We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Heavenly Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Templeberg Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Templeberg Villa to your Saves list
Templeberg Villa
Babaragoda Road off Akuressa Road, Loressakanda, Galle 80120, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 160 Galle B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Heavenly Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It is a charming old colonial Villa with spacious rooms with comfortable 4 poster beds.

One must try the delicious traditional and healthy Sri Lankan cuisine which is a delightful mouthwatering experience of its own! You could even customize your menu to match your own taste buds.

Set in a natural and peaceful environment away from the hustle and bussle of the city life, we were able to see nature at its best. Having said that, the Villa is only a few minutes away from the City by a cheap but reliable tuk tuk ride.

We also took the opportunity to try out the relaxing Ayuruveda massage which was one of the best. This is a must to try out if you want to enjoy some calming and peaceful moments.

Since the Villa is situated near the historic Galle Fort, we were able to see many amazing things and places and even watch the beautiful sunsets while relaxing on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

WOW!!!....step back in time to experience the old world charm of a beautiful "1860's Dutch Colonial Villa", with amazing rooms with period furnishings and comfortable bedroms with 4 poster beds. Be and feel totally spoilt by Karin "The Wonderful Host of Templeberg Villa", enjoy the delicious Sri Lankan cuisine prepared by Trixie, and be well looked after by Sandew. Watch and see the morning ritual of the monkeys swinging through the coconut trees while sitting on the patio having a freshly brewed coffee. Make sure you book one of the most amazing massages you will ever receive in the relaxing massage room.
Templeberg Villa is situated a short tuc tuc ride from the historic Galle Fort, situated in the Bay of Galle, there is so much to see and do. Enjoy and relax on the beaches and watch the beautiful sunsets.
I enjoyed myself so much that I am planning my next trip to have a much longer stay and the fabulous "Templeberg Villa".

Room Tip: Note: there is no fitness centre, however the walks to the beach will keep you very fit!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Templeberg Villa is a haven to escape to, 2.5 hours from Colombo airport, with beautiful surroundings, brilliant staff, delicious food, Galle & the beach just a few minutes away by tuk tuk, what more can one ask for? Well, there is one more thing to make the picture complete and that is the best ever Ayurveda massage to make you completely relaxed and it you feel up to it why not try Yoga or meditation with the local expert.
If you like a cooking class you don’t need to go elsewhere as they will arrange this for you at Templeberg. When having breakfast you may see the monkeys jumping between the trees around the buildings. If wanting to visit Yala NP the trip there is about 3 hours from Templeberg and many lovely places to stop along the way. One other great thing about Sri Lanka is that they keep their country pretty much free from rubbish along the roadsides.
And with a brilliant Swedish host and one of the staff members who is a trained guide you can gain any information of this beautiful country you may need.
Look forward to return one day and many thanks, your friend Barbro

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I had a great stay at the Templeberg Villa. After a hot day at a cooking class near the beach, it was great to head back up to the shady jungle villa and enjoy a cooling drink with Karin and her crew. At night, not only can you hear the evening chants from the neighboring Buddhist temple, but you will also hear the calls of the muezzin from the masjid down toward the city. Wildlife and flora abounds and adds to the magic of this place. The staff are friendly (as all Sri Lankans are) and don't hesitate to ask Trixie, the villa cook, for any Sri Lankan treats you are interested in trying. She is a cook par excellence.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but the front room is huge and has its own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TemplebergVilla, Owner at Templeberg Villa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Gordon, We were blown away by your beautiful parting gift of pencil drawings of Templeberg Villa and its gardens. What a beautiful gesture. They form part of our guest book for all future guests to enjoy. Thank you for choosing our villa to spend your holiday. If you need to escape the Big Apple come spend time with us in the jungle. Karin, Chris and Brent, Owners Templeberg Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at Templeberg at the end of our 2 week trip to Sri Lanka. I occupied the very comfortable and beautifully furnished villa. My 2 daughters occupied the equally beautiful and well furnished bungalow. The villa is set in a peaceful plantation, is beautifully and tastefully decorated and a perfect place to relax with a masseuse at hand, if required.

The staff are exceptional and in particular the meals are some of the tastiest I have experienced in Sri Lanka. We ventured down to the local market and shops in tuk tuks with the staff so that we could shop and prepare for our cooking lesson.

Templeberg offers the tranquility and calmness that you might be looking for on a holiday. However, there is no shortage of things to occupy you either. Set just outside Galle - so only 5 mins away, for some retail therapy or visit the Galle Fort and watch the sun set. A beautiful part of the world.

Karin the owner was a wonderful host and very welcoming to us all. We felt very much at home from the moment we arrived.

Room Tip: All rooms were exceptionally comfortable and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were amazed to find this little gem on the South Coast of Sri Lanka just 5 min off the town of Galle. The nicely restored colonial house is located in a coconut plantation on a small hill and one feels the urge to move in there for good. We had the biggest of the rooms that was beautifully furnished, had a comfortable bed and emits the charm of the old colonial times.

We were warmly welcomed on arrival with towels and invited for a delicious Sri Lankan lunch. There is a charming cook who made any dish we asked for and even went with us to the local market to select ingredients for our dinner. We had a great time during our stay of just relaxing and enjoying the hospitality and food of the place.

The lovely owner assisted with all transport needs around Galle and beyond and made us feel like home.

We feel that Templeberg is very good value for money and has a different rather homey feeling compared to the more upmarket villas around Galle.

Room Tip: Go for the big Plantation Suite that is airy with windows/doors to two sides and access to the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland Isles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I spent nearly 2 weeks staying in this idyllic, calm and extremely beautiful plantation villa. My friend and I stayed in the lovely 2 bedroomed bungalow which had a nice large ensuite bathroom. It is extremely good value for money, even luxurious.
It was peaceful and cool at night & sleep came easily. I awoke refreshed every morning to the sounds and sight of Monkeys swinging past. There are also Wood Squirrels, Mongoose, Monitors, Iguanas etc, not forgetting the two adorable rescue pups,Mimi and Riva :)
Karin the wonderfullly kind and generous owner would ask one of the staff to shin up a tree to fetch a coconut at breakfast time. He then opened it up so as you could drink the juice and scoop out the flesh, with a little spoon, he had fashioned from the coconut. It was a highlight for me.... I have to spend £4.00 at home to get second best from a carton!
The well designed, nicely decorated and airy villa is set atop of the hill in this amazing working coconut plantation, located a mere 10 minutes from the beach and the interesting, quirky old fort town at Galle. the villa's plunge pool and nice garden were also a bonus on a day when all you wanted was to lie in the garden and read a book.
The absolutely mouthwatering, traditional and healthy Sri Lankan dishes that Trixie the cook provided was beyond anything I expected and would take a page on its own to describe.
Karin was happy to organise for a fully certified guide to take us out in an air conditioned van to tour Sri lanka and there was always a reliable tuk tuk driver on site for local trips.
She even arranged for a nationally acclaimed Ayurvedic Dr to visit and he give us the best Indian head and body message I have ever had. The massage room is airy and peaceful and you can lie in complete privacy whilst looking out into one of the many lush gardens.around the property. I have run out of space to describe this wonderful trip. It is heavenly! HMM xx

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely without exception but for real luxury at amazing prices go for the Garden Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TemplebergVilla, Owner at Templeberg Villa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Heather, one of our first guests we threw our doors open to and welcomed to Templeberg Villa.
Such a wonderful time spent in the gardens collecting King Coconut and many a trip to Lucky Tuna to have a reasonably priced meal. Thank you for basing yourself with us and we can't wait to see you flee the Shetlands Winter again in the future. Chris, Brent and Karin Owners, Templeberg Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Templeberg Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templeberg Villa

Address: Babaragoda Road off Akuressa Road, Loressakanda, Galle 80120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secret, serene, private retreat, moments away from the centre of Galle and the historical Dutch fort. Templeberg villa built in 1864 and last updated in 2013 is perched high on a hill surrounded by jungle, coconut trees, frangipani and terraced cottage gardens. Space and privacy are ensured with 3 Suites each with private ensuites and a Two Bedroom, private bathroom Writers bungalow. Tastefully. Furnished in Antiques with modern facilities which include Four Poster beds, mosquito nets and bureaus. Staff of 7, including House Manager and personal Cook.Easily accessible to Unawatuna, Thalpe and Jungle beaches. Major Tourist attractions of the Southern Coast are a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away. On site Sri Lankan Tourism approved Guide able to act as driver and tour guide. A complete holiday package on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Templeberg Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Templeberg Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.