We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crepe-ology

Crepe-ology
53 Leyn Baan Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
+94 91 2 234777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 135 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: European, Eclectic, Café, Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Come upstairs and relax in our beautiful terrace and lounge in the world heritage Galle Fort. Enjoy our delicious sweet & savory crepes, salads & wraps, wide variety of coffees & teas, our famous chiller drinks, and a daily selection of homemade cakes & baguettes. In the evening, our candle lit terrace is the perfect place to stretch out on a couch with a cappuccino and share a shisha with friends. We even have an A/C family room with couch, dining table and play area for the kids! We're open from 9am to 11pm 7 days a week, accept credit cards and offer free wi-fi.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Little haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Crepe-ology has an excellent atmosphere and the owners are very friendly making us feel welcome. It has a children's room which was great for us as it was air conditioned and a breath of fresh air for the baby. The only thing that slightly disappoints is the food - perhaps our expectations were too high as it ranked number one- the crepes we ordered were fairly standard. Everything else makes up for it though so will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    137
    37
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, UK
2 reviews
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you visit Galle, try to find this place. It's great.

Small roof top dining area with friendly staff. Unusually, I think I saw a room set aside for kids to go and play.

Their signature drink is a mint and lime chiller which is incredible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hidden away in a beautiful part of the Dutch Fort area of Galle, this little gem of a café is a little beauty.
The atmosphere is cool, nice music, cool décor, and friendly warm service from the staff.
The food and drink were delicious, arrived quickly, and was reasonably priced. We had the signature 'Mint cooler' drinks, and the 'Trio selection' of three crêpes, all of which was superb.
Great place, a must go when in Galle, for breakfast or lunch, and maybe dinner but we didn't try dinner here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Good crepes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hard to believe this is Number 1 on TripAdvisor but nonetheless, the crepes were very good, trendy and friendly setting, tons of tourists thanks to TripAdvisor. Friendly staff and a nice building. Only had the crepes and a juice, can't comment on the rest of the food but people seem to like it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very nice international place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A very good choice if you need a break from rice carry, which was our case after 16 days in Sri Lanka!
The tuna fish wrap was very nice. Same for the fish crepes. The coffee was not the best.
Excellent location, friendly atmosphere and very good service. A bit too expensive (as most things in the Fort).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crepe-ology also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to Crepe-ology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crepe-ology, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.