We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price, a very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Frangipani Motel to your Saves list
Frangipani Motel
35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 183 Galle B&B and Inns
France
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price, a very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in early January and were very pleasantly surprised with what we got for our money compared to many of the other hotels we had stayed in during our travels.
We called in on the off chance and were shown 3 rooms in the main building which all looked very nice, spacious and clean, each with their own private balconies.
We chose the slightly more expensive room (no.1) on its own at the top of the building which had a sizeable terrace (in the daytime the staff came up to put the washing out on the roof to dry and water the plants but, otherwise, it was private). 7000 LKR a night included air-con and plenty of hot water (the latter was a rarity). There was also a TV and a fridge in the room, and sufficient plug sockets (another rarity). Everything was clean, it was quiet, a good bed, and we found nothing to complain about. There were saloon type swing doors to the bathroom, which some might not like for privacy reasons, but it did not bother us. We slept well, the only slight disturbance was the early morning call to prayer from the mosque, but it was not that bad and I think you will hear it from most places in Galle Fort.
We had some washing done for a very reasonable price. Breakfast was not included, but that was fine for us (no need to get up early!). The location is very central in the fort area with plenty of pleasant bars and restaurants nearby.
We wanted to stay longer, but they were fully booked so we had to move on. I would stay here again if returning to Galle.
There is an annex across the road, but the larger main building is set back a bit and seemed more private. However, having not seen the annex rooms I cannot really judge.

Room Tip: The two rooms we were shown in the main building on the first floor both looked good. We liked the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    64
    34
    15
    9
See reviews for
13
95
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We found this large roomed hotel very convenient for 2 night stay in Galle old town area.Mosquito nets,fans,a/c,large balcony,clean and comfortable. Minor sink problem quickly sorted,and plenty of hot water (once I found the switch! )Breakfast extra, very nice.Good value.I was impressed how all the bedding and mattress were aired outside and great attention to a nice fresh bed and clean floor.

Room Tip: Seemed a quieter street,hotel set back from road in garden,so no traffic noise really at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Located in the heart of Galle Fort, we found this hotel last minute, we book a room (N° 15) with a large terrace, all was very clean and comfortable. Very calm as in the fort. Breakfast is correct. The owner pays keeps the standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I didn't really do my homework before arriving in Galle Fort so I just went by LonelyPlanet and to be honest I think there are probably better options around (Mango House, for example). As with a lot of places that get featured in LP, the prices go up and the quality goes down. It was very quiet when I was there, the lounge and dining area were deserted and it was a little dark and gloomy inside. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean, nothing to complain about there. The one bright spot was that the family that run the place was extremely accommodating to me, I was able to leave some shopping there whilst I went to Mirissa for a few days and also leave my backpack there one of the days when I was just passing through and taking photos.

If you need a place to stay on short notice for a night then this place is ideally situated smack in the centre of the Fort area. But if you really want the chic experience that Fort has come to be then spend a little more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very kind staff and good value for its location(in the heart of galle fort). We paid 2800lkr per night for an air con room. Room was clean and Breakfast was nice (not included). They forgot to wash my clothes which were still damp when I left

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

For the first time visit Galle, this will be a nice choice for stay. This hotel is clean and with good service. You can tell the stuffs all the problem u meet and they are very well to help us. And the breakfirst here is delicious for us. Anyway, this is recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews for Frangipani Motel, I booked a room on Agoda, and when I arrived was startled to discover the 'locals price' was half of what they charge tourists who book ahead. In the middle of a heatwave, I had to ask for the A/C controller, when it was included in the price. Hot water was not easy to come by. And after arranging a private tour to Kandy with a driver they recommended, I simply felt taken advantage of for having lighter skin -- clearly he had been told that I was covering his meals and expenses, yet nothing had been said to me. Not to mention, I was charged way too much for the tour, yet was at the mercy of the owners for their help, given I had already paid double for the room in advance. The coffee and breakfast I was promised, was not given. Etc. Etc. While seemingly nice people, in the end it felt like a scam. There are plenty of cute, boutique-ish places to stay within the old fort than staying here... and at far better prices!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frangipani Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Motel

Address: 35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Frangipani Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.