We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Galle” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Lighthouse to your Saves list
Jetwing Lighthouse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Galle
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Trip to Galle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Awesome Hotel and amazing Staff. We got a awesome room and a personal greeting - Stayed 3 nights - it was wonderful. The sound of the waves put you to sleep - a dream
However the same does not apply to the main Dinning Hall. While the food is excellent and full 5 stars the service is a negative 5 Stars. It can take you anywhere from 1.5 to 2 hours to be served your meal (you order form a set menu). In addition to the delays you are likely to be served with wrong orders or your main course arriving before the starters - all a shame and very frustrating. The GM and his management team are on hand to firefight the challenges for the guests - it is such a shame that they need to do this every day, I shudder to wonder what would happen without their personal attention. A very frustrating end to a great day
The rest of the hotel works like a charm. You must stay there - and have at-least one dinner in the dinning room to experience great food and .... (two extremes in the same place - I have never ever before had such an experience with food at one end - great, however service at the other - very poor)
Please note breakfast is also served in the main dinning room and starts at 7.30am - don't go before 7.45 am if you are expecting all hands on board to serve you

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Let me firstly thank you for taking the time to place your detailed and in general positive comment on Tripadvisor after your resent visit We constantly strive to make you stay with us “Perfect” in every possible way.

It is through the constructive comments of our patrons like you that I and my staff know where improvements are to be made.

Making our service consistent is one of my main goals are General Manager. We are conducting various training programs and we expect they will enable all our staff members to reach their highest potential in the near futures.

We do hope you’d visit us again in the near future to experience firsthand, that your comments were addressed and improved upon.

Thank you for your stay at The Lighthouse.

Ayubowan,

Robert Claesson,
General Mamager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    257
    76
    13
    17
See reviews for
210
443
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Spent 6 days here checking out yesterday (15th Jan) We had a superb time. We thought the food, both breakfast and evening meal, were just fine. We ate one night in the Cinnamon room. The food here was well cooked and presented, plentiful and served impeccably by Supun. The buffet was most enjoyable on the Tuesday night as was the bbq on the Saturday. Our room was excellent, overlooking the children's pool which was not an issue at all and our cleaner, Dalminda, kept the room immaculate and restocked the minibar daily. Clearly a little care needed for the building, but nothing a lick of paint won't remedy and we did see some staff painting walls etc. I had a trip out with the hotel naturalist to Kottowa rain forest. He was most helpful and charged nothing for his time. The Jetwing tuk tuk driver we had, Ruan, was helpful and knowledgeable and always waited for us. All in all, a great stay at a wonderfully friendly and efficient hotel. Finally, it is clear the GM, Robert, is a hands on boss as he was available for all guests on a daily basis, chatting with all and generally making himself available for any comments that needed to be addressed. We didn't have anything to say except thank you for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: One of the sea facing rooms are really good for all round views and the superb sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor after your resent stay at Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel.

It was indeed pleasing for us to learn that the services offered and that you had a superb time was to your satisfaction. I took great pride in sharing your kind compliments with the team.

Thank you once again for your patronage and hope to welcome you back to Jetwing Lighthouse.

Ayubowan

Robert Claesson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I live in Colombo and badly needed to run away from work and the stress of urban life. Mostly wanted to spend Christmas with kids. We ended up planing a trip to south and Lighthouse been our haven for Christmas. Christmas eve dinner was a magical experience, Kids loved the Santa and for us adults too was a night to remember. I must say the standard of the dinner and service was exceptional, much higher than most Colombo Hotels. It was truly a magical experience. I recon it is the foreign management that makes the difference.

Room Tip: Try the new Restaurant Nihal's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out your comment on Tripadvisor during your resent stay at Jetwing Lighthouse.

I have always believed that it is the staff make the hotel and I am thrilled that you found your stay magical. I shall personally send my regards to Santa and I hope he will come back next Christmas.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope you do visit us again if your travels bring you down from Colombo to Sri Lanka’s amazing southern coast anytime in the future.

Ayubowan,

Robert Claesson
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel less than a year ago and loved it. The location is perfect--right on the most beautiful ocean view. But in just a few months, it declined considerably. Cockroach in room, room service delivering sandwiches that I didn't order at 3am, cold jacuzzi in spa. I still love this hotel and I shared my concerns with the manager. I'm hopeful it will improve.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We are repeat customers and were lucky enough to receive a room in the new spa wing. I was really impressed by the space and design of the room.
The cocktails in the restaurant of the spa wing were excellent, unfortunately the food was dry and cold . We complained to the chef and receive a 25% discount on the bill.
The dining room were the buffets are served is enclosed. The feeling is between a fishbowl and a cantina . It should be opened on the outside. The few tables outside are in high demand.

Room Tip: Rooms in the spa wing are new and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The only positive side of this hotel is the bedroom : spacious, comfortable, stylish, large bathroom integrated into the bedroom, superb wooden floor.
Just avoid to have it by the children swimming pool like I had :(
The rest is TERRIBLE : the restaurant is much closer to a "cantine" style, the food (buffet style) is below average, the main bar falling into disrepair, the service is miserable, we faced booking issue from day 1 (not the right booking, credit card debited before arrival even for cancellation as it was not registered into their system, at check out they charged only one credit by default,...)

Room Tip: Do not book a room around the children swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in a suite ... were recommended this hotel ... being a Geoffrey Bawa designed property. It is well designed and of course the location is super but the quality of service left a sad taste. We had a butler designated to the suite ....but I dont think he really understood what service meant besides being polite and saying yes to every thing ...maybe without actually understanding it....not his fault at all, as their did'nt seem to be any training in place for the staff.
Had poor response from reception...did mention this to the General Manager who seemed to agree when discussing the issue...not complaining! Food was OK .. a good selection on the buffet.
On the whole the place can do with a good clean up. Considering we paid $500/- per night ,you would expect the place to be clean and well maintained !!Wake up Jet Wings ....Need a better management in place.

Room Tip: We had the suite which ofcourse has excellent views ....dont know what it would be like if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#10 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalistic elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka’s colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.