We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking hotel with excellent service; we had our dream wedding at Era Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Era Beach by Jetwing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Era Beach by Jetwing to your Saves list
Era Beach by Jetwing
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   834 Galle Road, Talpe, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking hotel with excellent service; we had our dream wedding at Era Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We chose Era Beach as the venue for our wedding and couldn't have chosen a more perfect setting for our big day. The hotel is beautiful with views of the sea from almost every angle and the fantastic service and fabulous food only serve to enhance the experience. Don’t let any of the negative reviews on here sway your decision about booking your stay. I would have no hesitation in recommending it. This hotel most definitely has everything that you would hope for from an exclusive Boutique hotel.

We booked the hotel for two nights over our wedding weekend and the staff worked tirelessly with very little sleep for almost 48 hours to ensure that everything ran smoothly. The actual wedding ceremony was beautiful and the food was out of this world. Everyone was having so much fun that the party continued until around 4am at which point Manoj and Sanjeev helped us up to our room with a large cake and lots of good wishes. We organised a barbecue for the post wedding celebrations on the following day and the staff put on a spread that included four types of Sri Lankan curry, fresh lobster, tuna and a great variety of meat seafood and puddings; a truly fantastic meal.

A big, big thank you to Janaka, Robert, Manoj, Sanjeev and the rest of the team at the hotel; We and our families cannot thank you enough for making our wedding day(s) so memorable. You really couldn't have done more to make the day special for us and we really appreciate all of your efforts.

This truly is a special place

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Firstly, allow us to congratulate you on your special day!
Weddings are a special event at Era. Comprising of such a small staff, it’s easy for everybody get caught up in the excitement and before you know it, you’re part of the family.

We are happy you enjoyed our secluded little hotel and we are thrilled that your wedding went just the way you had imagined it. It was our honor to have been a part of the celebration and it was an absolute pleasure meeting all your loved ones. We hope you will visit us, and Sri Lanka’s amazing southern coast, for many, many anniversaries to come.

Here’s wishing you all the best for a wonderful life together!

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    38
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
37
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

First the positives: The Hotel is beautifully set up, nice pool and nice beach. Small boutique resort and we almost had the hotel for ourselves since not many people stayed there (maybe for a reason?). Very good breakfast and nice staff. Try to comfort you in your wishes. Didn't try the dinner food but supposed to be good as well. But here comes the big downside which clearly overvweights the upsides unfortunately:
The hotel is NOISY! Booked a seaview suite... nice room with huge bathroom. But since the walls and roof are very thin, you can hear the loud traffic of the street all night long since the hotel is only a couple of metres next to the busy road. Couldn't sleep most of the night. Not pleasant for such an expensive place! Changed to Garden Suite the next morning... Garden Suites have almost no windows and are no comparison to the seaview suites (at least they were a bit cheaper, but overpriced for what you get). Street noise was less, but still not completely removed. The worst fact: I couldn't sleep again, since the rooms are next to the property wall and feral (like another reviewer wrote) dogs were barking outside all! night long. Couldn't sleep from 2am-6am. Checked out first thing the next morning and moved to another hotel (The Fortress Hotel, very recommendable). So I shortened my 4 nights planned stay to 2 nights and regret not having checked out after my first night.
If you are not bothered by noise, this hotel is fine... if you are a sensitive sleeper, avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Please accept our apologies regarding the noise. We are aware of the issue and are doing our best to resolve the problem as soon as possible.

It is our sincerest wish that you would return to Era Beach sometime in the future to find that your comments were addressed and improved upon.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

When I researched this place and made the booking about 18 months ago, it was owned and run privately. Since December 2010 it has been taken over by Jetwing hotels is certainly NOT a top end boutique hotel anymore. The actual refurb of the building is obviously still there and the setting is great, but the whole ambience of the place has a more down market feel unlike their very upmarket food and drink charges! These were the highest that we experienced on the island and the other places that we stayed were definitely luxury boutique.
On arrival and meeting the manager (who was a bit slimy) the only Sri Lankan that we met on the whole of our tip that I could say that about as in general we found the people to be so friendly and lovely, we just did not like the feel of this place. They allow and actively encourage non residents to come and use the bar and restaurants and pool, with a sign advertising on the beach, which does not give a very exclusive vibe and if you are paying around £230.00 per night you would expect that.
So my advice would be to give Era beach a wide berth.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are so sorry we were unable to live up to your expectations of Era Beach. Since Era’s initiation into the Jetwing family, we have identified many areas that need improving, if Era is to be brought to the level of service Jetwing Hotels are famous for.

With sufficient training for the staff and the wealth of collective experience brought forth by veteran hoteliers from our sister hotels, we are confident that we shall be able to transform Era Beach into a truly amazing place to visit.

It is our humblest wish that you visit Era again sometime in the future to experience firsthand that all the above mentioned statements are sincere and that every detail mentioned was addressed and improved upon.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Me and my now wife celebrated our wedding here and also stayed for two nights. The place is absolutely wonderful; the food is great and the staff are the best we’ve ever experienced and the setting is stunning. This combined made our special day perfect in every sense and everyone who travelled far to attend the wedding enjoyed themselves thoroughly and were full of compliments.
Also, Era beach is great if you are just looking for a special place to stay in the Galle area. It has the “wow factor” with a beautiful pool, stylish architecture and is beautifully set by the beach. The functions are rare so you will not be bothered by any (you need to book the whole hotel for a function) during your stay.
So, many, many thanks to Robert, Janaka, Hiran and the rest of the staff at Jetwing for their valued contribution in making our special day so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for making us a part of you special day! We are thrilled that you as well as your guests enjoyed your time at Era Beach. It was an absolute pleasure having you with us and we do hope you will visit as again for many, many anniversaries to come.

Here’s sending our warmest wishes to you, for a wonderful life together.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We had a FULLY PAID voucher for Era Beach Hotel from agoda.com. But when we arrived to the hotel, they told us that there are no available rooms and downgraded us to their sister hotel - Jetwing Lighthouse.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Please accept our humblest apologies regarding your transfer. Your reservation never made its way to us and we are so very sorry that you were not able to experience Era Beach. We have conducted an inquiry to determine the reason behind the missing reservation and we are confident necessary steps have been taken to insure that it does not happen again.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse regardless of the unfortunate oversight at Era Beach.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This boutique is a treasure! The service was amazing, the staff cater to your every wish. Their all so kind, and have the biggest smiles. Our 1st night they put 2 flowers on the bed for the turn down service. By the end of our stay they had come to know us better and covered the bed in flowers! I was so touched.

Era has the softest beds, rain shower heads, breakfast is made to order whenever you want, it's right on the ocean, it's a little sanctuary!

I can't wait to visit Sri Lanka again. We know where were staying!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We at Era are working to make our guest experience a truly remarkable brand of care and hospitality and it is truly satisfying to hear that we got it just right!!

I shall convey your kind words to the staff at Era Beach and I am confident that it will inspire them to achieve greater goals in the years to come.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011 via mobile

There are feral dogs barking outside all night, and as the skylights are made of single corrogated plastic sheets, the noise is bad.

The building is gorgeous, but the service is bizarre... They ignore you then are over-attentive in a weird way, no-one seems to be on reception ever but there's always male staff hanging around, and they take forever to organise trips/ taxis/ meal reservations.

Weirdly we were woken up at 7.30am because they decided to let 3 chatting old ladies have morning tea right outside our room on the patio... With single glazed windows around 3 of the walls this was pretty much like having them in the room with us. Weird, thoughtless and intrusive.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment and thank you for being one of the first visitors to Era Beach since it’s initiation into the Jetwing Family. We have identified a number of matters that need addressing and one of them is the need of soundproofing. An architect is scheduled to evaluate each room and we hope to rectify the issue as soon as possible. Please pardon us for any inconvenience caused.

Jetwing Hotels are renowned for their truly unique and personalized brand of hospitality. We are conducting extensive training for our newly acquired staff at Era and we are confident that they will provide remarkable service in the coming months. We are also having veteran hoteliers from our other hotels help set up the overall operation and thus, intrusions like you experienced in the morning of your stay should be a thing of the past.

We do hope you will visit Era Beach again in the future to find that every point you have mention has indeed been rectified, and that you experience a level of service which will leave you mesmerized.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Era Beach by Jetwing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Era Beach by Jetwing

Address: 834 Galle Road, Talpe, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Era Beach by Jetwing 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views and a tranquil environment, unwind listening to the therapeuticsounds of the Indian Ocean. This outstanding place, offers pure relaxation and luxuriousunderstated elegance and comfort. Throughout its expanse, in architecture and in choiceof furniture and fittings, a strong Dutch influence prevails, giving you a glimpse of ahistoric past. Just a few seconds walk through the garden and find a pristine stretch ofthe beach with golden sands and turquoise sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Era Beach by Jetwing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Era Beach Hotel Galle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Era Beach by Jetwing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.