We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Bliss Galle

Save Saved
You added Fort Bliss Galle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fort Bliss Galle
84 Lighthouse Street | Fort, Galle 1992, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 147 Galle B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Fort Bliss earlier this week. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room ideal and clean plus the breakfast wonderful [especially the pancakes!]. Our room was on the upper floor with a celing fan - the one at the end of the passage. It had a ramparts and sea view and was excellent value for money. It was also very tranquil despite being right in the hub of the old Fort. Its the perfect spot for a few days stay and to chill in the pleasant ambience. I could not fault it.

Room Tip: See main review
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Small, though comfortable, this boutique hotel is well located near rampart. Caretaker, Thuschiya, looked after us without fuss and bother. Helpful and attentive. Wifi not the most stable, but seems to be like that in places we visited. Thoughtful inclusions. Love the furnishings.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms available. Book early! Being monsoon season, we had no trouble!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is in a great location and the rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. On this leg of the trip I was travelling solo and I felt very safe here, in some places the locks aren't great and anyone can access, but the Fort Bliss was secure. The guys who work here are friendly.

Room Tip: Try get an upstairs room. Great view of fort
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We reached Fort Bliss after our morning drive starting from Induruwa while exploring the Turtle Hatchery and a brief attempt at Snorkeling in Hikkaduwa. The moment we reached the Galle District center we were worried if had landed ourselves in a commercial center with a lot of noise. To our astonishment, the Fort Bliss was fairly peaceful (just what we wanted). The hotel is in the Dutch Fort and is meters away from the Lighthouse and Fort walls. Our check-in couldn't have been smoother as we were directed to our room peacefully. More so, the room was a jackpot - precisely as shown on Agoda pics. I would rate this place as the best in our entire trip to SL. The hotel is few meters away from Barista outlet, a few meters from Peddlars Inn Cafe and a few meters from Indian Hut (popular North Indian restaurant). In short perfect!

Room Tip: If you are two single travellers, book the standard room in the ground floor with twin beds. But be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were only here a short time unfortunately having to leave at 2.30 am for the airport, but the rooms were clean and comfortable and had character, it's more a guesthouse than hotel. Great location in Galle Fort, which is lovely and easy to walk around, with limited traffic. Galle fort has some lovely shops but price tags to match!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyneham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Two nights in the centre of Galle Fort was a welcome change from the jungle hotels experienced so far. Fort Bliss is a very well appointed home with four rooms. Ours was very clean and well appointed. On arrival we were glad that our guide/driver was with us as the manager was a little vague and language barriers would have been a problem. However, we were delighted with the accommodation and, on the first morning, an excellent breakfast was provided. Unfortunately, depite advising the manager that we needed to leave by 8am on the second day, when we came down for breakfat at 7.15 he was fast asleep on the sofa! He could not be aroused until, by chance, a local came looking for him and had to physically shake him to wake up. despite this, and the lack of a second day breakfast, this was a good place to stay in order to explore the fortress town. Do visit Fortaleza for a fantastic dinner in tranquil surroundings, just three minutes walk away from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortBlissGalle, Manager at Fort Bliss Galle, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Fort Bliss to spend your holiday in Galle. Your review is greatly appreciated as we sought to better our hotel, by the comments offered.
I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience caused by the steward present and assure you that we have taken steps to correct the situation.
We, at Fort Bliss welcome you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka for a more enjoyable experience.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in this beautiful hotel. Everything about the experience was first class. We arrived in Galle on the new 1st class train service (well worth the 760 rupee fare - leather seats, tea in china cups, air conditioning and in carriage movie! See www.blueline.sl for details)
As we were too early to check in the staff let us leave our bagage and offered us coffee. We had the superiour room on the first floor with its 4 poster bed. The room was exactly as it appears on the hotels web site as was spotless. The breakfast was very good and the lounge area pleasant. The staff really make you feel at home and welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Bliss Galle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Bliss Galle

Address: 84 Lighthouse Street | Fort, Galle 1992, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Bliss Galle, a breath taking Dutch-style colonial villa situated in the paradise Fort of Galle, a UNESCO world heritage site. Overlooking the green swept ramparts and armed with an electrifying sea view, the villa is a sight to behold. Antique furniture alongside intricate Moroccan lamps adorn this exquisitely decorated four bedroom getaway. Modern facilities such as A/C, ceiling fans, hot water, Wi-Fi and cable TV in the lounge area are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Fort Bliss Galle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Bliss Galle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.