We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May be a guest house, but not a hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Hill

Save Saved
You added Lady Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lady Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Upper Dickson Road, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 40 hotels in Galle
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“May be a guest house, but not a hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in that "hotel" for one night to see Galle in July. It's may be a hotel for asian people but it's just a guest house for european standards!
It's on the hill, far from the fort, it has 4 floors and no lift, the rooms are renewed (quite tasteless) but the bathroom has exactly 2 sq meters, the sheets are patched, no more white but grey and they smell to mildew (as well as the towels), there's no buffet for breakfast (just continental breakfast) and at 11 in the morning the swimming pool is not yet cleaned (I wonder if they clean it sometimes?).
Avoid absolutely if you want a real hotel and choose a hotel in the fort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
40
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We got a new room which was really good. Hotel staff is efficient and very Nice. Nice view on Galle.

+ : staff, location, new room, people are very nice
- : no elevators for old people

Don't miss the monkeys

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I want there on July 2013,the retaurant is fantastic view at 360° covering the town of Galle ,food is good and good service , just for one or two nights there that's perfect. A real good choice....
You just have to clim the "hill" ....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed 1 night in this hotel but it was a great experience. From the moment we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpfull. We were greated at the drive way by the bellboy and welcomed by several staff members with cold towels and welcome drinks. We were checked in by Diresh who immediately explained all facilities of the hotel.

The rooms were beautiful and spacious with a nice balcony. We enjoyed a good room service lunch before exploring the city. At the end of the afternoon we had some beers' at the rooftop terracce and we watched the sun set, following by an amazing seafood platter.

The next morning we had breakfast which you van order from a menu before we checked out.

In general it was a great stay! My husband and I both work for 5 star hotels in Dubai, so we are used to luxury and high standard service and we must say that the people from this hotel really understand what guests are looking for in a hotel. One suggestion we have is to promote your roof top terracce, as it has an amazing view on Galle and the food is excellent!

Thanks to Diresh for his hospitality

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

we were at galle for two nights. it was a fabulous stay. Very old douch house converted to a hotel. nice pool over looking the galle city the roof top bar gives a panaromic view towards Galle city.very friendly staff. excellent fine ding menus. modern rooms with nice private balcony.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, particulary the food and beverage manager. Good food. A litle out of town but with beautiful city view from the roof top restaurant. Bathroom very small. Look over the terrace railing to see monkeys swinging from the electric wires

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and I was pleasantly surprised. Our room had undergone complete renovation. The bathroom and room was on the small side but it was nicely designed with room for luggage and storage etc. there was a lovely view of the city and temples set amongst the green bush.. The sunrise was beautiful each day. The staff were lovely and the chef more than happy to cook for us outside the menu choice. we didn't come to Sri Lanka to have Western food so the evening meal of curries was delicious, and when we asked for String Hoppers for breakfast ( with some notice given ) they were only too happy to do it for us. The pool was lovely and the views from the terrace restaurant. I liked the location too... Only 10 mins walk from the centre at the most.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lady Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hill

Address: 29 Upper Dickson Road, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Hill 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the highest point of the ancient port city of Galle sits the Lady Hill Hotel, where you will be overwhelmed by the breathtaking and panoramic “Bird’s Eye View” of the lush green countryside stretching from the tea covered slopes of the Southern foothills all the way down to merge with the brilliant blue waters of the Indian Ocean. Located in close proximity to the city’s pulsating heart and to some of the best beaches in the Island, yet secluded enough to offer a measure of tranquility and serenity, that the discerning traveler eagerly looks forward to after a weary bout of sightseeing and exploration. Thereby, adhering to the watchwords “Lose yourself in the Experience and not in the Crowd”.Entering the portals of the Lady Hill, one is treated to an architectural edifice, echoing the legacy of the ancient Colonial Dutch period, from the imposing entrance archway, down to the natural cobblestone floor. However, as you progress through the lobby, where you will be greeted with the traditional Sri Lankan welcome of “AYUBOWAN”, which translates as “May You Have Long Life”, you notice a subtle but appreciative change in the conceptual idea.You will be ushered to your room via a rustic granite stone stairway, flanked by a strip of fresh water fish ponds and upon entering your room, will be amazed to find that you have been transported from the past into the future within the space of a few short ticks of the clock. The rooms are furnished with ultra modern futuristic style décor and posses state of the art facilities and amenities which are all that you, as an honored guest, could possibly hope for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Lady Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hill Hotel Galle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.