We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pedlar62 Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pedlar62 Guest House to your Saves list
Pedlar62 Guest House
No 62, Pedlar Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 161 Galle B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here a couple nights and it was great. Very friendly staff and perfect location. Would highly recommend to someone looking for a no till guest house. Not too fancy, but nicer than basic. Great breakfast on the second floor balcony. Bathroom could use a little upgrading.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    26
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
78
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our short stay in Pedlar 62 has been a real pleasure :

- the hotel is really central (on the main street, but very calm)
- the room are big and clean
- good beds
- A very nice and old house, very well maintained!
- very welcoming and helpful!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January, taking 2 rooms for our family of 4. We found Ravi to be the most attentive host and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were generous, clean and comfortable. The convenience of the central position was excellent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We've had the pleasure of travelling round Sri Lanka for the last week, and while we were able to stay in some beautiful guest houses, this was by far our favourite.

Ravi and his family were welcoming and attentive hosts from the start - helping to carry our luggage up quickly, providing a big bottle of cold water in our rooms, and being ready to answer any questions and offer directions on how to spend our day.

Most notably, Ravi went to amazing effort to provide a beautiful cake and tea for the two girls in our group celebrating birthdays on the trip. We were able to sit on the rooftop balcony enjoying sunset over Fort Galle, chatting to Ravi and eating delicious cake.

As well as this, the rooms are spacious, air con is good, great location, and delicious breakfast (we recommend the Sri Lankan breakfast for amazing sambal, dhal and hoppers!)

We would love to come again and stay here any time. Thanks Ravi!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying one night last June 2013 in the house. I had such a wonderful experience that even after almost 8 months later, here I still make an effort to write a review on the guesthouse. It deserves it. This guesthouse is so charming in and out. For starter, the room is clean, bright and tastefully filled with colonial style furniture. The breakfast is simple and tasty. The service the very hospitable owner is very personal and warm. But what is most memorable to me is the ambience of the house, which is perfect for travelers who really want to 'taste' Galle. After walking and sightseeing leisurely along the narrow streets of Galle and returning to the tiny house, I felt like being back at my own home. I sat in the balcony and enjoyed a cup of Ceylon tea while the sea breeze passed over me. Looking down at the passerby and daily scenes down the street below while the dusk slowly came, my imagination easily slipped to the grandeur and romanticism of Galle of past days. There's something sublime with the place that allows me to have that feeling. Just one night but what a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying one night in the triple room at Pedlar62. We couldn't be more pleased: spacious, bright, clean, cool (both AC and fan), comfortable beds, nice furniture (beds, dressers and desk and chair, large and modern bathroom and good shower. A truely excellent room. 

In addition you get access to a lounge area and a front terrace. Here you can relax and look out on the streetlife. The breakfast is served on the terrace, and was both tasty and lovely presentated.

The location of the guesthouse is really good. Close to restaurants, shops, ATM etc. still we were not bothered with any noise. 

Ravi, the owner, and his family were all very friendly and made us feel truely welcome. 

Highly recommended! 

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

A really great guesthouse with a slight colonial feel and a big hour poster bed. I arrived earlier than planned and was given the choice of a different room as mine wasn't ready. Very clean, extremely comfortable bed, great facilities. The air conditioning was a welcome extra as was the tiny personal balcony (room 3). The guesthouse is on Pedlar Street which is right in the heart of the Fort and good for shopping, eating and exploring. The owner is very friendly and welcoming. A slight problem with the room key was sorted instantly. Breakfast was on the balcony and good standard guesthouse fare. I would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pedlar62 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedlar62 Guest House

Address: No 62, Pedlar Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Pedlar62 are proud of its unique atmosphere located within the heart of Galle fort, the Dutch Unesco World Heritage Site situated in the southern part of Sri Lanka. Pedlar62 is not just only another place where you find lodgings to spend your holiday but also offers you the most comfortable stay within a price you can afford. It is indeed a pleasure for us to serve you to make your journey so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pedlar62 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedlar62 Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.