We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Haven Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beach Haven Guest House to your Saves list
Beach Haven Guest House
65, Light House Street | Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 183 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed in this guest house for 4 nights but I found others who had liked it so much they had stayed for much longer! The owner of this guest house is a lovely 75 year old woman who goes out of her way to help you but is also very efficient. She knows what she's doing in terms of running a guest house as she's been doing it since the 60's.
I stayed here during high season and found the price excellent value (I did some shopping around first). Unlike a lot of places in The Lonely Planet/ Trip Advisor, this place doesn't seem to have put their prices up after getting good reviews!
Breakfast is extra, but is still the cheapest in the Fort and is plentiful.
It has an excellent location being in the centre of the Fort.
Another thing which was reassuring( especially as a lone female), is that this place has CCTV, watched over by the owner! Also, the guesthouse seems to be primarily run by women, which was different to a lot of places I've been to.
My room was basic, but perfectly satisfactory with an en-suite newly tiled bathroom with hot water. The bedroom didn't have ac, only a fan, but this was perfectly OK. The towels were good (unlike in a lot of places). The only minor negative was that the pillows were rather old but I still managed to sleep just fine.
Altogether it's a place I definitely hope to return to.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    43
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
68
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
galle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed in Beach Haven Guest House for round about eight weeks, because I was working here for that time. During my stay in Galle I was offered several times to rent houses or appartments, but I didn't want to leave the Beach Haven.
The whole family was so kind. They were really friendly and very helpful.
The rooms got cleaned up regulary, so they were always clean. All the staff are really kind and corteous. Wifi is available in every room. The best place to sit is the huge, beautiful veranda, where you can enjoy your tea and relax. Sometimes you can even hear the sea.
The Guest House is located in the center of Galle Fort. During night there is no traffic or noise at the street. You can reach everything you need in walking distance. To reach the public bus stand or the train station it is about a 10 minutes walk through the beautiful Fort.
If you are visiting Galle Fort, I think Beach Haven is the best place to stay and I would really recommend the Guest House for every kind of stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel clean and comfortable. We stayed on the first floor which had a lovely veranda which was great for sitting on in the evening and has fans so is nice and cool.

The rooms are what you would expect from a budget guesthouse; clean and comfortable with mosquito net and also a ceiling can which was fine. We paid 2500 for the room which we were pleased with. There is also decent free wifi available.

The hotel is in a great location right in the centre of the historic old town with a short walk to the sea front as well as cafes and restaurants. Galle is a lovely place to relax and unwind.

The owner is very friendly and helpful and we were able to purchase beers from her which saved the hassle of getting a rickshaw to the shop ( there are no beer shops in the old town)

All in all, a lovely stay and great value. If you are planning a beach trip. Get a rickshaw to Jungle Beach which is up the bay and 500Rs. Absolutely amazing tropical paradise and a great seafood shack.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor are perfect with a lovely veranda. Why pay more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place was very cheap and I guess you get what you pay for. The room was dirty and so noisy to sleep. The owner who is in her 70's was so lovely and helpful. The location was great but I got out of there quickly as I didn't like the dirty, hot, noisy room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beach Haven is located in the center of the Fort, easily walking distance from the bus stand (we did it in approx. 10 mins easy stroll, with our luggage).

We only stayed in Galle for one night, the room was very comfortable and clean and the staff were very friendly. WiFi was also available in the room.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Apart from the bed,which was a bit damp,we really enjoyed our stay here.Very clean rooms and nice views of the street as we were on the 1st floor.Very good VFM.We didn;t actually eat here,as we had friends nearby and spent a lot of our time at Mama's rooftop restaurant-good for breakfast and perfect for dinner!
But a pleasant place to stay for a couple of nights when visiting Galle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I recently stayed for a couple of days at the Beach Haven Guest House during a short trip to Galle, rooms are confortables, clean and the balcony is a fresh and relaxing view of the streets.
Location in centre is perfect.
Mrs Wijenayake is very kind and sweet and she know needs travellers.
I higthly recomend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven Guest House

Address: 65, Light House Street | Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house started in 1968. According to the Lonely Planet travel guide (1980 edition-page 82) there were only two guest houses in the Galle Fort. This is the only existing guest house. It was started by Mrs. N.D. Wijenayake, the Former Deputy Mayor of Galle. Guest house has 4 A/C rooms. Rooftop balcony overlooking the sea and pleasant verandah. It has no curfew time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beach Haven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Guest House Hotel Galle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Haven Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.