We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly ut tired place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lady Hill to your Saves list
Lady Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Upper Dickson Road, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Galle
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Friendly ut tired place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

The situation of this hotel is superb: beautiful view from the room (with balcony). And a very agreable rooftop bar/restaurant. There is a nice small swimming pool and the staff is extremely friendly. Albeit that apart from the management language can be a problem.
The downside of this hotel is the quality of the rooms. Our room was very much in need of refurbishment. The beds have too thin matrasses. The cleanliness of the sheets was not convincing and the towels smelled musty and did not absorb water (like new ones do before washing, but these were not new).
The food was good and reasonably priced. Beware of the red wine: ours was way beyond drinkability.
So location, staf and food are fine. And the price would be right if the rooms were better kept.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    48
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
45
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

views are great, rooms ok and clean staff friendly
restaurant so so, could be better

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Ladyhill during the 4th Galle Literary Festival. The hotel is located on Upper Dickson Road, which is within 5 minutes drive or 20 minutes walking distance from the Dutch Fort, which is a World Heritage Site. The parking is limited, and adequate for the 12 rooms. We were on half board, and the food was quite satisfactory. The rooms are basic, as others have pointed out, but are functional, quite adequate, and even charming. The Lady on the Hill, as it should be, has plenty of wood in its fixtures, a large breakfast room, and even a small wading pool. There are stunning views over the harbour from the rooftop restaurant, and miles and miles of coconut palms. We were woken up once by Buddhist chanting from the temple just below, as it was a poya (full moon) day. There are just 12 rooms, and we were in Room 203. There was a cockroach in the room once, but this is common in Sri Lanka (we live here). The old part of this mansion is not open to the public, they are the owner's private apartments. The served breakfast is quite adequate, consisting of toast/jam/marmalade, your choice of egg (Including many different kinds of omelette), ham/sausage/bacon, a fruit platter, fruit juice and tea/coffee, The 4-course dinner menu by candlelight, was also generous and good value. This is about 1/3 the price of hotels in the Galle Fort, save perhaps the Rampart Hotel and Mama's. Diresh, the manager (very precise in speech - it is unbelievable that people found knowledge of English to be problem at the hotel - and butlerish harking back to colonial days), and the owner, Senake are courteous and helpful. They know the area well, and can assist with advice on food, places of religious worship and trips out. Since they are not selling it to you, they take cost into consideration. We enjoyed the Literary Festival too, and this proved an amazingly convenient base for it, as the founder Geoffrey Dobbs has two premium hotel properties next door.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

I stayed for 2 days at the "Ladyhil" in # 204 and everything was perfect... - beautiful room, extremely clean and with lovely views looking out onto a very pretty and well cared for garden with of course the beautiful vista of jungle and sea beyond... My room was bright and airy and had (as all rooms do) a very nice balcony. Air Con was good - although I just slept under the Punka fan- and I slept like a dream.

Galle is hot, but in my opinion it is better to stay away form the fort and up the Hill - which is 5 minutes walk from town and 10 from the Fort.... - The Galle Fort is of course very romantically historic, but it is hot and a little stifling as it is surrounded by high walls built by the Dutch in the !8th Century.

i had no complaints about the Lady Hill, they have personal safes in the room for security and the food was good - breakfast was excellent with choice and other meals English orientated.. but I suspect that the chef is also well tuned to cook Sri Lankan food of excellent quality. The waiting staff were charming and welcoming.

The room was spotless and cleaned daily, the water features and rock pools around the hotel were lovely. The bathrooms are small but sufficient with Shower, toilet and sink.

The infinity swimming pool was lovely place to cool off, to meet fellow guests and the lounge ares was a great place for a drink.

Personally I thought that the Ladyhill was one of the nicest places to stay in Galle - it is an excellent middle class establishment and nothing seem to be a problem to the management and staff who made every effort to may my stay enjoyable... - For me as an Aussie, there was no problem to communicate with the staff in English - in face some of them I fear, spoke better English than I.

What more can I say... - yes, I have been to stay at the Ladyhill before and I will again... - I just love this place and sitting on my balcony, having a drink and (should I say) a cigarette, wile listening to the chanting at the local Temple in the distance......is my idea of paradise... Mike

P.S. - If you are not too keen on Stairs - ask for a lower floor.

P.P.S. - the famed Unawatuna beach is about 10 - 15 minutes away by Tuk Tuk... it is a must go destination..... for a swim, a drink or dinner at night...!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

I have travelled in Sri Lanka several times, and am well used to third world standards, which do not bother me. But The Lady Hill was like Fawlty Towers to the power of five. Sad, neglected, dirty, and extremely poorly run. The place does not hold a candle (save during power cuts) to The Closenberg, which is less expensive and vastly preferable. Other reviewers have been equally disappointed with The Lady Hill.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Why this is not listed as Galle is beyond me. I have stayed at the Lady Hill every year for a week or two since 2005. It is located up a short hill above the busy "new city" adjacent to a Buddhist center on a dead end road. The building is an expansion of an old colonial era house occupied by the hotel owner's family when she was a girl. The dining room on the first floor is pretty and birds just outside the open windows make for a pleasant breakfast. The bar on the top floor is unsurpassed for its views in three directions. Open to the breezes, it is a remedy for any day long's dusty adventure. The sunrises and sunsets from that height are a dream for hack photographers like myself. As other reviews have pointed out, the guest rooms are a bit tired and could use a long overdue investment. That being said, the staff work exceptionally hard to make your stay pleasant. English is sometimes a challenge but why pay three times as much in elsewhere for a staff with fluent English? During the low season ask for a room on the third floor (the exercise will do you good) where you will be at the same height as the occasional troops of macaques who storm through the neighborhood's palms. During the tourist season ask for the second floor as the bar can be a bit noisy if you are early to bed. Also possibly seen are literally dozens of bird species, mongoose, and a civet which lives in the quiet neighborhood. This is a hotel that feels much more a part of the community than many in the lovely but increasingly touristy "fort" area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

We stayed at Lady Hill for two nights on part of a wildlife tour of Sri Lanka.

Downstairs, the hotel looks lovely, but it's almost like they renovated the public areas and didn't bother with the rooms!

The bathroom had no ventilation, and consequently smelt of drains for the entire stay. There was no hot water when we arrived, but this was as a result of lightening striking the water tank on the roof, and was fixed shortly.

The food was, frankly, awful! It is a menu set to "western tastes". Four of our group became ill after one day there, and we did suspect that the food was to blame.

The sheets on our bed were torn, and the towels grubby.

On the plus side, the view was magnificent!

We would rather have stayed outside Galle, maybe at Unawatuna, just because there was very little to do in Galle, and at least being on the coast, there's always something to do.

  • Liked — TheVvew!
  • Disliked — The food and location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lady Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hill

Address: 29 Upper Dickson Road, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the highest point of the ancient port city of Galle sits the Lady Hill Hotel, where you will be overwhelmed by the breathtaking and panoramic “Bird’s Eye View” of the lush green countryside stretching from the tea covered slopes of the Southern foothills all the way down to merge with the brilliant blue waters of the Indian Ocean. Located in close proximity to the city’s pulsating heart and to some of the best beaches in the Island, yet secluded enough to offer a measure of tranquility and serenity, that the discerning traveler eagerly looks forward to after a weary bout of sightseeing and exploration. Thereby, adhering to the watchwords “Lose yourself in the Experience and not in the Crowd”.Entering the portals of the Lady Hill, one is treated to an architectural edifice, echoing the legacy of the ancient Colonial Dutch period, from the imposing entrance archway, down to the natural cobblestone floor. However, as you progress through the lobby, where you will be greeted with the traditional Sri Lankan welcome of “AYUBOWAN”, which translates as “May You Have Long Life”, you notice a subtle but appreciative change in the conceptual idea.You will be ushered to your room via a rustic granite stone stairway, flanked by a strip of fresh water fish ponds and upon entering your room, will be amazed to find that you have been transported from the past into the future within the space of a few short ticks of the clock. The rooms are furnished with ultra modern futuristic style décor and posses state of the art facilities and amenities which are all that you, as an honored guest, could possibly hope for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Lady Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hill Hotel Galle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.