We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location fell short of expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Azure Beach Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Azure Beach Villa to your Saves list
Azure Beach Villa
Ahangama, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Location fell short of expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked 3 nights at Azure Beach Villa last month but decided to check out after the first night. As per the no cancellation policy, we’ve had to forego 2 nights' tariff.

The pros: The bedroom & bathroom were ok & clean though the bed cover was hardly enough for 2 people. Air-con & fan worked. The breakfast was good. The staff member who served us on the first day, joined by a second person the next morning were friendly & helpful.

Cons: dinner was not served at the villa while we were visiting & as there were no restaurants nearby – we ended up getting some food from a nearby “kadé” (roadside kiosk).

Without much research, we booked this place as we wanted to be near the beach but the so called ‘private beach’ was quite a small area & was unfortunately in shambles, with rubbish thrown all over its periphery. Please see photos.

Hotel features/facilities listed do not appear to be accurate: no 24hr room service/ no coffee shop/ no bar,pub/no massage /no safety deposit boxes.

On the whole my gripe is with the location which has an eerie & depressing quality about it especially in the evenings. Around this place, there was hardly anything for us to do & we couldn’t wait to leave the premises.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurangaPerera, Owner at Azure Beach Villa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sayuri,

We appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor and Agoda web site and apologize for your uncomfortable stay at Azure Beach Villa.

We have a cancellation policy for direct bookings and early bookings on Agoda, but you have booked the Azure Beach Villa with discount price which Agoda non-refundable policy at the time of booking you have agreed for that.

You have booked non ocean view room and later I spoke to your husband as per your request we gave you the ocean view room without charging any extra amount.

We have our cook at the villa and on request can provide lunch and dinner, there is no requirement of going outside for restaurant. Also our staff can guide you to the better restaurant nearby.

Regarding the Beach, right behind our villa we clean regularly the rubbish which are coming with the sea wave, you may see pictures on trip advisor, Agoda and facebook.
When the rough sea time many trash are coming to the beach which are collecting from other places and we clean those.

We have below service on request ; 24 hours room service, safe deposit box (not inside the guest room), Massage and others.

The place we build up for relaxing, if you need to do partying need to go to Mirissa or Unawatuna, also you can visit Old temple, Tea Factory, Tea States.
Beach is very much suitable for surf, snoorking.

We are really unpleasant stay at our villa, Please visit us next time and happy to provide you 3 night with no charges.

Warm Regards,

Owner of the Azure Beach Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

pros: clean with a beautiful view

cons: stayed 3 nights and room never cleaned, not even trash emptied
no water in room
no WiFi, just a crappy computer with a broken keyboard
10-15 minutes by bus or tuk tuk to nearest restaurant
pitiful breakfast with cheap instant coffee and Rs 100 charge for a second cup

Room Tip: stay in Marissa or unawatuna
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Azure Beach Villa for 2 Nights and had a great time! Very kind Staff, very clean and calm just next to the beach including private beach part. Great fresh made Breakfast, fresh including fresh juices. We really can recommend this place to everybody. thanks for the great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. The guest house is very small and quiet and on the beach with it's own garden. Despite being by the road the room over looking the beach was quiet, although the other room is by the road and may be a little noisier. Chose the more expensive beach room. The beach outside is not great for swimming as it is rocky but you just need to walk 100 metres along the beach for better swimming conditions. Buses run from here to Galle and other beaches along the coast and are easy to navigate (there is also a train station and direct buses to Colombo from the nearby bus station). Breakfast is provided but no other meals where available when we stayed. There are local restaurants with simple food, and you may want to consider eating out while visiting other places along the coast. You can order tea or coffee at any time from the helpful staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Chose the ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Azure Beach Villa and do not hesitate to recommend it for your stay in Sri Lanka.

Location
The hotel is located south of Ahangama and situated in front of the beach. You can relax in a beautiful backyard while scanning the ocean, reading books, enjoy drinking fruit shakes, etc. Good for snorkeling, not really for swimming. But 200 meters north from the hotel you have an opportunity to go swimming incl. a nice point break (rights) that you can surf alone, while lazy left, RAMS, etc. is crowded like hell :-)

Rooms
The hotel offers 2 rooms each with aircondition and a private bathroom with shower - clean. One room with beach view - you can hear and see the ocean from your bed (15m distance))

Staff & Service
We have enjoyed the breakfast (fresh fruits, toast, butter, eggs and marmalade, tea/coffee) which was included in the price and dinning (e.g. curry with rice, fresh fish, etc.). Good quality food (and fruit shakes!) for a reasonable price - if you are interested ask the staff they are happy to give you a curry cooking lesson :-) The staff is super friendly and instantly takes up your request trying to make you happy and your stay as comfortable as possible - its really like a private villa with your own staff :-)

We perceived the Azure Beach Villa as a kind of an oasis: Quite, relaxed and familial. We did a number of trips to Wellinghama and Mirissa, which takes you about 10-15min with a tuk-tuk. we have had an excellent driver (ask the hotel staff for Asanka!!!) who showed us beautiful places to eat, temples to visit, etc. and broad us safely back to the hotel. We also did a 3 day trip with him to Kandy, Yala park, Matara, etc. But our home base was the Azure beach having preferred some distance to the classical crowded surf spot hotels, Mirissa or Wellinghama. But really this depends on your personal preference! In any case enjoy Sri Lanka and the happy & friendly people!

Room Tip: the room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Location, staff, cleanliness,service and everything was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idstein, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We just wanted to say that Azure Beach is a fantastic private paradise in Galle – Sri Lanka. We spent 10 nights in Azure and we had a wonderful experience and can’t wait to return back soon as we get a chance again. Ocean view room and direct access to the beach, property is located exactly the road side but there is no noise. The location of the hotel is perfect! One and half hour from Colombo and easy access to the public road and rail transport. Also Azure Beach is very close to Koggala lake, Sri Lankan Air Taxi service is available from there. The pictures of the hotel online are correctly reflected of what is looks like. Staffs were very kind and sincere, hotel is very clean and service is excellent. Food was very nice and reasonable price, few nights we went out for dinner. Hotel has arranged vehicle for us.

My boyfriend and we were travelled to Sri Lanka to have a relax time together and we got exactly what we expected. Azure Beach Villa makes our dream vacation true.

I highly recommend this perfect beach hotel!!

Room Tip: Ocean view room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azure Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Beach Villa

Address: Ahangama, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VillaAzure Beach Villa is an exclusive private accommodation for those who do not wish to be disturbed by noisy, inquisitive, or bothersome neighbors you may come across in a usual Hotel.This spacious two bed room villa is elegantly furnished with modern and classical furniture, is simple - yet luxurious. A well laid garden with groves of trees and mangroves, secluded areas to sunbath write or relax in, is indeed an enchanting place. The garden with comfortable lounge chairs has a fantastic view of the ocean. Swim in the sapphire blue fresh water or relax on the Jacuzzi bench. Location Azure Beach Villa is located in Ahangama, is opening onto a beautiful cove with an unspoiled golden Ahangama is a calm township on the South Coast of Sri Lanka where the beach in Southern Sri Lanka. beach is lined with coconut trees till eternity. The well know holiday resort, Unawatuna, listed as one of the best 10 beaches in Sri Lanka, is less than 5 Kilometers North of Azure Beach Villa and further South about 3 Kilometer away is the world famous beach of Mirissa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Azure Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azure Beach Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.