We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish haven in the Fort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortaleza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fortaleza to your Saves list
Fortaleza
No. 9 Church Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 183 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Petworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A stylish haven in the Fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a delightful boutique hotel, well run by Nathalie and her partner. With just three rooms, it is charming, intimate and a pleasure to stay in. Excellent food, and the best coffee I have had in Sri Lanka. The passion fruit sodas are also delicious.
The location in the heart of the fort is idea, so you can pop in and out of street life, sightseeing etc., then retreat to your cool airconditioned room with billowing mosquito nets etc.
Highy recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    25
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
52
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Due to a change in the travel itenirary only one night was spent here, however it was a stay that I would strongly reccomend for others.

We stayed in the library room which was tranquil with the window closed and yet allowed you to observe the hustle and bustle of the area with the window open. The room was decorated tastefully and was simplistic. A great attention was paid to detail with authentic sri lankan fans and flowers in the room and furniture in keeping with the theme. In additon to this books of sri lankan art and travel guides were placed within the room.

The breakfast was cooked to perfection and again it followed the simplistic theme but was of a very high quality, something which resonated throughout the hotel.

The location was perfect from which to view galle as all sights were in walking distance. Natalie was a very helpful host and nothing was too much trouble for her and her staff to organise. I would reccomend staying here if you are looking for a quiet and peaceful escape. With only 3 rooms available it allows the staff to pay you greater attention and the entire accomodation has a very relaxed feel about it. I noted that a lot of people came to eat in the restaurant for a quiet escape.

Room Tip: I would reccomend opting for either the library or master rooms which are located upstairs and are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

One of the best places we ever stayed in. We felt welcome and very well taken care of. This place has a soul, and the great attention to detail is visible at literally every corner. With two words: pure (p)leasure.
There are 3 rooms, priced in a range, one downstairs and 2 upstairs. Downstairs there is a patio and a restaurant, serving different specials every day. There is a variety of fruit sodas, ice teas and juices to choose from. Breakfast is included, and I mention this with a reason: there is a Sri Lankan traditional breakfast to preorder (very good), but you should absolutely not miss the coddled eggs with spinach. Served in tiny glasses, they are heavenly.
If we return to Galle, this will be where we hang our hats. Would always recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lovely traditional court yard setting with stylish modern touches. Although the menu is not extensive it has a thoughtful selection of dishes. There are daily specials. We had the chicken burger and rice amd curry from the menu and one of the daily specials - prawn spaghetti. All delicious. This was followed by double servings of the lovely cake of the day - carrot cake - because it was so yummy. Coffee also very good (for Sri Lanka!!)
Would highly recommend for a laid back stylish place with excellent food.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellent food and service. Good menu for children and adults. Good atmosphere we ate here a few times when in the Fort during our holiday, Would definately go back and the children loved it.
The Farbrothers, Hants, UK

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham. Glos.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have recently returned from Sri Lanka where I stayed at Fortaleza in Galle Fort ....a gorgeous boutique hotel within walking distance of everything one would want to visit in the Fort.I was made to feel very welcome at all times. Nothing was too much. The friendly owners, Natalie and Liam, together with their staff kept the hotel managed impeccably. The stunning courtyard restaurant is the most spacious and attractive in the area serving delicious fresh food from a select but excellent menu which offered new additions every day.Vegetarians were well catered for too.
The gorgeous air-con bedrooms, each with four poster beds, fresh sumptuous bed linen and plush white towels were kept immaculate and were serviced twice a day. Magnificent fresh flowers were everywhere and WiFi is available which for me was essential.
Another bonus will be a nearby Day Spa which Natalie is opening very soon.
Without a hesitation I will return to Fortaleza and if I can help answer any queries please get in touch with me.

Room Tip: I would think the upstairs rooms might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very cosy little place in the middle of the fort. The three rooms are tastfully decorated with many antique'ish bits and pieces. Clean, well kept, cosy ambience and a small but great quality menu card. Try the bbq's, they are fantastic! Coffee is excellent and that says a lot since good coffee is not easy to come by in Sri Lanka.
Lush thick towels, plenty of pillows, soft new sheets and romantic four poster beds. A very very comfortable stay with great food.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are larger and no noise at all from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortaleza

Address: No. 9 Church Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its coral walls attest, this boutique hotel in the heart of Galle Fort was once a 17th century Dutch spice warehouse. Now three wonderfully comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms decked with flowers exude their own personality. Set behind this beautiful building lies our shady courtyard restaurant, perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner and a great place to just to chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fortaleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortaleza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.