clean up! renovating! and repairs. Beds were comfortable, reasonably clean. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

1)Rude staff,looks not sincere with their business,,non professional,looks street boys.
2)They don't provide any coffee/tea or cold drink with refreshment to the air line guests.
3)They only provide 300ml water bottel for full day to one guest,more than it you have to buy and you have to exchange your $ for water bottel
Looks very conservative minded hotel,but remember business can not be grown by these cheap acts..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning and end of the holiday. It's absolutely fine and not expensive (about 30e a night). Food fine but I am sure there were some nicer restaurants in the vicinity. It doesn't have much of a bar (only beer) but there are many in the vicinity. Pool was clean although some sun loungers were broken.

Wifi was not available in the rooms. Closest signal was the pool. But you don't come to Sri Lanka for wifi.

The rooms we had were clean and spacious. There was air con which worked well (we woke up freezing).

If you come to Negombo for a beach holiday (even though you would be better to head down south) it would be boring but for a short stay perfectly fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapineria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel it is very bad. The room i had got has an infeccion of bedbugs. I awaked up full of bites and so my two old year baby. When i complain They said it was not true. The room was so dirty. Since we already paíd the room throught agoda the did not change the room, and not refund money. Agoda did not make nothing. And in top of all that, we arrive early morning and They whanted to 25 dólar extra to get into the room before 12.00 oclock. We already paíd 50 dólars throught agoda. So we had to paíd for a ugly, old, and dirty room 75 dólars.
Another thing, the room throught agoda was 10 dólars moré expensive.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton G, Manager at Paradise Holiday Village, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
As we have checked the reservation with the provided Name Jesús Elías Pérez and now we can give a proper explanation about the situation. First of all we would like to say something about the rooms. Room No’s 122 – 133 are twelve rooms in the deluxe category that have been newly refurbished in 2013 and specially made for honeymoon couples and these rooms are always occupied and we guarantee that we maintain proper standard with all of our rooms so we deny the complaint made by the guest about the room.
Jesús Elías Pérez on arrival it was around 0600 Hrs and the guy from the reception informed about check in and checkout procedure which is 1200 HRS and it is also mentioned in www.booking.com and www.agoda.com. As we had availability our receptionist had asked the guest if they would like to have the room early for a charge of 25 USD but the guest refused to pay the amount and wanted to have the room before 1200 HRS for free, later after a detailed explaining the guest agreed to pay and have the room with early check in and this could be the main reason for the guest to be dissatisfied with the reception staff and the hotel probably causing to make a false comment about the hotel. So we think it is very unfair to make a bad remark about the hotel because of dissatisfaction caused as our reception staff failed to provide a room for early check in free of charge.

Note : This is the reply we got from the guest when we sent her/ him a message requesting for a booking details.

Maybe because it was booked at my couple name. Jesús Elías Pérez. Check this name. We stayed at the end of march, with our baby. In your hotel the people at the desk was so rude. I going to write to all the Pagés of internet my opinion about your hotel.


On Apr 01, 2014, at 05:43 AM Anton Gomez wrote:
while checking our records during the month of March we found no guest in the name of Nuria who has checked in to this hotel. Please forward the reference number of your booking and more details to look into this matter which we cannot accept for now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and really enjoyed our time here. For us the hotel was in a good location, towards the end of the beach road but only 10 mins walk to main area where Rodeo pub, Kamlo restaurant are located, and many shops, bars and restaurants along the way.

In the immediate vicinity there are restaurants, stalls, shops and bars, highlights being a great little juice bar directly opposite, Sevanna beach bar 2 mins walk away and Petit restaurant directly opposite.

The hotel is like a mini resort, with buildings dotted around well maintained grounds. The good and bad are as follows:

Good:

Location

Great bar area by reception which was directly on the road side allowing for a few drinks whilst watching the world go by

Cleanliness of rooms was excellent, we stayed in room 20 and the room attendant worked so hard, one bit of advice would be to request towel changes as we noticed after 5 days that they simply put your used towels out to dry and do not replace, however after speaking with them this was soon rectified

The maintenance guy here was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble, he checked several times a day that we were ok and any requests were me straight away

Pool area was great

Reception were always efficient, and allowed us to keep our room on until we checked out for $25 which was so welcome as we were not being picked up until 01.00

The not so good:

The service around the pool for food and drinks was non existent and the hotel would make much more money if they kept coming around for drinks orders

We ate in the restaurant for dinner one evening and whilst the food was ok, we were given the bill without asking at 21.30 as they wanted to close it and were setting up breakfast around us, this was not a good impression

They had 3 hot dishes on at breakfast, every morning I would have breakfast at 09.00, it was served until, 10.00 and the fuel underneath the chafing dished was not lit meaning that the dishes were cold every single day

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good holiday, in a lovely little resort style property, only 3 mins walk from the beach with great staff who always are on hand to make your stay enjoyable

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Holiday Village

Address: 154/9, Palangathurai, Kochchikade, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Holiday Village Hotel Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.