We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay in galle fort!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thenu Rest Guest House

Save Saved
You added Thenu Rest Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thenu Rest Guest House
12 Hospital St | Fort Galle, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 147 Galle B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in galle fort!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Thenu rest is a wonderful guest house and value for money in the fort. It is strategically located just 50m from cafe punto and close by to many of the forts tourist attractions. Lovely family, great views.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
20
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice, clean place and good location but everything comes with a price. First, they didn't honor the agoda hotel voucher. They said they had not received payment and we as the guests, had to call agoda to settle the issue. Then we found out it was because they themselves didn't confirm payment with agoda. Then, the water pipe in the bathroom burst and the boss told us to live with it. The fact that the boss talks and behaves like a hooligan didn't help.

The style is pretty laissez faire: security is a tad higher than that of public license swimming pools. Anyone can just walk into the rooms.

There are also dozens of mosquitoes.

Oh, and all the dishes except for rice & curry (I hope) don't come with rice. It is not stated on the menu. We paid about US$0.50 for a plate. Food was great because they served us takeaways. The lady boss said she did the cooking though there wasn't any action in the kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

the owner picked us up in the train station. we had the front room facing the old dutch hospital. the room is ok, aircon is cool, toilet works well. Since the family runs it, seems they don't have inside workers so the door is closed at 10pm, too early for us. Price is not so cheap after all... plus they offered breakfast in the morning, our fault also for not checking if it's included... we had to pay quite alot for it ... we'd rather to go somewhere else to have more proper breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A traditional Sri Lankan styled guest house in the heart of the old fort. Run by a lovely family who make you feel at home. Great location in the heart of beautiful Galle. Few rooms in a popular location so you may need to book early.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at Thenu Rest. The friendly and helpful owners made such a favourable impression on us the first time and so we did not hesitate to return on the second visit. On this occasion, we arrived without booking in advance and were lucky to be offered the same room as on the first visit.

Thenu Rest is a family home but guests may use the ground floor lounge in which is located a computer with free wi-fi. The guest rooms are located on the first and second floors. I'm not sure how many - perhaps six.

Being on a budget, we usually opt for non-a/c and our room was one of two on the top floor. We thought the room was delightfully (even romantically!) presented, small, but nicely furnished with a compact and clean ensuite bathroom. Some people might find a non-a/c room rather hot at night, but it was no hotter than any of the other non-a/c rooms I've stayed in in the south of Sri Lanka.

Just outside the room was a useful open-air seating area, which was used by only one other room and so it was a lovely place to sit and relax and listen to the sound of the sea just a few metres away. There was also a sink there and so it was an ideal place to wash clothes and leave them to dry safely.

We sampled the food on one occasion, and the owner brought it upstairs to our outdoor seating area - very tasty, reasonably priced and very generous portions! As in most places in Galle Fort, there are no alcoholic drinks.

Thenu Rest is located at the southeastern corner of Galle Fort. As such you will not be able to watch the sun go down from your balcony, but on the other hand you won't have to pay the huge premiums which the hotels on the western side will charge you for the privilege! At 2500Rs for the room, we thought this guest house measured up very well to the other places we looked at in the Fort.

All in all we were very happy with Thenu Rest and we shall stay there again the next time we are passing through Galle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

1 night stay
top floor double, with fan

Ever the impulsive traveler, I turned up on the doorstep of Thenu Rest, at what is a late our in Galle. Not a problem! I was welcomed in and shown available rooms.
I plucked for a top floor room which exceeded my needs for comfort. The terrace on this floor is very peaceful with a near view of the operating lighthouse (some 100m away), partial seas view and the sound of waves breaking against the Forts embankments.

You have privacy here, yet the family touch is waiting to be shared. I got to chatting with the owner/operators, a local couple, and wished I had more time to spend with them....and their cat, the night watchman.

Maps, travel guides and other small eclectic selection of travel literature is made available as is internet access. I even enjoyed a brief international call on the house!

Will stop here next time I'm fortunate enough to be in Galle!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in the double air con room. The room was very nice, clean and air conditioned there were two small annoyances however. Firstly the TV was unwatchable (there's a TV downstairs so not a big deal) and secondly the air con room has a very large window which opens onto a communal balcony with nothing but a net curtain for privacy. I went out and checked and with the lights off nobody from outside can see in, but it still felt a bit strange.

The location is fantastic.

Otherwise breakfast was very nice each morning (Rs600pp) and we found the owners to be quite pleasant. We were offered a tour in one of the owners relatives tuc tucs however we didn't take him up on the offer. We were charged Rs100 for the 0.5km trip to the station. There is a computer available for guest use.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thenu Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thenu Rest Guest House

Address: 12 Hospital St | Fort Galle, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Thenu Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thenu Rest Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.