We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely sounds of crashing waves!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Veranda di Serena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Veranda di Serena to your Saves list
La Veranda di Serena
Galle 80600, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 161 Galle B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely sounds of crashing waves!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very good service by owner. Room is not luxurious but serves its purpose. We had an ants infestation one day but the staff fixed it instantly without making the room smell of insecticide so no big issues here. You will be served with a drink made from real fruits on arrival while being checked in. The breakfast is awesome and you can choose to eat on the sand or in their restaurant facing the sea with gorgeous view. Wonderful service with the cutlery and tea set nicely laid out by the staff and ample to eat. My favourite part was falling asleep and waking up to the sounds of waves crashing onto the rocks right beneath the establishment! Really romantic!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at La Veranda di Serena for 4 nights in march. Traveling with 2 year old son and stayed in first flor room ocean side. This family run hotel have the best Sri Lanka breakfast ever and the nicest owner in Unawatuna. He really made our stay great. He is helpfull and arrange everything you imagine. The rest of the stuff is also wery friendly. The hotel have small privat beach and is in great location for exploring Unawatuna. There is restaurant in hotel offering very good rice (must try). The hotel in clean and nicely furnished, If you stayed on ocean side room, you have feeling like sleeping on the beach. You actually hear ocean waves all night. And the view... view is amazing!
And they provide baby basket if needed.

Room Tip: Ocean view! Must have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Le Veranda di Serena for 8 nights at the end of February. This small hotel was absolutely perfect and we loved every minute of our stay. We chose this hotel because we wanted to be near the hustle and bustle of the Unawatuna beach but not disturbed if the bars and restaurants were too noisy. The hotel is short 5 min walk from the main part of beach and was the perfect location. Before our holiday we were undecided about where to stay on the South-West coast but after visiting some of the other options including Hikkaduwa we definitely made the right decision with Unawatuna.

After a 14 hour journey we arrived around midday to a very tasty welcome drink. The view from our balcony was breathtakingly beautiful and we loved waking up to the sounds of the waves every day. We sat outside by the gorgeous private beach and had a delicious breakfast every day of omelettes, toast and jam, really good tea, fresh fruit platter and the best fruit smoothies we’ve ever had. The hotel itself is beautifully designed and our room was very clean and very big, with everything we needed.

One of the nicest things about this hotel was the smiling, helpful staff - they were incredibly friendly, especially the owner Chandana and his beautiful family. I booked directly with the hotel and got a very good deal, Chandana also helped us with daytrips and any travel arrangements we needed during our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel – it’s a hidden gem.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

After a long journey we were greeted with a delicious juice of fresh exotic fruits, -and a very friendly staff!
The hotel had clean nice rooms and a little garden. Most rooms have sea view. On top there is a wonderful apartment for rent. You will also find a small private beach with deck chairs next to the hotel.
We appreciated the quiet bedroom, no noise from the street, which might be a problem in this area. The food was tasty, both breakfasts and dinners. We do recommend the curries, seafood and lankesian breakfast omelet.
The atmosphere was pleasant, we will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennistymon, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

we planned to stay just few days but after arrival we loved the place so much that we extended for almost two weeks. First of all is the owner and his staff- extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel is brand new, ideally located on the ocean front with private beach. Just few minutes walk from main beach (with all bars and restaurants) and shops. Rooms/bathrooms are well equipped and clean. Excellent breakfast and THE BEST COFFEE (Illy) in Unawatuna! If you need a taxi/tuk tuk, or planning any trip the owner will arrange it for you in reasonable price (no need to book through travel agency). You will love it!

Room Tip: upgrade for the deluxe room with the ocean view - it's worth every cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for three days in La veranda di serena. An excellent choice! The hotel is quite new, the owner, a ver kind Sri Lankan guy, is paying a lot of attention to his guests. The rooms a very clean, so is the rest of the place. There is a private beach and a restaurant. The hotel is located at the end of the main Unawatuna beach, conveniently close to the action, but away from the noice.

A special. Ote on the breakfast, this was the best on our stay so far in Sri Lanka. Every morning the breakfast is concluded by a big fresh fruit platter, not just some fruits, but an abundance of pineapple, passionfruit and more. And fresh real Italian espresso and cappucino :)

Room Tip: We had room 01, from our bed we we had a view right over the ocean! But every room has ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We only booked this place as it was the only place we could find on the beach in Unawatuna by the time we booked, and what a pleasant surprise. The location is ideal -- on a small private beach but just a few minutes from the main beach. The advantage was that you didn't hear the noise from the beach. Had we stayed in one of my original choices on the main beach, there would have been loud thumping music until 2am at the many beach bars. The owner and staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was wonderful. Next time we'll be sure to have dinner there.

Room Tip: We had a look and the standard room is at the back of the hotel facing the entrance, not the sea. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Veranda di Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Veranda di Serena

Address: Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your La Veranda di Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veranda di Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.