We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgous Grand Dame” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amangalla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amangalla to your Saves list
Amangalla
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Church Street | inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Galle
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Georgous Grand Dame”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel itself is georgeous. The service is faultless, from the moment we arrived at Colombo; around midnight. We were whisked away in the car and arrived at Amangalla at 2.30am. They showed us to our rooms immediately and even asked if they can rustle up some late night snacks or hot chocolate for us. Now that's going the extra mile.
We did the Fort and Beach experience. The spa that was on offer was great. Once again service was second to none.
The niggly complaint that we had was due to the noise of the people walking above us. We pointed that out to the manager and she told us that the people above us will be checking out the next day and she blocked the room so that we were left in peace and quiet. And we were.
The food was superb. The afternoon tea was to die for. Those scones! And finger sandwiches. Then came dinner, which were another feast onto itself. Sunset drinks on the top floor was pretty spectacular too. All in all pretty amazing place, we were given a tour of the hotel which was originally the Dutch Military HQ then in the late 1890s became the New Oriental Hotel, till Aman took over in 2004, 3 days after opening the tsunami hit and Amangalla was used as a temporary hospital.
Truly amazing history and its service to the community

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    40
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
43
163
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Nice setting for a pre dinner drink and much more reasonably priced than we expected...cocktails £5,so we had 2 rounds. Shame though there were not more areas you could wonder into as non guest we were confined to quite a small but lovely area.

Dinner menu also looked good and reasonably prices and saw some people having afternoon tea.

A step back in time to colonial times.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a comically good hotel. There are negative reviews on this website that relate to people who weren't given a table for dinner!!! They should really be excluded if we are being honest. This is absolutely and without question the best hotel in Galle.
We had a spectacular time here. It is a stunning hotel with a feeling that cannot be captured through a website or through images. In fact our only criticism to the manager (in a friendly discussion) was that the websites simply do not do the place justice.
Everything from the spa, through to the food, rooms, service and location are excellent. If I was being ultra critical I would say that the only issue with the place is that there are alot of non-guests who have the hotel on their hitlist either for dinner, or for a simple visit. Although that will absolutely not impact your own treatment as a guest (i.e. in relation to dinner reservations etc) its not ideal having people wander in and out of the hotel. The main part of the hotel, beyond the main lobby etc, is completely reserved for guests.
This is the kind of hotel that you arrive at and immediately start thinking of how you'll be able to get back there after you leave.

Room Tip: tried the aryuvedic treatments here which were great. Also if you have the chance (as a male) to che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This grand old hotel has been restored to it's former glory, making it a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are beautiful, with large bathrooms, original polished floor boards, four poster beds and all the modern conveniences.

Staff are attentive - you will be allocated your own butler, who is on call 24 hours a day to tend to your needs. The manager personally greets and farewells all guest, and spends time ensuring that everyone is relaxed and well cared for during their stay.

There is a fantastic spas - use of the steam room, sauna, spa and plunge pool is dress for guest, and you book a time so that you have it all to yourself. There is a large pool out the back with shady cabanas if you fancy spending a day chilling out.

Try the Amangalla version of a Gin & Tonic - it is amazing! Meals are good, but do explore some of the other great places to eat in Galle Fort while there.

Room Tip: Book a room that faces into the garden area as there can be a little bit of street noise if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My friend and I were having a cup of tea in this most beautiful hotel when a Sri Lankan family - elderly mother and father and son and daughter in law and 2 teenagers, As they came to the door we heard the doorman telling them that they were full(this was not true as there were several tables empty) The family turned away and just then a van drew up and a party oif European people were welcomed in and sat down at the table next to us. The son of the Sri Lankan family saw this and came back and pointed out that it was not full and said his elderly parents just wanted to sit and have a cup of tea whilst the family walked around Galle Fort, the doorman again said they were full so the son asked to see the manager,eventually a lady who appeared to be English spoke to the doorman ,looked at the family tossed her head and walked away, and the doorman let the old couple in. I spoke to them and they said that this is what happened years and years ago . This is a very sad reflection on this hotel who obviously only want to serve affluent white tourists. This is a lovely place , the service and everything else about it is wonderful, but this incident was a huge black mark.

Room Tip: Beautiful scones with afternoon tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I really cannot elaborate much beyond my description of 'the best' but I will because a hotel and staff such as Amangalla deserves the recognition.
The food is the best, everything is delicious: breakfast, tea, curry, scones and anything that we ordered.
The rooms are classic and comfortable, instantly felt welcomed and at home.
This experience would not have been as great without the exceptional service the managers and staff provided. I read other reviews and I find that impossible others received sub par or even average service.
Kavita, the general manager is the example of what all hotel managers should strive to achieve. She is welcoming, friendly, organized and efficient.
Our butler was Yaseth, the kindest most helpful individual I have met. He genuinely cares about your experience and well being. I would travel to Sri Lanka just to stay at Amangalla. Thank you for a wonderful & memorable vacation!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Almost perfection. Our suite was #6 which was superb with the added bonus of a corner room, giving extra light through a side window. From here we watched brides arriving for their formal photos and posing by the old wall.
A heritage building has many wonderful advantages. The drawback here, was the noise from the room above. No carpets to deaden the noise and as we were there on a Monday, the road noise was also very noticeable.
The gems here are the staff. Absolutelycharming.
Thank you Carvita and Nalin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangalla

Address: 10 Church Street | inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#10 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amangalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.