We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful haven in Galle Fort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mango House to your Saves list
Mango House
3, Leyn Baan Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle 8000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 183 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fulham, London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful haven in Galle Fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Galle Fort during a 9 day trip around Southern SL. Whilst we stayed in other lovely (and more expensive) hotels elsewhere in SL, this was by far our favourite. The hotel is tucked down a quiet side-street in an old cinammon factory. The hotel has been lovingly and tastefully restored and is a quiet, peaceful haven, with a homely feel and is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in a ground floor double with a (shared) balcony at the back. The room was simple yet chic and stylishly decoarated, with nice touches, such as flowers on the bed and personalised Mango House toiletries.

The owners, Sofie and Hugh hare got it just right. Sofie was extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Sofie arranged for us to have spa treatments at Galle Spa (also great), transfers and restaurant recommendations in the area.

The breakfast was great, with a choice between continental, English or traditional SL.

Having done a mini tour of Galle and enjoyed cocktails at many other of the hotels in Galle, for price, quality and overall experience, Mango House is unrivalled and I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are so chuffed Mango House was one of your favourite places on your tour – and humbled(!) – It is such a great sense of joy when guests enjoy their stay here and it forms part of their overall impression of Galle and Sri Lanka. We, like the rest of the country, are always open to new ideas and it’s a work in progress.

Thank you so much for your great review! You are both more than welcome back anytime - It was really great getting to know you and we hope you’ll always view this place as your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
71
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galle, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Mango house is a great place to stay. We stayed 2nights. Udera is a great manager. He helps us a lot and staff is brilliant!we will recomended to our Chinese friends really enjoyed the stay at mango house this is really quiet place and breakfast is good and very tasty.we miss srilanka and specially this lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind words – and your lovely review!

We are very happy to have had the pleasure of welcoming many Chinese guests – not least you ☺

We are pleased both the breakfast and the house lived up to your expectations and you are always most welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Well, there is not much to say rather than the Mango house is amazing. We stayed for two nights in a superb room on the first floor. It had a nice balcony and it was very nicely decorated and super clean.

The location you can't beat and their garden with mango trees is beautiful... A nice place to relax and read if you like. Their breakfast was outstanding with fresh fruit, great coffee and a selection of three breakfasts.

Another thing to mention is their staff. They are super friendly, helpful and would go the extra mile anytime for you - just perfect service!

We would highly recommend this place to anyone travelling to Sri Lanka - don't miss it!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you’ll come back again

We are very glad you were happy with the service – we are a close-knit family who enjoy our work at Mango House. It is always such a privilege to meet people from all over the world – what a great experience!

Thank you also for your warm recommendation – you are of course always welcome back! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

While only open for 5 months, the Mango House is already a stunning success. Wonderful staff who make you feel at home, great breakfasts, amazing location and real class, for much less than we would have expected to pay. Book it before the secret gets out and they are completely filled up! Sophie, one of the owners, is amazing, and while we travel all over the world on a regular basis, the Mango House has honestly become one of the places we will continue to come back to because of the people who have made it so special. Located in the heart of the Galle Fort, only minutes walk from great restaurants, shopping, culture, museums, and the very best sunset views in Galle, the Mango House still makes you feel at home rather than just a number like the bigger hotels. We loved it so much we stayed an additional three nights after our initial three night booking. Nothing to complain about here, and unlike most of the other hotels that are just in it for the money, the Mango House is making a real effort towards an eco-friendly operation, and actively working to make the Galle Fort the first carbon-neutral UNESCO World Heritage site in the world. Amazing experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
A huge cheers from Mango House to you two! It was really great having you stay and inevitably it also felt a bit quiet when you left.

What an amazing review! We are so chuffed you felt it was a special place and you enjoyed your stay – we hope you had some well deserved rest and recuperation.

We do try to make Mango House a place where guests can feel at home while looking after the local environment. We are together with a group of other business owners trying to come up with sustainable solutions in the local hospitality industry and ultimately the aim is to create a carbon neutral hotel… and hopefully even make Galle Fort carbon neutral too. We feel privileged to be here and we really want to preserve it for the future.

We often think of you guys and you always have a second home away from home here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Such a pleasant surprise. The Fort throngs with people, both tourists and residents. Mango House is located on a quiet side street, half a block in either direction from museums, restaurants, shops, banks. As soon as you step onto its property you know it's special, with pink mango-colored cushions on lounge chairs beneath palm trees. There are 3 rooms on the ground floor. The two rooms to the right (sorry I don't remember room numbers) each open up to large verandas. The left-most room does not. The rooms on the second story have balconies (not sure if all of them do). My ground-floor room and bath were spacious, clean and well-appointed. I had injured my leg and the staff gathered a first aid kit to re-bandage my leg. In the evening one of the staff members walked with me to a local doctor's office and waited while my leg was examined. Supurb service! Breakfast (included) was delicious and the setting a delight, with a choice of eating outside in the courtyard or in the large open-air reception room. And the location cannot be beat. I stayed 3 nights and was truly sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
It was a joy having you stay with us and we too were sorry to see you leave!

We completely understand how it can feel when you’re travelling in a foreign country and need medical attention – we were happy we could assist you and we hope your leg is healing well.

You are right we have three rooms on the ground level, two of which have access to a private courtyard and four upstairs – three of which have access to balconies and one which is a mezzanine room – our Family Room - which can sleep four people, ideal for families.

Thank you for your compliments on our breakfast – we are very happy you enjoyed it – and thank you for the great review.

You are always welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night in March 2014 and really loved it. It is a lovely little boutique hotel and the managers (Hugh and Sofie) have really made every effort with every aspect of the hotel. We were in the “worst” room – a double on the ground floor without outside space - but it was still great (although there was a slight smell of damp when you first entered the room, this soon went with the dehumidifier and air con). An excellent bed and the shower was little bit of heaven. You can see the effort they have gone to with all the little touches – little ceramic pots of soaps / shampoo etc., safe, refillable drinking water and the design throughout the hotel. A little oasis. We also loved our omelette and breakfast rotti and the coffee was some of the best we had in Sri Lanka. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! We really enjoyed having you stay and are happy you liked Mango House.

We have been very careful to make sure all our rooms have the best amenities and live up to our guests’ expectations – it’s a work in progress for us and we love when guests notice even the smaller details ☺

Thank you so much for your recommendation and you are always warmly welcome again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Mango house. The location in Galle Fort is great, in a charming old-style street. The hotel is simple but beautifully-decorated and comfortable, with a charming front garden which is lit up at night. The service is warm and friendly - Perera in particular took very good care of us! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
It was lovely having you stay as well and thank you so much for your great review and recommendation!

We are happy you had a good time with us and you are more than welcome back should you find yourselves in the south of Sri Lanka again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango House

Address: 3, Leyn Baan Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle 8000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic Galle Fort, Mango House is a bright and airy Dutch colonial-style villa, mixing old elegance with a hip, Asian contemporary feel. From hand-made terracotta floor tiles and bespoke furniture to exclusive pattern designs and a carefully crafted lighting scheme, guests at Mango House enjoy a unique experience, bridging the best of colonial-era architecture with funky, modern twists.Set in a beautiful garden of mango trees and palms, the 7-room boutique hotel offers a peaceful haven for guests within easy walking distance of all Galle Fort's historic sights, restaurants and shops.Each room has a queen size four-poster bed, AC and fan, satellite TV and DVD player, with guests free to choose from an extensive library of films and documentaries. Two of our rooms open out onto a private courtyard, while three others enjoy private balconies. One room offers a second queen-size bed on a mezzanine, perfect for families traveling with children. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, rainforest showers and luxury organic amenities. Wifi access is free throughout the house and our complimentary breakfast is a choice between the full English, Continental or spicy Sri Lankan omelette topped off with fruit salad, yoghurt and Muesli, fresh juices, Italian coffee and Sri Lankan teas. For lunch and dinner, guests are less than five minutes walk from all Galle Fort's delicious range of cafes and restaurants, serving everything from traditional Sri Lankan curry to the best of European and Asian fusion cuisine. Those wishing to stay in can order from the menu of Crepe-ology, one of Galle Fort's top ranking restaurants, who will deliver delicious savoury crepes, salads and sweets for guests to enjoy on our veranda, in the garden or on their private balcony or courtyard. Mango House also offers guests personalised services including airport pick up and drop off, restaurant and spa bookings, tours and a 24-hour concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Mango House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango House Hotel Galle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.