We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Frangipani Motel to your Saves list
Frangipani Motel
35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 160 Galle B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Good hotel, good breakfast, clean room. We also liked the house, nice style. Just be very sure what roomrate you agreed. I phoned 1 or 2 days before and all was well arranged. We walked from the busstop to the motel. At the end they added 500 per night for the room, but they forgot to charge us for one pot of tea, so it was an honest mistake I think.
We had dinner there and we ate Sri Lankan food every night during our trip, but here we tasted some flavours we hadn't tasted before. Although Mama's food was nice, I thought this was better (and little cheaper).
The location is great.
Good place to go to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    59
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
12
86
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I highly recommend this family run hotel on Pedlar Street in the centre of the old Fort in Galle. As a regular visitor to Sri Lanka I have stayed in Galle on many occasions and always head straight for the Frangipani Motel where I am guaranteed a warm welcome and clean reasonably priced room. Over the years the hotel has expanded and they now have a second building opposite the main house, this has a lovely shared balcony which directly overlooks the street giving a nice place to relax if the midday sun gets too much for you. You also get a chance to chat to people who are passing by. The family are always willing to help by giving advice or arranging transport. So if you go to Galle make sure that you check this place out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in the Frangipani motel for 2 nights and liked it very much. The place is very quiet and in the fort-area of Galle. The rooms and lobby are exceptional clean and the staff is very helpful. We did not have diner, but the breakfast is served with a big fruit-plate. Internet-service is free and you can get a 'private' tuk-tuk from here to Unawatuna for 300 rps.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I really recommand you this hotel, Thilina and ajith, his brother are so friendly and generous. Ajith spent 3 hours to show us the best shops at best price in Galle with his rickshaw, by the way the prices of his rickshaw are really attractive. Frangipani motel is very clean and rooms very comfortable. Frangipani is in city center that is really great. The cooking is really good, and you can eat outside in the garden. We feel like at home with pictures of family and sofas.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We thought we'd find somewhere to stay when we arrive in Galle. En route, a man accosted us on the train and recommended this place. We reluctantly agreed to check it out when we arrived and because we were tired and it was late, agreed to stay for a night.
The decor was a little too kitsch- it felt like we were sleeping in an adult nursery with the Micky Mouse curtains, clock with a Baby photo beside it and the blue & white mosquito nets
We didnt interact much with the family - they seemed preoccupied with family members.
After having supper and a few drinks at another hotel, we arrived back at the motel to find it was locked and we didnt have a key to get in the main entrance. So had to shake the gate until someone opened up. Hate doing this, not pleasant to disturb others whilst they're sleeping.
There are other guesthouses who offer a personable service and rooms which are a little more contemporary.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

The motel is situated in a central location on walking distance from all objects in the Dutch fort area. The motel and the bedrooms are very clean and have a nice interior, especialy the internal home garden with fish pond and waterfall. The owners are extremely friendly and very helpfull. They can also arrange tours for everybody. Diner is homemade and ingredients are fresh bought from natural herbal gardens in the area. You can consume your diner outside in the nice hotelgarden.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I really liked the family feel at this place & the nice spacious rooms. They have two properties opposite each other. I stayed in the larger family home & recommend asking for one of the rooms with a balcony. These rooms also had a TV, fridge & AC. The top room also has lovely views from the large rooftop balcony. They also have smaller rooms at cheaper prices. Its a great location in the heart of the fort, they have free wifi & the family are all very helpful. A top spot!

Room Tip: Ask for the top room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frangipani Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Motel

Address: 35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Frangipani Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.