We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tuna in the galaxy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortaleza

Fortaleza
No 9 Church Cross Street | Fort Galle, Galle, Sri Lanka
+94 91 2 233415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 135 Restaurants in Galle
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fortaleza is a courtyard Restaurant with a Bar. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Our menu is Western with an Asian influence. We have a specials board which changes almost every day.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best tuna in the galaxy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Friendly, helpful and attentive staff, relatively short but interesting menu, very good wines and fantastic food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    62
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China, Beijing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We came 3 times in a 2 days staying Galle Fort. My sister came a year before and stayed at the hotel, the room is wonderful but over our budget then I decide to try the food at least.
We arrived Galle Fort at noon and directly came for lunch, only half seats are taken. We took a bench at the corner of yard which surrounding by plants and flowers, coz we are heavy smokers and not like to disturb others. BTW, the ashtray is very special as a bronze wine cup. The lamb steak from special menu is marvelous, so tender and juice, definitely the best in all restaurants we had so far. So does the prawn pasta, cooked with olive oil and some special flavor ingredients. The food is so great that we came back for dinner at same day, the special menu had been changed and we ordered 3 dishes from it, all taste wonderful but the amount is not that big.
Be aware to make a reservation if u come at peak season or dinner, we booked a table for dinner with the waiter buy he didn't make it in the list, and we have to share a table with the other couple.
Tip, try the special menu; main dish is not enough for a meal, order side dishes or try their starters.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nice location, not so special food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This fancy bungalow with a couple of rooms serve food in the back. Lovely ambience but the food is average and quite expensive.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Ca
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Being from San Francisco, California we are kind of food snobs but Fortaleza was right up there with the best at home. This was the best meal we have had in Sri Lanka even after 5 days in Colombo. By choice we drink Marlborough New Zealand sauvignon blanc. The only label we have found in Sri Lanka is Oyster Bay which is OK. The Kingsbury in Colombo had it at 6,000 rupees. Cargills had it at 4,000. Fortaleza has a label called Wishbone for 3,500 rupees and trust me, it is as good as Cloudy Bay. Wish they had Wishbone in the States. Enough about good wine. The food was superb. I had a pan fried local fish on bed of fantastic mashed potatoes with vegetable sides, my wife had a large serving of sesame encrusted ahi tuna. Each were 1,500 rupees. The brownie for dessert was warm and chewy with vanilla ice cream. The staff provided excellent service in a very busy restaurant. Wish we were not leaving Galle Fort tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Wanted to have a good dinner in a nice setting after 6 hours on the road and when we chanced upon this restaurant, we decided to have our dinner here after looking at the nice setting. However, when the restaurant was getting busy, and we were about to finish our dinner, the owner (he looks like the person in charge), asked if we could share table with someone else. Then 5mins later when he saw us having our drinks and dinner was done, he asked us to move to the sofa seats and have our drinks instead. I would not expect such a service from a nice restaurant like this. I felt being hurried and chased out of the dinning table. Definitely a NO for coming back. Food wise it was just an ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortaleza also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortaleza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.