We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous little guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Inn Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Inn Guest House to your Saves list
Fort Inn Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   31 Pedlar Street, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 183 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a very sweet little guest house, fabulously located right in the thick of things in the Fort district of Galle, which is the main area. You really couldn't ask for a better location.

The guest house has three rooms up some steep and narrow internal stairs. The family who runs the place live downstairs, so each time you enter and exit you're greeted by the hosts, who are very helpful and open, always smiling!

The rooms contained AC and a fan, four-poster beds with mosquito nets and a functional, although small and a bit damp bathroom. There's plenty of hot water, once you master the hot water unit!

They can also do washing at a very reasonable price. No WiFi in the rooms, however.

If I were to return to Galle I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    60
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
76
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was my second time I was staying at fort inn guesthouse. Somehow I really like this place and the atmosphere. Owners gave me an excellent price for a 3 month stay, were helping with everything and I had no complaints at all. Everything is clean and comfortable. Recently they've just made new long beds for European-sized people :)) and bought new comfortable matrases which help you sleep deeply and peacefully.

If you are staying for 1 week or more, you can freely use kitchen if you need it.

One of the rooms has a fridge, so you can easily buy food and keep it in the fridge.

Thank you very much again!!!

Chanul - Cheeese :)))


Roman

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Maybe a touch overpriced like most places in the Fort but the rooms are nice and clean. The staff are lovely and speak good English. Expect petals on the bed when you arrive. They have a really go knowledge of what is going on and can sort stuff for you. It's not party central though so don't go expecting that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The kind and generous family working this guesthouse made the experience in Galle worthwhile. We had our first-ever Sri Lankan breakfasts (we had to order the night before) which included egg and string hoppers and three different kinds of homemade curry. Everything was delicious and the staff was very accommodating to our travel schedule. They arranged the trip to our next beach town with the brother of the owner, who had a brand new tuk tuk! He took us to wherever we wanted to go that day and dropped us off right at the doorstep of where we were staying next, and all at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This small inn is situated within the old fort walls and it's a gem of a place.
The owners couldn't be more helpful and yyou are always greeted by a huge smile!.
I had a double room with breakfast--which was very tasty and plentiful.
The room had a double bed and a good size bathroom plus ac and fan.
The room is not big enough for a wardrobe and there is no tv or fridge-a mini fridge would be ideal.
The room I stayed in would be a a bit on the small size if there were 2 occupying it and you intended to use it a lot during your stay-but why would you in fabulous Galle!.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The room we had was small with cramped bathroom but well furnished.
Except for the Muezzin form the nearby mosque, the room was quiet.
The service was friendly but not very present.
The appeal of this guesthouse is its location inside the old fort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were really looking forward to staying here as part of our tour of Sri Lanka, having read all the glowing reports on Tripadvisor but when we arrived we were welcomed by Raisika and promptly taken around the corner and told we would be staying somewhere else - an annexe? It was a dump with dirty bathrooms, aircon that maintained a steady 28C throughout the night and my pillow smelt of sick. Our trip to Galle was only redeemed by an excellent dinner at The Fort Printers hotel nearby. Perhaps someone is resting on their laurels.......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Inn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Inn Guest House

Address: 31 Pedlar Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fort Inn Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
04 no. of room family run guest house invite to you stay with us, shere your experience with our family.5 minutes by tuk tuk from the bus or railway station. no.31, Pedler Street, Fort, Galle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Fort Inn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Inn Guest House Hotel Galle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Inn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.