We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mrs Khalid's Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mrs Khalid's Guest House to your Saves list
Mrs Khalid's Guest House
102 Pedlar Street, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You can do better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

We were misled by the great reviews here and booked ourselves into Mrs. Khalid's. The food was okay--not great but better than you can find outside for the same price--but still overpriced for what you get, which is basically veggies and dhal. The room was okay, not so clean and wasn't cleaned during our stay. We liked the balcony, but many places have balconies here. We kept walking around and seeing nicer places we could have stayed. Khalid's is overpriced and offers little value for money. There is not much to do in Galle, so where you stay is really important and can make or break your time here. I suggest forking out a bit more for one of the nicer boutique hotels--you won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
18
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

great place lovely rooms with superb sea view balcony. khalids food unthinkable and best foods we had in whole of sri lanka. freindly family and we have enjoyed our stay very much. we used rough guides but fortunatly we ended up staying at khalids. a special note to rough guides, please make sure no mistakes repeated for khalids in your next edition.

thanks
suzan

  • Liked — balcony with sea view and food
  • Disliked — street sound
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

one of the best stays in our holiday. sri lanka was amazing so as the khalids guest house in galle. very clean and comfortable accommodation while the sea view balcony was outstanding. food difficult to explain. just need to try which will be best explained then. great food great accommodation and great place to stay...we have enjoyed more than we expected and strongly recommond khalids galle to any fellow traveller.

young

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

we had a lovely three weeks in sri lanka and stayed our first two nights and the last week at khalids galle. tastefully designed very beautiful dutch house,we decided to spend our last week at khalids as it was the best place we stayed and dine during our stay in sri lanka. (thanks for lonely planet guide,sadly rough guide has misjudged) rooms were very clean and comfortable with a very relaxing balcony that overlooks the dutch walls and the ocean. food was amazing with all different each day and taste different each day. never wanted to taste food out side khalids while in galle. in our opinion khalid's food no chance to compete. out of the world and best food we have ever had. not the best place if you are with a very tight budget but all you spend at khalids is real value for money.

Ben and Carla
Canada

  • Liked — food and freindy home
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

having been disappointed with ocean view guest house we moved to the excellent khalids for a two wonderful days. very tastfully done up family home with very clean and large rooms. all with attached bath and hot water. we stayed at a sea view balcony room where we enjoyed most. the food is unbeatable and the best we had in sri lanka. unfortunatly our guide book (rough guides) did not see how good the khalids are.

  • Liked — balcony with sea view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

the three nights of stay at Khalids in galle has been the best out of the three weeks holiday in sri lanka. the food is out standing and never tasted such good food else ware. service is 100% and the family is very freindly and helpful with real attention when its needed. rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. the sea view balcony rooms are better to stay. back side rooms not that good but if you are for a low bugdet thats fine. excellent place to stay and dine.

  • Liked — food and freindly host
  • Disliked — nothing in perticular
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

after reading good reviews in our slightly out of date guides it was disappointing to find that standards seem to have slipped. It's budget accommodation I know (higher end) but sheets were grey and stains not fully washed out and someone had the idea whilst we were there of improving the look of the wash basin by gloss painting it (and half the taps) courtesy of cowboy decorator. Meals are now 500r which is hight than anywhere else we stayed

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — llazy attitudes
  • Tips/Secrets — take clean pillow cases
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mrs Khalid's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrs Khalid's Guest House

Address: 102 Pedlar Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mrs Khalid's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mrs Khalid`s Guest House Hotel Galle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mrs Khalid's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.