We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stay in Galle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Winds Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harbour Winds Hotel to your Saves list
Harbour Winds Hotel
12 Upper Dickson Road, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stay in Galle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very well designed and has every amenity you would expect from a much larger establishment.Car parking, Small pool, lovely public areas, good coffee lounge with plenty of choice of delicious cakes, open air restaurant and a wonderful panoramic bar area that sadly does not serve alcohol.

The kitchen is spotless and the staff all dressed in full kitchen attire. The breakfast was good, never ate any other meals there. Only a small complaint but the jam and marmalade could be of a better quality as could the bread used for toast. That we be more in keeping with the very high standard of the hotel.

Very close to Galle town but just out of the centre, very easy to walk into town.

The rooms are very clean, adequate in size, simply designed and comfortable as is the bed. There is a mini bar thats not stocked or turned on, Cups and saucers but no facility for making tea or coffee. Complimentary bottled water. There is a TV but the picture quality is very poor.

Bathroom is small but has everything and it all works well, plenty of hot water. Well maintained and very clean.

The staff are a little shy at first but very helpful. Good security at night and if you get back late they look after you.

Lock on the bedroom door was a bit tricky but got the hang of it by day two.

Will certainly return, its very well located, good value for money and well maintained. Just five rooms but all the facilities of a much larger hotel but a much more personal service.

Easy to book on the website harbourwinds.com but they do insist you print out your voucher.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed at the Harbour Winds Hotel recently. I must say that it is a quiet and comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Ideal to unwind and relax after a full day of exploring the Galle Fort. It is centrally located and a short walk from the Fort itself and you get to walk through the real Galle city which you may miss if you stay inside the Fort itself. I was shocked to see some of the small hotels which I was considering for my stay inside the Fort looking rather shady in real life.....glad I selected this one as I was travelling with just my girl friends and it is as safe as safe can be!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Harbour Winds so much, we stayed 3 extra nights! It is a great hotel, just away from the city madness. A short walk to all the main things in Galle. The Fort is about 10 minutes away, the train station about 15mins. The rooms are clean, have TV's and WI-FI. The picture on our TV wasn't good, and it was replaced with a new one the following day. A good size pool, for all the family to use. The food is very good, and an affordable price. I have to say the best thing about this Hotel is the fresh cakes!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The small size of the hotel ensures a very relaxed and uncrowded stay. It's very tastefully designed down to the smallest details, making it a pleasure to just laze around appreciating the details! We just stayed a night, and it was such a refreshing change from the hustle and bustle of the city we decided to stay in the next morning instead of touring the city in the burning sun.

The location of Harbour Winds is convenient as well, just a skip away from the Galle city, and not at all difficult to locate. The staff is very obliging, and the food is great. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Upstair rooms have a great view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

A private residence, recently transformed into a five room hotel is a fresh air break from the heat and humidity in Galle Fort. The staff are very motivated and keen to please, while prices are reasonable both for room, meals and drinks. This is a very good alternative to the Lady Hill hotel for both quiet and price. Quick access to local markets, cricket grounds (just drop in ) and wonderful UNESCO heritage site of Galle Fort. We especially enjoyed walking down to old city in later afternoon to watch sunset and enjoy cooler temperatures,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

great place to live or spend your hall vacation,with your family or friends.have a break from your busy life &get some peas full environment with great service.relaxing @ pool watching harbor & sea with cold frappe or a panorama lounge facing to harbor with nice breeze.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Me and my friends stayed here for the New Years and we found the hotel very pleasant. It is totally worth the money you spent. Since there is only 4 rooms hotel is not crowded. Hotel does not have a huge variety of food items yet the sandwiches they have are just awesome, fresh and tasty. loved the staff who are accommodating and helpful. Hotel is very close to Galle town so you can actually walk. rooms are Clean and nice. Did not have a great view though.card payment facilities were not available at the moment.

Room Tip: second floor rooms have the harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Winds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Winds Hotel

Address: 12 Upper Dickson Road, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small PRIVATE Villa hotel comprising just 5 air conditioned luxury rooms, each with ensuite bathroom is tastefully furnished with local charm and modern conveniences. Experience the typical Sri Lankan hospitality on a quiet hillock overlooking the Galle harbour at Harbour Winds Hotel, GalleAwait soon to start restaurants. Coffee & Cream - Coffee Shop Panorama Lounge - Wine Lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Harbour Winds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Winds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.