We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A so-so place!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Sun House Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Sun House Restaurant
18 Upper Dickson Rd, Galle, Sri Lanka
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 135 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A so-so place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Read the reviews and decided to give this place a go...

What bugged me, was that when our food arrived, there were small stones in the rice... Honestly its not a pleasant feel to be chewing those in your rice... Sure once in a while there's that few sand/stones that will slip the rice cleaning and find its way onto our serving plates; but I did not expect to be paying for them here at sure a nice restaurant..

All in all, my experience at the sun house was only so-so: the place did not live up to my expectations; the overall ambiance is well-suited for a cosy catchup with some friends over a couple of glasses as its very much affordable ( Mojito is good ).. However I don't think I'll be returning back here, will try to explore other restaurants available in in Galle

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“culinary gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Dinner for 4 and a half (being my 2 year old daughter) was reserved and as we entered the sheltered courtyard, we were transported back in time - whitewashed walls, a library, a large courtyard and the requisite colonial era charm and ambience.

The service was exemplary, in spite of there being a couple other tables occupied. It is a rather small outdoor area but beautifully terraced landscape leading down to what was an inviting pool (given the humid night).

The menu is truncated and included only two options for main course. I ordered the Mahi Mahi but the rest of my group requested the chef to prepare a Sri Lankan chicken curry. My daughter ate a pasta (well part of the bowl as my wife devoured the rest) - the claim was made that it was the best made pasta she had had during our fortnight trip............this bode well for the adult meals which were yet to arrive.

Drinks were very good, and the wine list rather more robustly populated than the spartan grape offerings of other restaurants in the area. We enjoyed an Italian red, although it could have used some time to breathe - the idea of a wine decanter was lost on the staff so we forged on in keeping with the cheery spirit of the night.

The food when it arrived was extremely well prepared with due care given to the produce and its preparation. My mahi mahi was perfectly cooked, while the others declared the chicken curry to be a heady concoction of spices and chicken that tantalised the taste buds - also a winner.

The prices are set per person and slightly higher than other restaurants in the area but no quibbles given the overall experience.

We enjoyed the ambience more than dessert and were content to sit out on the patio cooled by the occasional zephyr. This place definitely got points for romantic venue - although the wailing of my daughter might have detracted from that slightly ;)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Epicurian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Probably the best in town
having tried other this is the place to dine whether it is lunch or dinner

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“A small peace of heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you read your Lonely Planet it will tell you that Sun House and Dick's Bar are expat favourites and great places to be. When we went we were the only ones to be there and treated as long lost friends.

We had drinks on the terrace, watched the monkeys in the trees and enjoyed the wonderful ambience. This is an old planter's House and it has kept that feel. The rooms are good, the staff are very welcoming and the atmosphere excellent - even though we were the only ones there we made a point of deciding we were coming back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Have a drink at Dicks bar then enjoy a lovely dinner on the terrace.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My daughter and I had perfect g&t at dicks bar followed by a delicious meal on the terrace.
The food was fresh and prepared beautifully. We enjoyed every minute of our evening at Sun House. I'd love to go back and stay at sun house and try the meals served during the day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun House Restaurant also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to The Sun House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sun House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.