We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect introduction and goodbye to Sri Lanka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambalama Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambalama Villa
Save
You added Ambalama Villa to your Saves list
Dahawella Nr Galle, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Galle Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A perfect introduction and goodbye to Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

A friend booked this gorgeous villa for a couple of nights - well what a way to start my visit to Sri Lanka!
The staff were incredible - from the initial welcome to their consistent, impeccable service. The food was a delight - we were consulted about the menu and amazing meals were whipped up with fresh local produce. Better than a restaurant!
The location on the beach coupled with the pool, internet and books meant that you really never need to leave. But the staff were happy to recommend ideas for travel near and far.

Thank you and apologies for late review!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Within half a day the calm of Ambalama and its attentative staff had slowed me down so I could enjoy all that it had to offer....comfortable rooms, gorgeous vistas, great spaces to read and eat...love breakfast by the pool and dinner on the lawn by the sea. The food was sensational and oh so heathy.......I look forward to a return visit later in the year. Mr Tai - Majordomo/Manager of Ambalama combines great knowledge not only of Galle but all of Sri Lanka with charm and a willingness to provide you with the perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I have just spent a weekend with friends at Ambalama Villa but feel as relaxed as if I had been away for a month. The villa has a beautiful, spacious, light modern design, with an elegantly but simply furnished living area facing straight onto the ocean across a large, stone-lined pool. The pool looks straight across lawns and beds of white lilies to the palm-fringed beach. All the living spaces are light and airy: the high-ceilinged bedrooms have large convenient bathrooms attached (at least one with an open-air shower) and comfortable four-poster beds, stacked with pillows and soft cotton sheets: I slept very well to the sound of nothing but the ocean waves. The service is understated but excellent: the chef used to work at one of the Aman resorts and makes sophisticated but delicious meals from local ingredients, while the house-boys appear from nowhere to anticipate your requests for refreshing drinks. The whole villa is efficiently and charmingly managed by Tai, who seems to know everyone and where to source anything one might need for a getaway in paradise...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Tai and his team at Ambalama know how to give great holiday. They pre-empt your needs and create an atmosphere of leisure, indulgence, sophistication and a touch of mischief. From the amazing food prepared daily, the delicious drinks, spotless accommodation, every whim catered for - this is a destination you must discover. The staff are attentive without being 'in your face' and nothing is too much trouble. The Hoppers at breakfast are to die for....and the G & T's by the infinity pool at sundown aren't too bad either. A must for any traveller Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

We actually live in Sri Lanka and had overseas family visiting us for Xmas. We decided to hire out Ambalama Villa and had the most wonderful time. Having two young children, two teenagers and a granny within the group, we thought it would be almost impossible to have a holiday where everyone was happy, but we were totally proved wrong...Ambalama's ambience, food, amenities and staff all made our holiday the most relaxed, indulgent holiday ever! The kids loved the pool with the beach on our doorstep, the parents had a blast with the fantastic food and lie-ins in the morning...going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the waves was just a sublime experience. We cannot thank the management enough for providing us with a Xmas to remember.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Can't recommend the Ambalamba too highly. The tastefully decorated rooms and stunning view from the dinning area over the infinity pool (my children lived in it) to the beautiful beach was unbelievable. More importantly the service provide by the staff was first class and the chef was incredible.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

stayed 5 nights which were arranged without fuss by the manager Mr Tai. what can i say. a gorgeous place. intimate but spacious. the interiors understated in a graceful way. what a location.. right bang on the beachfront- the staff were extremely friendly and helpful- made us feel like one of the family-although we did eat out in nearbye unawatuna -- the meals prepared by the live in chef - were superb.--all in all such a relaxing environment- i felt that i was in a blissful day dream
-

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambalama Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambalama Villa

Address: Dahawella Nr Galle, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambalama Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.