We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Fifty Inn

Save Saved
You added Fort Fifty Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Fifty Inn
50 Leyn Baan Street, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 147 Galle B&B and Inns
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Not again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The blanket folded on the bed had been urinated on and stank the bed out. There was 1 remote control for 2 rooms so forget about changing the temp during the night. 1 mozzie net to cover 2 single beds. Breakfast was cold

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
22
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you are a solo female traveller like myself you will want to consider this place for your stay. It's clean, has hot water and wifi. The staff is also helpful. I felt safe staying here! The bathroom is a bit small but after a long day of tuk tuk and bus fumes, the hot water is refreshing. And the water can be really hot!

Room Tip: Ask for toilet paper to be put in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Room was clean and spacious with hot water, free wifi, air con, mossie net and satellite tv. We found the room to be good value for the price we paid. Manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. No mossies!

The bathroom was a bit small, but not an issue.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night here as part of a 2 week trip and it was the worst accommodation we experienced in Sri Lanka. The room smelt very musty, the mattresses were damp, there were no towels or mosquito nets, the food was not good and the toilet didn't flush. The location however was good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Good location in centre of Galle Fort area so great for walking round the Fort area. Room is small and stuffy with no outside window or view. Air con not very efficient. Bed pretty uncomfortable. Staff seem to be all the one family and are friendly. Shower good and hot. Wifi ok in reception area. Food not good. We had a group dinner there and got a typical Sri Lankan curry with very little meat. Not one of our better curries in Sri Lanka. One of the poorer hotels we stayed in while travelling round Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The plus: central location, very friendly people, nice guests, calm courtyard if there wouldn't be the building activity next door.

The negative points:
room U3 (and I think the others are the same)
- tiny, stingy, with a strong smell of wet and funghi, dirty walls and wardrobe. Even the matresses are humid. Bathroom unacceptable: toilet rim broken, sink empties on the floor (you wash your hands and your feet simultanously) - everything looks very worn out. see photos

Paid on agoda 40 US $ a night and have seen other rooms at mamas guesthouse for the same price, which are correct, bigger, propper and with a real bathroom.
You can't use the A/C because it is so loud, that you would wake up all your neighbours.

Be carefull, they might close the door at 22h00 (on sundays) without telling you beforehand.

Room Tip: choose another guesthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed this guesthouse for two days. The room was very nice, clean and cozy, and hot shower and wifi are available and its quality is far beyond the room price. The location of this guesthouse is very good and easy access to everywhere in the fort. There are many nice cafe and resturants on the same street. The manager, Priyanca is very friendly and helped me a lot such as checking airline customer service number, introducing reasonable accommodation in Melissa and giving me information of the festival and more. I really appreciate friendly and warm service of service staffs of this GH. I am very happy to stay here and hope I could come back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Fifty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Fifty Inn

Address: 50 Leyn Baan Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fort Fifty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Fifty Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.