We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A SAD LITTLE DUMP” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lady Hill to your Saves list
Lady Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Upper Dickson Road, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Galle
Central Oregon Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A SAD LITTLE DUMP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

I have travelled in Sri Lanka several times, and am well used to third world standards, which do not bother me. But The Lady Hill was like Fawlty Towers to the power of five. Sad, neglected, dirty, and extremely poorly run. The place does not hold a candle (save during power cuts) to The Closenberg, which is less expensive and vastly preferable. Other reviewers have been equally disappointed with The Lady Hill.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
45
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Why this is not listed as Galle is beyond me. I have stayed at the Lady Hill every year for a week or two since 2005. It is located up a short hill above the busy "new city" adjacent to a Buddhist center on a dead end road. The building is an expansion of an old colonial era house occupied by the hotel owner's family when she was a girl. The dining room on the first floor is pretty and birds just outside the open windows make for a pleasant breakfast. The bar on the top floor is unsurpassed for its views in three directions. Open to the breezes, it is a remedy for any day long's dusty adventure. The sunrises and sunsets from that height are a dream for hack photographers like myself. As other reviews have pointed out, the guest rooms are a bit tired and could use a long overdue investment. That being said, the staff work exceptionally hard to make your stay pleasant. English is sometimes a challenge but why pay three times as much in elsewhere for a staff with fluent English? During the low season ask for a room on the third floor (the exercise will do you good) where you will be at the same height as the occasional troops of macaques who storm through the neighborhood's palms. During the tourist season ask for the second floor as the bar can be a bit noisy if you are early to bed. Also possibly seen are literally dozens of bird species, mongoose, and a civet which lives in the quiet neighborhood. This is a hotel that feels much more a part of the community than many in the lovely but increasingly touristy "fort" area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

We stayed at Lady Hill for two nights on part of a wildlife tour of Sri Lanka.

Downstairs, the hotel looks lovely, but it's almost like they renovated the public areas and didn't bother with the rooms!

The bathroom had no ventilation, and consequently smelt of drains for the entire stay. There was no hot water when we arrived, but this was as a result of lightening striking the water tank on the roof, and was fixed shortly.

The food was, frankly, awful! It is a menu set to "western tastes". Four of our group became ill after one day there, and we did suspect that the food was to blame.

The sheets on our bed were torn, and the towels grubby.

On the plus side, the view was magnificent!

We would rather have stayed outside Galle, maybe at Unawatuna, just because there was very little to do in Galle, and at least being on the coast, there's always something to do.

  • Liked — TheVvew!
  • Disliked — The food and location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

OK, so from my rooftop corner room with six panels of windows, I'm looking at a beautiful vista -- lush green jungle, the ocean, red roof shingles, palm trees, mountains covered in forests and in a hazing gray on the horizon. There's nothing like ordering a hot pot of coffee in the morning and enjoying this view quietly. That's the pro.

The con? After a long drive here last night check-in took forever, as this is one of the hotels where they try to make check-in an experience with a mostly sugared drink and someone who runs around for you but doesn't seem to really get anything done. When I got to my room, which is basic and comfortable, there was no hot water in the shower (also not this morning) and my room service dinner had ants. The air conditioning is not working and the room is hot and stuffy. I opened the windows and doors for a bit and a horde of mosquitos (there's Dengue here) came in. The staff speak reallly bare-bones English and it's difficult to communicate since I don't speak Sinhalese.

So - if you'd like to see a little piece of heaven but don't expect to be spoiled in matters facilities and service - you may want to book this place.

I heard the Closenburg hotel is beautiful -- I haven't been there myself -- may be worth giving that one a shot.

I will upload the pictures I have later.....

  • Liked — The location, nature and the view
  • Disliked — A/C not working, no hot water in shower, room service had ants
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We stayed here for 9 nights and the rooms are very basic, but the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The views in the rooftop bar are great and the barman is very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay but had a very unfortunate experience with the hotel room safe - our money went missing. It was being taken out small notes at a time, I assume to avoid us noticing. The management cannot understand how it happened but having checked our money which we placed in the safe, 24hrs later we confirmed that some of our money was missing from the safe. Great shame as we thought as the only holiday makers in the hotel for more than two nights we had got to know all of the staff and could not believe someone would steal from us. Over 9 nights we lost £200.00 in various currencies, so please count your money daily that you place in the safe

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

We found Lady Hill by chance having decided to go to the cricket at the last minute. The hotel was full but the manager vacated his room for us. You'd never get that service anywhere! The room was huge, with wooded floors and ceiling, in the original building. The breakfast was filling with as much tea/coffee, toast and juice as you wanted served by smiling staff. We ate in the bar and 5 beers and 2 meals came to less than £5.00.

  • Liked — Excellent views of Galle and a central location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

Execllent location overlooking the town of Galle.

Rooms adequate, staff really welcoming and helpful.

Food was acceptable - they served us a western style table d'hote menu for dinner (french onion soup!) whcih is not what we went to Sri Lanka for however on our last night they produced an excellent curry etc.

The view over the city from the roof top bar was fantastic especially at night and even swimming in the pool yielded great views.

In summary - a small friendly hotel - ideal for exploring the town of Galle.

  • Liked — The friendliness and the views
  • Disliked — The western style food
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lady Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hill

Address: 29 Upper Dickson Road, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the highest point of the ancient port city of Galle sits the Lady Hill Hotel, where you will be overwhelmed by the breathtaking and panoramic “Bird’s Eye View” of the lush green countryside stretching from the tea covered slopes of the Southern foothills all the way down to merge with the brilliant blue waters of the Indian Ocean. Located in close proximity to the city’s pulsating heart and to some of the best beaches in the Island, yet secluded enough to offer a measure of tranquility and serenity, that the discerning traveler eagerly looks forward to after a weary bout of sightseeing and exploration. Thereby, adhering to the watchwords “Lose yourself in the Experience and not in the Crowd”.Entering the portals of the Lady Hill, one is treated to an architectural edifice, echoing the legacy of the ancient Colonial Dutch period, from the imposing entrance archway, down to the natural cobblestone floor. However, as you progress through the lobby, where you will be greeted with the traditional Sri Lankan welcome of “AYUBOWAN”, which translates as “May You Have Long Life”, you notice a subtle but appreciative change in the conceptual idea.You will be ushered to your room via a rustic granite stone stairway, flanked by a strip of fresh water fish ponds and upon entering your room, will be amazed to find that you have been transported from the past into the future within the space of a few short ticks of the clock. The rooms are furnished with ultra modern futuristic style décor and posses state of the art facilities and amenities which are all that you, as an honored guest, could possibly hope for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Lady Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hill Hotel Galle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.