We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in SriLank” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort De 19 Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fort De 19 Villa to your Saves list
Fort De 19 Villa
19 A Rampart Street, Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Galle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best place in SriLank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were the guests of Fort De 19 Villa. It left us a wonderful impression for their service and attitude. Since it was the first time we've been the fort . The hospitable master helped us a lot and gave us numorous imformation about the fort. Besides that, Their rooms are brand-new and with all the equipments.
If you are looking for a place to stay in fort, I highly recommand this villa. Not only because of the beautiful room and great location, but also the best service and the reasonable price.

Room Tip: all the room are clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    23
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Family home,,, great location, clean,, cute room!! We came across it as we were looking ! Family makes yu feel yu are part of their home ! My hubby was not well and mum was very caring !! Thank yu ! Recommended to all experience .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed in the last room available which was a bit small compared to the two other rooms, especially the toilet, but we did enjoy our stay with this family. The room was very clean with a high ceiling. The location is perfect just by the sea in the fort. Good for sunrise or sunset or watching local young people playing cricket. No breakfast or food were served but we had a nice breakfast in the neighboring hotel Seagreen. The young man Mr.Theekshana who is running this place was pleasant to talk with. He and his family offered us some good advice about the local snacks for sharing with colleagues. While waiting for our car to go to Colombo airport, we were offered fresh coconut juice. The hotel arranged the car for us which was very comfortable with nice English music of the old 60s-80s. The driver was quite professional and nice.

It is quite a small young hotel which just opened for a year, maybe not the best in town, but feels very cosy and homey. Great value for money!

Room Tip: If rates are the same, ask for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I just called to make a reservation based on the 20% off rooms from March 1, 2014 to March 31, 2014 for direct bookings. I was quoted prices far higher than what is suggested on trip advisor and when I mentioned the 20% trip advisor special the owner/staff he laughed at me and said that is his rate (6,500lkr) and there are no discounts. When I probed again he didn't seem to know about any trip advisor special let alone the room advertised for only $44 after discount.
When I said , no thank you and he realised I was no longer interested he was quick to say he will give me the rooms for 6000lkr. This is definitely not 20% off 6500lkr.
I suggest if they are going to offer specials particularly for direct bookings they agree to honour that and not make their genuine enquiries/guests feel ridiculed and laugh at them! Highly disappointed as we really wanted to try this place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theeka, Owner at Fort De 19 Villa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
First of all HONESTLY, i am too really disappointed & humbly apologize for what happened.It was truly a terrible mistake.

Normally as our property is a family running business, i am (Theekshana) the only one who handles each & every bookings,web sites/trip Advisor managements & all other administrative requirements.If i am not there to answer directly,i advised them to ask guests to send en e-mail if it is possible.

So as this is the end of our high season, from 1 st of March i had reduced room prices & i reduced further & given a special discount ONLY FOR TRIP ADVISOR USERS. But on that day only bad thing happened,i was not there in the city & couldn't make them aware about the special discount which i had given to trip advisor customers.
When i heard about the incident, i was so worried but i knew that was my mistake & only mine.

Another important reason was,lack of fluency of their English language & inexperience's. For this 1 year of our business we had given our best for our customers & all i needed their satisfaction. Our status on trip advisor reflects all our efforts.

I’m extremely sorry again & I know that might not be good enough right now & I’ve struggled to find the right words beyond I’m sorry for the disappointment i have created through our reckless conduct.
I truly wish i could have accommodated you & i would love to invite you to my villa again in your next visit to alter your aspects toward us.

yours Sincerely,
Theekshana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle, england
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We arrived hot and tired from the train journey from Colombo and were welcomed to this family run spotlessly clean bnb. It is right at the edge of the sea with a fantastic roof terrace. We discussed small improvements with the owners, such as having an illuminated sign outside and a small fridge in the room. But for cleanliness and location next to some lovely well priced restuarants within the Fort walls, it can't be beat. Our hosts even washed and dried our laundry before we moved on - all this for a little over £20 per night! No question I would stay again on a future visit to Galle Fort

Room Tip: One room is at the top of some very tight stairs which would not be ideal for visitors with mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We arrived rather unexpectedly in Galle and were so lucky to get an amazing room in this family-run guesthouse (we first thought we were in Seegreen guesthouse, because it is located just next to it, but we realized we were wrong... for the best!). Our hosts were extremely sweet. The facilities are very clean and we had stunning sunset views from the rooftop. We warmly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

It was the busy season that I've ask for accommodation all around the fort and finally I found this place, lovely and peaceful, the host was very kind and helpful, the room was superb clean and nice view, will surely recommend this place to my friends.
在旺季到Galle堡找住宿找疯了,问了无数家不是看不上就是客满,最后找到这家真是太满意了,又干净又漂亮,还能看到大海,店主也很热心,有求必应,值得推荐

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort De 19 Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort De 19 Villa

Address: 19 A Rampart Street, Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the historic Galle Fort in the southern part of Sri Lanka, Fort De 19 offers you the finest & homely accommodation within this unique, UNESCO World Heritage Site. We are really proud of our peerless location with a view across the ocean, overlooking the old rampart & absolutely stunning view of the 'SUNSET'. We, Fort De 19, will ensure to make your stay memorable with pride & satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fort De 19 Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort De 19 Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.