We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome little cafe with unique fresh food & drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Railway Cafe

The Old Railway Cafe
42 Havelock Road | 42 havelock place, Galle, Sri Lanka
0094 776263400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 135 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
1 review
“Awesome little cafe with unique fresh food & drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Downstairs you can see and buy the custom designed dresses by one of the owners. She's a former uk resident now becoming one of Sri Lanka's best fashion designers. Upstairs is their awesome cafe. Super fresh products and a great atmosphere, we're def. coming back here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sri Lanka/Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cosy little cafe tucked away in Galle!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Downstairs they have a great little shop of handmade clothes and gifts. Upstairs is a humble and comfy little cafe with freshly made food and really tasty cakes. Lovely staff and a nice place to catch up for a chat or some quiet time while alone in Galle

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unawatuna
1 review
“A haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

It's a relief to find somewhere so calm and relaxing outside the ex pat and tourist catering Fort.
Good coffee, excellent blitzer with passion fruit and mint, tasty food.
Everything is freshly prepared so relax into the sofas and watch the trains arrive and leave from the Railway station across the canal. I have whiled away many hours in this haven.
Rasi is a font of local knowledge and Catherine's dress designs , are beautiful. It's a special place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Comfortable cafe with delicious fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A very comfortable, relaxing cafe with delicious fresh food. We took our toddler there and he loved playing around on the sofas and playing with the very friendly owners who were also very accommodating with his food allergies. We drank delicious smoothies and ate lovely omelettes, salads and yummy banana cake. The furniture in the cafe is beautiful as is the shop downstairs which is very eclectic and sells not only beautiful clothes and bags designed by the British owner but also some antique furniture and crockery, jewellery and even lovely and different Christmas decorations. We absolutely loved the shop and the cafe and spent a whole morning and lunchtime there shopping and eating! We'll definitely be going back next time we visit Sri Lanka.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great lovely cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very comfortable sitting upstairs above the London born owners fashion shop. We had milkshakes which were lovely and reasonably priced. The prices were lower than inside the fort and the cafe is next to the bus/train station. Food sounded good and reasonable too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Railway Cafe also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to The Old Railway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Railway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.