We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location but needs to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Old Dutch House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added New Old Dutch House to your Saves list
New Old Dutch House
21 Middle Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 183 Galle B&B and Inns
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“nice location but needs to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

the hotel is well located in the dutch ford, the reception and dining room are comfortable. the bedroom are simple but ok the only problem was the bathroom not nice at all a lot of humity and any window .
kind staff was kind and the breakfast served was good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    19
    12
    25
See reviews for
8
35
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

New Old Dutch House was our first stop. We had opted for the "villa" near the "beach". What we got was a tacky house about 15 minutes away from the Fort by tuktuk. The house was nowhere near the beach and was obviously someone's main home. The worst was finding a rat in the sink sucking on my lip balm. The rat was as surprised as I was and fled as soon as s/he could down the drain in the shower. The shower ran only cold water unless you let it run for a very LONG time. Plus the nightly rate was exorbitant for what we got in return. The staff was nice enough. The caretaker of the home was very nice. But this place should be a last ditch option.

Room Tip: The hotel or "villa" within the Fort is probably better but, according to recent reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

It is definitely not value for money. The prices are far too high for the amenities provided. So unless you have money to burn, go somewhere else. When we checked in, we found that the room did not have an attached bathroom. We had probably missed this detail somewhere in the fine print of the booking website, which was our mistake.

When we asked for a room with an attached bath, they said they would provide it, but the price increased enormously. However, we decided to take it, but found that the so-called "attached bathroom" was a just small plastic cubicle inside the room with a shower and a w/c!! It was deeply disappointing and we felt quite frustrated, but we had no option at that stage. We found out later that there are some rooms with proper attached bathrooms (not cubicles) but we could get no rational explanation why these were not offered to us.

Otherwise, the room was very clean and the hotel, as a whole,is well maintained. The breakfast was good (both Western style and local style are available), but the service is slow as the number of staff at any given time is just one or two.The staff were quite polite and helpful.

Overall, it may be a good idea to give this hotel a miss unless there is no alternative.

Room Tip: If you are particular about it, make sure well in advance that you have a room with an attached bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at the New Old Dutch House for 2 nights last week. And we paid in advance, which was a MISTAKE. The room was smelly and dirty, hotel staff did not respect our wishes to leave the windows closed (um, mosquito much?), breakfast would have been laughable if it hadn't been so disgusting. The room would have been a good value if it had been priced at around $15, but it was more than 5 times that price....
It is in a nice location in the fort, though.

Room Tip: don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Not quite what the Lonely Planet made it out to be. Here are 3 things that spoiled our stay there:
1. All the management wanted to do was get us to purchase their gems in their shop inside the guest house by insisting that all our interactions and conversations happened inside their small 'gem shop'. When we checked in we were escorted to the shop, it was so obvious and very annoying what they wanted. Every conversation ended with 'so, would you like to buy our gems?' even though we had told them no a number of times.
2. We checked into our room and unpacked our bags and had a drink. Only then did they realise they had given us the wrong room. When we said it was ok, they asked for more money as it was a 'more expensive room'. We either paid or had to re-pack our things and moved. It was very annoying after a long, hot journey there so we decided to pay the extra and stay in the room. It may have been a genuine mistake but it really felt like a little scheme they had going.
3. THEN! That night getting into bed a HUGE cockroach was under my pillow! It was so disgusting and it ran somewhere and hid in the bed and I ended up getting no sleep whatsoever out of fear it would crawl on my face at night.

It did however, have a lovely courtyard and a cool lobby to sit in for a drink etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

After reading the poor reviews this establishment received way back in August I feel like I can offer a bit of an update.

I stayed here for 3 nights from November 10th and I have to say that the service here is second to non. The young men who work here really go out of their way to look after you and will happily stop and chat and offer advice on where to go.

I actually had an issue in Sri Lanka with my bank card (the back of my card was damaged and very few places use the chip and pin here, they all use the magnetic strip off the back,) but the way that these guys went out of their way to help me was truly excellent. They had a chip and pin machine and gave me cash back, only charging me the bank charges as extra. They even said that if I need any more cash and I can't find a bank to help me to just come back and they will look after me. I actually came back when the owner was out, but they called him and organised a time for him to come back and help. Remarkable service.

I had the small room with communal bathroom which didn't bother me in the slightest, it was clean, quiet but so so hot. You don't really get a sea breeze through the fort walls so you'll have the fan on 24/7.

I really recommend this hotel, everyone is friendly (including the fantastic owner,) the service is great, the breakfast is tasty and the place is sooooo much cleaner than everywhere else I have stayed in Sri Lanka.

Good work guys, keep it up. Oh and Thanks:)

Room Tip: Room 3 that I stayed in is a bit small for couples, but perfect for the solo traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I always check on trip advisor before booking a hotel but this time I didn't since the lonely planet (which I have always trusted a lot) said that it was a wonderful place, one of the most clean guest house of south sri lanka.
When I arrived at the guest house I thought it was very ugly from the outside but that maybe the room (as seen in the photos on their web site) were going o be different. The room not only was horrible but also not the one we reserved. Of course it was the last one so we had to take it. And we payed it like crazy in advanxe!!!!!!!
It was dirty and we slept with our clothes on. Plus you could hear everything from the room behind since there wasn't even an entire wall behind it. The staff is rude and doesn t even understand english or try to!
Do not go for any reason!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Old Dutch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Old Dutch House

Address: 21 Middle Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Old Dutch House is situated in Fort, Galle the southern capital of Sri Lanka. Suite rooms with air-condition, attached bathrooms with hot water, satellite TV, WIFI internet and Minibar in a two story building. New Old Dutch House is provides accommodations and also serves as a business center for the tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your New Old Dutch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Old Dutch House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.