We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel, but a rocky beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jetwing Lighthouse to your Saves list
Jetwing Lighthouse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Galle
Mangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best hotel, but a rocky beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It is a unique and beautiful hotel architectured harmoniously in a sprawling natural setting. The rooms have been refurbished and now maintain the spaciousness of old world with the comforts of the new. The view from the rooms is something out of a Mediterranian picture book.
The food was very average and all the local Srilankan dishes had the same taste base. But the staff more than make up for any minor shortcomings and Mr. Ranjit is someone we won't forget. He went out of his way ensure that our restaurant experience was tempered.
The rocky beach (for which the hotel cannot be blamed) was disappointing but the 2 pools in the hotel made up for this.
With a little modification in the taste and pricing of the food it would be one of the best experiences you could have in Galle.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out one of our Guest Comment Sheets. I am thrilled you found Jetwing Lighthouse unique and harmonious. I will discuss your comments about the food with the Executive Chef as we normally receive good comments about the quality of food. We pride ourselves on being able to provide a level of personalized service not matched by many larger hotels and it is truly satisfying to me as a general manager to know that our efforts are appreciated by our guests and I will pass on your kind words to Ranjit.
It was our pleasure hosting you at Jetwing Lighthouse and we sincerely hope that you will visit us again, should your travels bring you to Sri Lanka’s amazing southern coast.

Ayubowan

Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    286
    89
    17
    18
See reviews for
234
489
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It is a very nice hotel. Has two nice big swimming pools the one near beach is good for laps while watching the sunset. Great food no has a good consistency in taste every time .Great friendly service. Even if the hotel is house full you don't feel like it always very calm and quite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave us with a review of your experience on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to hear we were able to meet your expectations and deliver the calm and comfort you expected. I thank you for comments and I hope we can welcome you and your family back to Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel again in the future.

Ayubowan
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A lovely hotel very close to Galle. 2 swimming pools - one family and one for laps. 2 restaurants - 1 with excellent buffets and 1 fine dining. Rooms are huge - biggest bed ever. Cocktails are good. Service excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Jetwing Era Beach. Your comments and feedback are a great support to the entire team here who continue to put so much work and effort into delivering excellent service. Thank you again for positive remarks and we hope to welcome you back to Jetwing Lighthouse again in the future.

Ayubowan
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at light house hotel and must say we had the most amazing time. Staff was extremely friendly and they would make us welcome everyday.
Must say the hotel is well managed by a charming gentlemen Robert (GM)who is alway on the floor talking guests to make sure all their needs are met. Selection of food was absolutely fantastic had a wide spread of Sri Lanken and western Cusine. Need to specially mention Manoj front office manager who's is absolutely a fantastic person. He made our stay warm and welcoming ... You only need to tell him what you want to do and he will make arrangements ..from days trips to boat rides and th list goes on..
We had such a great relaxing holiday ... We will definitely come again on our next vist and also higly recomend to our friends.
Light house hotel staff keep up the good work thank you for your warm hospitality!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to place your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad you chose to stay with us during your time in Sri Lanka. I have always believed that it is the staff make the hotel and I am thrilled that you found them friendly and welcoming. I am sure your kind words about Manoj for his good work and it will inspire him to strive for even greater heights in service excellence.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope you do visit us again next time your travels bring you down to Sri Lanka’s amazing southern coast.
Ayubowan,

Robert Claesson
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepa, Spain
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I am writing this review on the penultimate day of our 7-night stay at the Lighthouse. This is our third trip to Sri Lanka in the space of just over 2 years. Last week, as we motored from place to place, we told ourselves this should be it. We really must go somewhere else next time. But after a week at the Lighthouse, we are sorely tempted to return yet again. Why? Well, the iconic design of this landmark Geoffrey Bawa building, with its varied concrete textures tempered by colonial wooden warmth; the position on a rocky promontory, bashed by the waves of the wild ocean; the view back to Galle Fort, which (while so pricey now) is still so unique and alluring and a mere 10-minute drive away; the wonderful staff, taking typical Sri Lanka hospitality and service to a new level… The service is great and personal. 2 examples. We met some people in Sigirya, who turned out to be finishing their holiday with a couple of nights here. We informed the front desk, who immediately made sure these people were given the room right next door to ours. Early on we identified a room right at the end of our corridor on the 4th floor, which is designed slightly differently from the others - bordered by a right-angle of balcony with an unimpeded sunset views. Within 5 minutes of requesting a transfer to this room, we were given it for the last 2 nights of our stay. No problem. No request undealt with. Another great touch was a cocktail party on our 3rd night, hosted by the General Manager for longer-stay guests - chic canapés and good drinks on a beautiful terrace. The breakfast buffet is great, but the food, while on the face of it creative and well presented, verges sometimes on the bland. But that is the sole criticism. We will, I'm afraid, be back!

Room Tip: Room 423 is THE room. See the review. Giant windows and wonderful views. (But all the rooms are smar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure reading your review on the Jetwing Lighthouse here in Galle, Sri Lanka. It is always a pleasure reading reviews from guests who have had amazing stays with us. At Jetwing Lighthouse we take pride in making every one of our guests happy, and the entire team here dedicate all their effort towards this purpose.

The property itself is a very unique design and has become one of the most iconic properties in the South of Sri Lanka. The property is located right now the beach and the sound of the waves crashing in to the rocks seem to follow you everywhere you go, and that is one of the best features of the stunning Geoffrey Bawa design.

Along with our attention to guest requests, we take pride in service as well maintaining the highest standards and that reflects well in your comments. I will also be passing on the compliments and positive feedback to all our associates.

While taking the opportunity to thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor, I would also like to invite your back to the Jetwing Lighthouse on behalf of the entire team here. We will be looking forward to seeing you back in Galle.

Ayubowan,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for several nights with a teenager in a wheelchair sharing one room. The room was a good size with firm beds including the extra one. The wet room was tight but accessible (it's separate from the bath area and the toilet) although no shower seat. The toilet would be similarly tight for someone larger who had to transfer from a wheelchair but fine for our child.The room opened onto a verandah with just a slight lip going out. One swimming pool was very accessible, being an infinity pool from the inside but on the outer edge it was like a low seat so made transferring into/from a wheelchair fairly easy. I am always puzzled here as to why no one makes more of an effort to adapt a room - this place has such a large bathroom area it could be made into a single wetroom very easily - but this was much better than we could have expected. More generally, we have really enjoyed the breakfasts, the only meals we've actually eaten in. More importantly, the staff have been brilliant. An example was us asking last night where the carrom board was. It turned out it was in the upstairs bar but the pieces couldn't be located. Today a new set of pieces were ordered and left at reception for us to collect in time for this evening! Staff were also really helpful in trying to resolve online check in problems for us today. We would strongly recommend this place to anyone coming to Galle. It may not be in the town but it has a lot of advantages and is very close by tuk-tuk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased you were able to enjoy your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse; it was our pleasure to have you with us. I am extremely happy you took the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. Guest feedback is considered extremely important as it is them we all work hard to satisfy.
I will look in to your comments about doing some rooms more accessible for wheelchair users as it is a very valid point you brought up.

I am also extremely please that you find all staff brilliant as this is so important for me as it makes such a difference in a Hotel.

Thank you for your review once again, and I do hope to see you back at Jetwing Lighthouse in the near future.

Ayubowan,

Robert Claesson
General Manger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Hotel is well situated along a stunning coastline. While it's generally too dangerous to swim here the surrounding area is beautiful. Staff at the hotel were very good. We stayed in a suit and we were always kept informed of who was looking after our room. The room boys always asked us if everything was OK and offered friendly advice. Service was natural and unimposing and efficient. Our suit was lovely and spacious but perhaps needed a bit of maintenance or updating in bathroom area. The journey to Galle was just 5 mins by tuk tuk. Overall this was a very good hotel but if you're used to five stars in Asia you may need to modify your expectations a bit. Watch out for the very friendly monitor lizard who comes up to your sunlounger!

Room Tip: Suites were well priced. We stopped in Speilbergen suite which had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Jetwing Lighthouse. As a team, we work hard to provide all our guests with best possible services and facilities, and it is a great reward to hear that guests are actually enjoying all the hard work the team puts in to making the Jetwing Lighthouse special.Many guest comments about the monitor lizard as it adds to a unique pool experience .
I am pleased to inform you that the suite is due to be refurbished next month and I would be delighted to welcome you back to the Jetwing Lighthouse and experience it again if your travels do bring you to this part of the world.
I also want to thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor.

Ayubowan,
Robert Claesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galle
#1 Business Hotel in Galle
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#11 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalistic elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka’s colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetwing Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.