We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is going to be a memory” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Dutch Cafe

Royal Dutch Cafe
72 Leyn Baan Street fort | Srilank, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
771774949
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 135 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Owned by Fazal Badurdeen who is a well known story teller about Galle. Serves the "best tea" in town as weel Owned by Fazal Badurdeen who is well known for his stories about Galle Fort. Serves the "best tea in town" as well as lunch and dinner.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is going to be a memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was volunteering in galle when I came across fazal's cafe. It was a steal away from the usual volunteer day. I'd go to the royal Dutch cafe for a much needed break and some perspective in the way of chatting with Fazal. Over a cup of ginger tea. That was my favorite thing to do. His cinnamon iced coffee is really good on a hot day. My friends and I enjoyed many evenings there chatting to fazal and asking him to tell us stories. This place is quaint, drenched in history, and is so 'home made' that it's comforting. You'd be having tea in a porch that is 300 years old!

Pro tip: if your there at about 5.30 or 6 pm there's a tuk tuk bakery that drives by. Buy a fresh bun. Get some tea.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    31
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thank you Fazal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I'm so happy I visited this restaurant! The food is great, the atmosphere is delightful, and Fazal is a wonderful host. If you have the time he'll tell you stories about Galle from the old days - he's very proud of his heritage and it's not hard to see why. People like Fazal and places like the Royal Dutch Cafe are the reason why Galle is such a great community.

Thank you Fazal and friends for the moonlight picnic in February 2014 - it was amazing to meet all of you. I wish all of you the best and hope all your picnics are special. :)

Susan and Erin from Nova Scotia, Canada

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best tea and stories in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This lovely little cafe/restaurant/shop should be top of peoples' lists of places to visit in the Galle Fort. While we didn't eat, the tea is definitely the best in town (and I drink a LOT of tea), and the shop is full of beautifully handmade clothes as well as jewellery and other trinkets. However, the highlight of it all has to be Mr Fazal. A friend and I spent well over two hours chatting with him and listening to his stories - his business card states that he is a storyteller and this is absolutely true! Mr Fazal really does know a lot about a lot, and is wonderful company. I will be sure to visit him every time I am in Galle, and my friend and I are now planning a day trip back to Galle just so we can hear more of his stories and perhaps even try the delicious homemade food he serves. What a great place to let go of your schedule and just be.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome food at a unique cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I'm a meat eater, but these guys vegetarian meals were some of the best I have had in Sri Lanka. The Dahl and potato curry were cheap but divine.

Staff were pretty friendly, and the cafe has lots of things to look at, including photos from the forts past.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A place you MUST visit whilst in Galle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I stumbled across the Royal Dutch Cafe on my first day in Galle and I am SO happy I did as Fazal is the most amazing person you will meet. I could sit and listen to him talk for hours, in-fact, I've made it my mission whilst I'm here for the next two weeks, to visit Fazal as much as I can so I can drink his amazing tea and simply listen and learn from a man who is clearly so humble, genuine and has a heart of gold.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Dutch Cafe also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to Royal Dutch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Dutch Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.