We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Lighthouse to your Saves list
Jetwing Lighthouse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Galle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent two nights at the hotel and every bit was memorable. The location is very romantic. The staff is very friendly and supportive. We are vegetarians so they prepared special food for us every time. The chef "Prasanna" was very kind enough to fulfill our needs and prepared delicious vegetarian recipes. Overall a great luxury hotel. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us while enjoying sumptuous cuisine of your choice in our restaurant.

It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours. Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again soon for a longer stay.

Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    260
    77
    13
    17
See reviews for
213
445
35
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We must say one of the best hotels we have checked in for a while, friendly staff excellent service, excellent food with vide varieties. My son and wife also thoroughly enjoyed our stay in light house

Room Tip: Expensive yet worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us indulging in our Jetwing hospitality.

It is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests and we hope you would visit us again soon for a longer stay.

Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at the jetwing lighthouse as part of our tour of srilanka. We stayed in a superior room, which was beautifully decorated. Everything in the room was luxurious. The view from our room was breath taking, as it looked out to sea. Apparently you can see whales migrating but we weren't lucky enough to see any. The down side to the hotel has to be that the wing we were in was part of a new build, though the rooms were obviously new and top standard, the walk to reception and the main dinning area was a major trek and slightly strange. We either had to trek around the back of the hotel, going up and down steps or walk through the gym and pool area. This was abit worrying at night as it was over a large grass area and snakes and mossies are common in the area! Though this was the highest standard of accommodation we stayed in the staff were also the least friendly. They seemed very rushed and a little rude. We had two evening meals while we were there and both came out with wrong orders. I would visit this hotel again, but try to get a superior room in the old part of the building.

Room Tip: Superior room in older part of hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us.

While appreciating your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities, we have noted the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.

Hope these isolated incidents would not deter you from visiting us again the next time you are in Galle.

Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We only had one night at this hotel which was unfortunate as we were allocated the Executive suite which was fantastic. The room was so large we think it had a bigger floor area than our house! The location of this hotel is superb and has a large number of facilities for guests to enjoy. As we were only staying for one night we only had chance to visit the Galle Fort and take a swim in one of the two pools (the infinity pool was closed when we visited) but one could stay for a number of nights without leaving the hotel and not get bored! We had breakfast included which was buffet style and of very good quality. We also ate dinner at the hotel but there was a mix up with my order which let it down a little bit. During our evening meal the hotel manager came around to meet us all which was a really nice gesture and showed that they genuinely cared. We did however have mixed experience of the front desk staff with it taking well over 15 minutes and a lot of attitude to exchange our money which should have been a straight forward task. Despite this we had a lovely one night stay at the Jetwing Lighthouse.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us, experiencing a comfortable & spacious room to stay in while savoring great food at our restaurant that feature authentic cuisine from across the globe.

It is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests. However, we have noted the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.
Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again soon for a longer stay.

Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was our first time staying here and it was at the tail end of our stay in Sri Lanka. We stayed in the deluxe rooms in the new wing for 4 nights. When we stayed they had only been open less than 10 days so there were a few teething problems such as some lights not working and the toilet not flushing, these were sorted out (in Sri Lankan time!). The rooms themselves I cannot fault, really spacious and beautiful with a fantastic bathroom and one of the best showers ever! A decent size balcony with a wonderful sea view.

The pool by the new block was lovely, really warm! There is one other pool and also a toddler pool as well although we didn't use these. There is a small beach area by the pool but its very rocky and the waves are quite rough. If you walk a short distance from the hotel there is a much nicer beach where you can swim in the sea.

We were here on a full board basis. I have to say the food was just ok. The breakfast was a buffet and for a 5 star hotel I would have expected more choice and better service. There were several items that were not topped up at all, basics like butter, jam and juice. There was more choice in some of the other hotels we stayed in which are not 5 star. Lunch and dinner were set menus. The lunch menus didn't change for the time that we were there, very disappointing. Dinner set menu also didn't have a huge amount of choice. My biggest bugbear though in the restaurant is that the service was so incredibly s-l-o-w. I don't understand that when they are charging these sort of prices why there isn't more staff around. We have stayed in other 5 star resorts around the world and service here falls incredibly short of what I would expect. If I were to return here I think that it would only be on a room only basis, it really isn't worth the money to pay for a service that you just don't get.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

First of all let me apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay with us, while appreciating the detailed review of your stay at the property and highlighting the negative practices, you have just guided us to improve more in means of the services in the restaurant.

Nevertheless, we are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us apart from the isolated incidents which had taken place.

We thank you for your kind understanding on the inconveniences faced, however, we have noted the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the shortcomings. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence; we hope these incidents would not deter you from visiting us again the next time you are in Galle.

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Firstly I have to say we did not stay at this hotel,only did lunch an laundry
It has breathtaking views, The lunch was very good with great service at a very good price for a hotel of this quality.It was much cheaper than the fort area,we also had the laundry done here at a third of the price of deco on 44.However it is a must place to visit to view the sculpture that covers three floors of the spiral stairwell in the foyer.It depicts the first battle between the portugese and the Sinalese

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are glad that you enjoyed the Lunch and also experienced the beauty of the interior designed by world famous sculptors.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again for a longer period of stay the next time you come to Sri Lanka.

Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for six nights at the end of our tour and it was a great place to relax after eight days on the road. The rooms were lovely with gigantic, comfortable beds and excellent facilities. The only negative was that there was no socket in the bathroom for the hairdryer they provided but they soon sorted this out with an extension lead. The breakfasts were lovely with a massive selection to choose from. The sunbeds in the garden by the pool and beach were very comfortable and well organised. The pool restaurant was a lovely place to have lunch although the menu never changed so it got a bit boring after a few days. Ramya, who served us most days here was brilliant, very professional and she anticipated our every need. The chefs here cooked a special lunch for us on our last day using some massive prawns we had bought in the town and it was delicious. The only thing that was a bit annoying was that there was a large group of 46 staying for a wedding and they were so noisy they made our last two days less enjoyable. The staff were letting them smoke and drink in the pool which shouldn't have been allowed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse Galle. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us, enjoying the huge spread at the breakfast buffet.

It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours. However, we have noted the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.

Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope these isolated incidents would not deter you from visiting us again the next time you are in Galle.

Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#10 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalistic elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka’s colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.