We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit chaotic but pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Clochette

La Clochette
3 Parawa Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
0094912235193
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 155 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: French, Coffee Shop, International, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hi We opened this restaurant recently, coming form France. It is located in the Fort of Galle : 3 Parawa Street (a small road off Pedlar street, near the Remparts ; ask for the French Café as many people know. We are open from about 8:30 am till about 10:00 pm (however depending on the season and some special national days off in Srilanka). We work with local products and local young staff we progressively train : it is also our commitment to the country and we do our best with what we find in the place ; we don't pretend anything else. We serve BREAKFAST, BRUNCH, LUNCH, TEA/COFFE TIME, DINER. You will find (all home made in our bakery) : croissants, brioches, lemon and chocolate pies, fresh juices, good espresso and tea, etc..., as well as some typical French dishes as Coq au Vin, Sole fish in Riesling wine sauce.. Also some "family" food as Pasta and Pizzas. We also create new dishes from time to time. PATIO IN THE BACK SIDE, INTERNATIONAL MUSIC, FREE WIFI . Thank you :)
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“a bit chaotic but pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had both a lunch and breakfast here, both were good. Service is friendly but a bit haphazard. They forgot my baguette with my prawn salad, listed as fried prawns, mango & vegetables!
No orange juice a breakfast but any fruit cocktail off the menu available. A fun quirky place

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    42
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We came upon this place by accident while ambling along the back streets of Galle. It's tucked down one of the side streets going down Pedlar Street towards the Neptune Bastion. The food is certainly a cut above most restaurants in Galle and while the service isn't the quickest we were not particularly bothered because this is a place to relax and linger in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
“Nice food ruined by arrogant staff and misleading prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Visited la clochette after the many good reviews on trip advisor.

We enjoyed the creme brûlée and lime pie. But unfortunately our second visit was spoilt by misleading prices. The pie of the day is advertised as 490 rupees on their menu, but they insisted on charging us 520 (claiming that it shld be the same price as the chocolate pie which was on the menu). This was a real shame, as it ruined an otherwise positive experience. I won't go back again, as customer service is something vital to me.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doors000, Propriétaire at La Clochette, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear customer this is more a mistake from us than the staff, for which we do sincerely apologize. Being still new with our pastries we recently introduced the creme brulee and resized the pies : the creme brulee and medium round pies as you had are rs 490. A large pie slice is 520. The staff member must have missed that, and he should not be insistant in such a case anyway. Should you be still around we would be pleased to offer you another pie or creme brulee free of charge. If we may only suggest : Srilanka and Singapore can't be compared. Only to make these pies, creams, and croissants is much more of a challenge than you may think, not talking about training. No need to think about arrogance as it is a longlasting cultural prejudice regarding Parisian in Paris only... and not systematic. Thank you anyway as we can improve with your feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“This little french... ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

... restaurant was a true delight. Dont miss it. Everything we tasted was delicious. They have a great selection of different foods so its something for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this french atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The food is delicious and you can see the owner pay effort to design every dishes. Even as simple as french fries, the ketchup is mixed with the chilli sauce. The grilled prawn is a cant-miss item, esp the jumpo one. As the kitchen is next to the dining area, the food smell gd!
The french owner is nice and helpful too. It was pouring when we dined there. He drove us home. Merci!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Clochette also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to La Clochette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Clochette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.