We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free entry, and quite intresting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historical Mansion Museum

Historical Mansion Museum
31-39 Leyn Baan Street | Dutch Fort Galle, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
912234114
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 24 Attractions in Galle
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Free entry, and quite intresting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This museum was a mix of all sorts of stuff, i liked that it was a personal collection, which you can photograph and that it had a defined route , yes some bits are dusty a bit tatty but it is free to enter and although there are shops at the end i did not feel pressure to buy anything, i had a look but nothing suited me. The man who showed me in was very friendly and gave me some information before i started looking round.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    10
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Fascinating and quirky collection. Interesting old building. Donation expected but otherwise free to go in. Expect to end visit in gem shop but not really hard sell and actually interesting too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“History!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

It's depicts the history and the colonial times of Sri Lanka. Quite an experience of you want to learn history.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Tourist trap where they try to get you to buy their wares. Nothing really historical here, unless you call making jewelry by hand historical.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Funny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Walking down the street we were invited into this place by an old man. He said we can take pictures no problem. But what to take pictures of? Old dusty shelves overfilled with clocks that was just the first room though. It got better later, old money, things made out of turtle shell. In the yard they have an old well that is still working, around the corners of the yard are craftsmen working on things like polishing gems, lace etc. They also have a jewelry store. Another tourist trap.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historical Mansion Museum also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to Historical Mansion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historical Mansion Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.