We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean little guesthouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Serenity

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Serenity to your Saves list
Villa Serenity
94/2 Mazahira Lane, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Villa Extra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Clean little guesthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

As mentioned this is great for a stop incoming or outgoing from Sri Lanka as it is fairly near to the airport. It is clean, unpretentious and quiet. We had a very good breakfast on the terrace and an early morning walk on the beach nearby. Families might miss a pool if staying longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We did only stay 1 night before our flight back home. The villa has 4 rooms and is run by a very friendly couple. The villa is well situated away from the street where all the action (and noise) is going on - so this was great. The owner also got up at 4am to help us to get in the taxi. He also guards the entrance door very well - so it's a safe place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great place to stay after arriving in Sri Lanka as not far from airport
Easy to grab a cab at there
Near the beach and restaurants but tucked away so not noisy
with nice clean big rooms

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We used this guest house as a final stop before going to the airport to make our flight. It's a really good location close to lots of restaurants and the beach in Negombo and a short (20 mins) taxi to the airport.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. They helped us organise our taxi to the airport and recommended a good restaurant for our evening meal.

Clean and spacious room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The rooms at this hotel were large, clean and comfortable. Rooms and bathroom were rather basic (fine for our purpose) but large. We were situated on the ground floor and experienced a reasonable amount of noise during the night. Also, we were planning to leave early the next morning, before breakfast and were informed we could have a packed lunch to take away. However, this packed lunch did not contain what was agreed the night before - a little disappointing! The couple who own this accomodation are very friendly but just let them know if you are planning on arriving early! Just to make people aware, this hotel is not situated on the beach but is only a 10 minute walk from the bars, restaurants and beach. Overall, this hotel met our needs but was nothing above average.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed for a very pleasant two nights in this very nice guest house. The room we had was large and very well equipped. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. A real bonus was the silent fan, which meant we could cool the room then turn off the air-conditioning and fall asleep lessoning to the distant sounds of Negombo. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath, which would have been a bonus, had there been enough hot water to use it. However the bathroom was very nice.

The breakfast was fairly standard. The fish curry for dinner was excellent.

The hostess and her daughter are very welcoming and good fun. The security was very good.

There are far more interesting places to stay in Sri Lanka than Negombo. It was the only place that we suffered from really nasty insect bites. However it does make a good first night or last night stop due to its close proximity to the airport.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Since we had an early flight the next morning, we decided to stay in Negombo for our last night in Sri Lanka, to take advantage of the location near the airport, and the much less expensive accomodation cost at Villa Extra. It was a little difficult to find, off a small alley, but the owner is lovely and runs a very spacious, neat and tidy guest house. She has lovely gardens and the house is spotless. It actually seems like a regular single family home but she has several rooms very cleverly tucked away. Ask her to make her special fruit juice for you!
Beds, air con, wifi, shower, all very comfortable and feels like home. She can also arrange transportation and other details for your trip. I would definitely highly recommend a stay here, especially at her very reasonable prices and personal touches.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Serenity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Serenity

Address: 94/2 Mazahira Lane, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Villa Extra)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Serenity, previously known as Villa Extra, now under a new management. This prime location is situated just 20 minutes away from the airport and a 10 minute walk to the beach. Villa Serenity is the perfect holiday getaway if you're seeking a tranquil and peaceful stay along with the tours that if customers are willing to which can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Serenity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Extra Hotel Negombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Serenity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.