We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cute little respite from the heat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Dutch Cafe

Royal Dutch Cafe
72 Leyn Baan Street fort | Srilank, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
771774949
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 135 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Owned by Fazal Badurdeen who is a well known story teller about Galle. Serves the "best tea" in town as weel Owned by Fazal Badurdeen who is well known for his stories about Galle Fort. Serves the "best tea in town" as well as lunch and dinner.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A cute little respite from the heat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Dropped in here for a snack and a rest from the heat, not knowing about its claim to be the best tea around, but I have to say they were right, the tea is really good. Run by a local family, there is a shop in the back with a range of clothing and souvenirs, if you need to use the toilet you go into their house, past the dining room down the hall. Another prime example of local hospitality here in Sri Lanka.

Go for something different and try the spicy tea, it's full of lots of spices like cardamom pods, cinnamon, and ginger. My friend had the coconut rotti which she said was really fresh and tasty.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    31
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best tea on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Simply the best tea you can get for an affordable price. The setup was also comfortable and looks more local and historic. All over the best place for a great cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique atmosphere and the BEST pot of tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Upon entrance, this little cafe caught my attention due to its lovely atmosphere and a friendly smile by the owner, Mr Fazal. We ordered a gin bing juice which was a combination of papaya, pineapple, gingerbeer and various other delicious ingredients. It was truly a unique and one of a kind drink. The sheer taste of it showed originality. Mr Fazal was too kind as he also shared his recipe with us.

And of course how could we not order a pot of tea, and to our amazement, that too was splendid, the perfect balance of cardomom, tea and sugar. It was truly a treat to the taste buds! It was clear that the food made in this unique cafe was made with love and care! As it undeniably reflects in the food and beverages been served!

Prices are extremely reasonable, go there not only for the food but also for the experience and service! Really excited to visit again during my next visit to Sri Lanka.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A colourful oasis of teas, conversation, and delicious food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I rented an apartment and was living in Galle Fort for a month. Focusing on my painting.
Galle Fort has it's own special atmosphere, but within it is a very magical place, which I discovered by chance down one of the small streets. The Royal Dutch Café is a random collection of small tables covered in pretty tablecloths, and surrounded by colour on all sides.....antique blue & white china dishes, old paintings on one wall, materials of all colours hanging...and all behind a backdrop of thick, lush tropical plants.

It became to me an absolute haven, This was made all the more special by the amazing Fazal. A genteel but inspirational character, full of vibrant and thoroughly interesting tales...and words of wisdom !! From an amazing array of teas...my regular fix was Ginger tea...full with pieces of fresh ginger.....delicious!! Supplemented by homemade ginger biscuits....sublime !!
Words cannot describe what my short moments during each day meant to me here!!!
Thank you, thank you Fazal...

Thoroughly recommend this place....please make sure you don't leave Galle Fort without a calming sojourn in here with Fazal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is going to be a memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was volunteering in galle when I came across fazal's cafe. It was a steal away from the usual volunteer day. I'd go to the royal Dutch cafe for a much needed break and some perspective in the way of chatting with Fazal. Over a cup of ginger tea. That was my favorite thing to do. His cinnamon iced coffee is really good on a hot day. My friends and I enjoyed many evenings there chatting to fazal and asking him to tell us stories. This place is quaint, drenched in history, and is so 'home made' that it's comforting. You'd be having tea in a porch that is 300 years old!

Pro tip: if your there at about 5.30 or 6 pm there's a tuk tuk bakery that drives by. Buy a fresh bun. Get some tea.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Dutch Cafe also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to Royal Dutch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Dutch Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.