We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate and perfectly formed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fort Printers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fort Printers to your Saves list
The Fort Printers
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 Pedlar St | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 161 Galle B&B and Inns
1 review
“Intimate and perfectly formed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Fort Printers during a February escape from the snowy English winter. The hotel is set in a great location, among local shops, banks, cafe's and restaurants within the old fort - a tranquil spot that doesn't allow a great deal of traffic, making it peaceful and intimate.
The hotel is styled very well with the right balance of modern and tradional. Sitting in the walled, courtyard dining area you get the feeling of being a guest at a superstar's second home.
Staff were always on hand and friendly, arranging tuk tuks to their sister hotel frangipani (guests can use the pool here - stunning), advising over upcoming travel in Sri Lanka, or turning down the room for the evening. Service around mealtimes was excellent and as was food, which was good value (£7-15 all dishes, including fresh seafood).
We stayed in a standard room which was more than adequate size wise and amenities.
All in all, a fantastic find (by my other half) and a great experience. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to peacefully unwind in an exclusive but unstuffy environment.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    71
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
164
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Lovely escape from the hot streets of Sri Lanka. Welcomed with juice and a cool towel and well trained staff. Great design and style. Blending both modern architecture and traditional features has been successfully achieved.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but it was full, so maybe a good place if you have nothing else planned. Altogether a great place, in the centre of Galle. Well worth a splurge!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for our last night in Sri Lanka following a seven day tour. The hotel was beautiful, the pool was nice and clean and perfect after a long days travelling.

We were give the headmasters suite which we were not expecting, the room was magnificent, clean and it was just a shame we were not there for more than one night!

We didn't have dinner at our hotel, not for any particular reason other than we wanted to go for a walk and just stumbled upon somewhere else that looked nice to eat.
We did have breakfast at the hotel which was very nice, we had to leave early, and they catered for us even though we came down for breakfast slightly before normal breakfast hours.

Great hotel but not much around the hotel at night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a nice hotel with good rooms though water pressure can be difficult.
We were on half-board which actually gave pretty limited choice but the food was good.
Staff were friendly enough but not quite as open as many others we met in Sri Lanka
It is in a great location for walks round the forts walls and for last minute boutique shopping

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Fort Printers is a lovely place to stay but, a word of warning to those booking to ensure that you double-check which rooms you are actually getting!!

Three months ago, my wife and I booked three nights in the deluxe suites at the Fort Printers - that is either the Headmasters or Prefects rooms - to finish our Sri Lankan trip, through Agoda at $200 a night. We were informed straight away that the first night was not available and were offered a night in their sister hotel in Thalpe which we took and was very lovely.

However, upon arrival in Galle we were informed that we were booked in the new 'deluxe' rooms across the road. This was a newer building and while it is very nice (or will be when completed - at this stage there were piles of tiles waiting to be placed in the courtyard, the pressure in the shower was intermittent at best and hot water unavailable for the last day, the toilet seat was not attached to the toilet and water continuously leaked from the base of the toilet, etc.)

We were quite upset, as this was the highlight and conclusion of our trip and we were so looking forward to experiencing some of the ambience and atmosphere of the original rooms in the original building. On their website there is only mention of five rooms - two deluxe and three standards in the original building and no mention of these three "new deluxe" rooms across the road.

Furthermore, these rooms have apparently been open for two months, so were not open when we booked which makes us question why they must have double-booked in advance. As mentioned, these rooms will be nice when completed, but lack any of the ambience such as raised platforms, antiques, writing desks, etc. They are nice, modern rooms - but that is it.

Importantly, the staff were all very apologetic and lovely and did provide us with a couple of meals in compensation, the food was very nice and we did enjoy our stay to an extent. We were just very disappointed that we missed out in staying in this lovely old building to conclude our trip. Having paid quite a bit for three nights, and not actually sleeping in our reserved room for even one of those nights, was really poor form and soured the end of our trip considerably.

Room Tip: If you want atmosphere, stay in the old building. New ones are nice but modern and lacking any ambie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is only a small hotel, it just has five bedrooms. Despite this the public areas are extensive and airy, and are decorated with modern art; there was an exhibition by Sri Lankan artist Anome on during our stay. There is a restaurant indoors, or you can eat in the courtyard which is small and shady and also contains the little swimming pool. Frangipani blossom falls on your table as you eat. The food is excellent, and the Sri Lankan curries are good and hot, they haven't been toned down for western tastes. The staff were pleasant and helpful. At night most of them go home and there's just one person on duty, but apparently the manager lives nearby and will come in if there are problems at night.

The only thing we didn't like was that our room (Arts) had windows which faced onto a walkway which runs round the outside of the first floor, so we had to keep the blinds down for privacy. And the aircon was rather noisy, but there is a quieter ceiling fan, and the lack of outside windows does mean it stays cooler. There were two skylights for some natural light, and the walkway has lots of windows over the street so we weren't in the dark. Other than this the room was fine, very "designery" with the bed being on a platform and the shower and toilet cubicles being behind a big solid partition at the head of the bed. As this doesn't go right up to the ceiling it might not suit delicate souls who don't like to hear their partner farting, but we're hardier types and didn't have a problem with it. The decor is all white walls and dark woodwork and furniture. The shower cubicle is particularly fine, copper lined and floored with beautiful turquoise tiles. Good quality shampoo, conditioner and shower gel are provided.

The hotel is very well situated right in the middle of Galle Fort, so you can walk everywhere. There's lots to see and do close by. They have a sister hotel a few miles away with more extensive pool and leisure facilities which Fort Printers guests can use.

If you want a quirky, eccentric little place with good food and friendly staff, this will suit you very well. If you are looking for five-star flim-flam and 24-hour service, I'd suggest you go up the road and pay through the nose at Amangalle.

Room Tip: "Arts" won't suit you if you are keen on absolute privacy as the windows look onto a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was the favourite place that we stayed in Sri Lanka - absolutely gorgeous old building and decor/furnishings, excellent and friendly service, a stunning room (the Headmaster's), and the Galle Fort itself was stunning. We can't believe that we nearly didn't include this hotel and Galle Fort in our holiday itinerary! Perfectly located for strolling around Galle Fort. We had one night here and wished we had longer. It's hard to believe that there is a better place to stay in Galle Fort - we thought this sound be #1! The whole hotel is also an art gallery. We loved breakfast and dinner in the outdoor atmospheric courtyard by the pool with the frandipani flowers wafting down gently in to the courtyard. Do yourself a favour - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The Headmaster's suite is fantastic - upstairs, very spacious two-roomed suite, air conditioned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fort Printers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fort Printers

Address: 39 Pedlar St | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fort Printers 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Guests get the convenience of hotel services and the ambiance of a villa at Fort Printers… The eighteenth-century mansion turned printing facility now houses five stylish, antiques-filled suites—four linked via a second-story walkway, common in colonial buildings of the era; the fifth, poolside. The jackwood floors, copper-lined rain showers, and extra-long lap pool are generating a buzz among design-savvy visitors.” - Conde`Nast Traveler Hot List 2006 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fort Printers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fort Printers Hotel Galle
Fort Printers Galle
Hotel Fort Printers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fort Printers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.