We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You wont be questioning "Why"!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Why House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Why House to your Saves list
Why House
Mihiripenna | Talpe, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You wont be questioning "Why"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife, daughter and I just spent two wonderfully relaxing days at Why House over the Xmas break. Can't say enough about the service and the experience - easily the best accommodations on our two-week Sri Lanka tour. Every aspect of our stay here was wonderful. The staff is highly attentive and friendly without being intrusive. Breakfast was awesome. The room was beautiful and spotless. The grounds are gorgeous. H - thanks so much for your flexibility. You made us feel like family!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
49
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The previous reviews have said it all really but having just returned from 10 glorious days staying at the wonderful Why House I just wanted to agree with every word. If you are looking for great value for money, superb food, stylish decor, immaculate staff, then waste no more time and get booking......it's fab with a capital F.

Room Tip: A suite or cabana would be a good choice but they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Being a Dubai resident, one could say I’ve become rather accustomed to the finer things in life. Certainly after a 14 day trawl of the Hill Country, Ancient Cities and the East and South Coast, my attempts at trying to recapture those adventurous gap-year days had slowly but surely diminished, and an after ill-fated night in the frightful east coast town Batticaloa, 4 days of wearing the same t-shirt and what can politely be described as sporadic, yet severe intestinal problems, I was in dire need of a pit-stop.

With concern for my stomach condition, lack of a good night’s kip and the realisation that there was “no-end-in-site” as far as Colombo was concerned, Sampath, our extremely helpful driver and all-round great chap, suggested we might fancy a stop-over at a place he knew just outside of Galle. As fate would have it, we still had 7 days ahead of us and at this stage the prospect of a few days surrounded by peace tranquillity sounded like just the ticket.

As soon as the huge gates parted I was met by a “welcome-to-the-family” style reception committee. Just a stone’s throw from Galle, nestled among tropical jungle and set away from the main road, out of earshot from the terrorising horns of Lanka Ashok coaches like and oasis in the desert, Why House is a beautiful Italian-Style villa surrounded by cabana-style cabins encircling a good-sized swimming pool set out among immaculately landscaped, tropical gardens.

The newly decorated rooms are spacious and stylish, and the 4 poster bed with well sprung mattress was just what the doctor ordered; and the bathroom - undoubtedly the best I have seen in Sri Lanka. Sanath, the hotel manager was extremely attentive and sympathetic to our prior ordeal, he ensured that we were waited on hand and foot.

After a good rest and speedy recovery, helped I’m sure tremendously by the serenity of our opulent surroundings, we decided to relinquish our travel itinerary and spend the remaining days of our holiday in the comfort Why House lodgings.

Additional notes: Has WiFi that actually works, food is delightful and freshly prepared, good wine (somewhat had to come by in this region), staff can arrange a whole host of tours and activities outside of the hotel.

Ambience 10/10
Comfort 10/10
Hospitality 10/10
Food 11/10
Service 10/10
Value 10/10

Well done guys, will definitely return…

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

As soon as the huge gates of the property were swung open we had a wonderful sense of arrival and knew this place was special but did not realize how special it actually was. Right from the start the staff, who actually said little, but constantly smiled and the service flowed perfectly for our entire stay.
The hotel manager, Sanath, was constantly in attendance and poised ready to organize the delivery of service or arrange for the guests a vast array places to visit, sports, spa treatments and dining experiences. Our surfing/sightseeing trip was complicated and lasted from very early morning until late at night and was faultlessly organized for us. A tip is, don’t hire a car at the airport and drive yourself. Arrange airport transfer by the hotel and let the hotel fix the transport and driver for you, it is much cheaper that way.
Our mini suite, in the main house part of the property, was wonderfully luxurious and immaculately prepared for or arrival. From the four posted bed to the huge out door bathroom the style is quiet luxury and the Italian connection is obvious. The hotel Wi-Fi, in the room and across the property worked well and we got some work done poolside most of the time.
The hotel grounds were beautiful, well maintained and the pool (the largest in that area we were told) a great place to relax. All the accommodation (various styles) are scattered around the property and you never felt crowded.
The food, always freshly prepared, was beyond our expectations. Whilst there is a hotel menu, the chief asked each day what we would like him to cook for us at dinner. He provided good advice on the best fish catch that day. We were never disappointed.
There was a surprisingly good selection of cocktails and inevitably pre dinner drinks was a time for the guests to get to know each other. During our stay there was a great bunch of people (and some children) there and the evening always went well. The wine list is, typically for that area, was small but well selected. We were never stuck for a tipple at dinner or after for that matter.
We have travelled extensively in Asia for many years years and have visited Sri Lanka a number of times previously so we really did appreciate the Why House. We have called it the ‘special one’ and are already planning another week there this year.

Room Tip: We chose a mini suite in the big house but all the accomadiation typs have attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ille-sur-Tet
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

This luxurious, Italian designed house is a perfect place to relax. It's large airy rooms smelling deliciously of spices, four poster beds, are complemented by a huge garden, large pool and pavilions in which to read or dine. While of a very high standard, Why House remains very homely. A short tuk-tuk ride from Galle, it is more peaceful and welcoming than any of the hotels we visited there. Although walking distance from the beach, we contented ourselves with the enormous pool, lit by fireflies at night with the sound of the waves mingling with those of the coconut palms.

A delightful staff, headed by Sanath who previously worked with the Galle Face Hotel in Colombo, cater to your every need. The food was by far the best we tasted in Sri-Lanka and we were welcomed into the kitchen to learn about the local cuisine, and even accompanied the cook on his visits to market. Sanath has a vast knowledge of the country and helped us organize a trip around Sri-Lanka and ensured that at each point we were shown around by friends or colleagues of his such that we had the best time possible.

Nothing compared, however, to the marvelous week we spent here, so we returned for our last few days in the country. WIFI kept us in touch with the office when needed, masseuses arranged by Sanath soothed us into siesta mode, and when exercise was needed we repaired to the near-by rice paddies and cycled amid the colourful tropical birds, spice gardens and coconut groves.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Why House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Why House

Address: Mihiripenna | Talpe, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Why House and the beautiful island of Sri Lanka. Why House is located within a three acre private walled garden of peace and tranquility only a ten minute walk from the beautiful beach of Wijaya and a fifteen minute drive to the world heritage site Galle Fort. Our aim is to give you a fun, relaxed holiday experiencing the luxury of a boutique hotel with the informality of a private home. Children are welcome and supervision by the staff is available. A manager’s house and 24 hour security is on-site and a British supervisor is close by to look after your needs.This picturesque property can sleep a maximum of 20 guests, with 8 double en-suite rooms with private terraces.We have 2 Cabanas, 3 Main House Suites and 3 Garden Villa rooms available. Each individually designed room has satellite TV and DVD player (with film library), free Wi-Fi, mini fridge and luxuriously built en-suite bathrooms. An entertainment and outside dining pavilion that surrounds the large swimming pool are available to all guests within the extensive landscaped gardens, but we can also provide different areas for dining on the back and front terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Why House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Why House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.