We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pedlar's Inn Cafe

Pedlar's Inn Cafe
92 Pedlar Street | Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
+94 91 2 225333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 135 Restaurants in Galle
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Italian, Seafood, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Pedlars Inn. Established in 2004 as the first coffee shop inside the UNESCO Heritage Site, Galle Fort, Southern Sri Lanka. From humble beginnings, starting with only 4 tables and one member of staff, the café has developed into a must for all visitors. It now occupies the entire ground floor of the former British post office. Maintaining original features mixed with contemporary design to deliver a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Situated on the historic Pedlars Street at the heart of the Fort, Pedlars Inn provides the perfect respite to a busy day’s exploration of the Ramparts or indulging in the numerous shops and boutiques.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to hang out in the afternoon (or for breakfast) with a good espresso. We also had dinner here once on the patio innthe evening. My wife took a prawn avocado salad, and I had a grilled tuna in capersauce, which was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    148
    43
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A dinner here is a must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you are at Galle Fort looking for a place to eat and hangout, you can't miss out on this! Walking distance from the Lighthouse, this place has great ambiance and great food served to you at great price! What else can you ask for!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great building & food but weak coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've been to this place many times over the last few years. The old Dutch building is excellent as is the food and the laid back atmosphere. I would particularly reconmend the fruit salad with muesli and curd and treacle for breakfast. Alas after having god coffee until a year or so ago the offerings these days a very insipid. Given that the same problem exists at Barista along the street (unlike their excellent coffee throughout India) it poses it a bit of a problem for he en caffeine fan. Despite this problem it's an excellent, relaxing pit-stop which I would award 8 out of 10.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“ok but most uncomfortable chairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is meant to be the number one place in Galle Fort for coffee, gelati and brownies...well, the choice of gelati was either coffee or chocolate. The coffee was nothing special. The brownies - we have had better and the coffee, ho hum. The chairs were uncomfortable so we ate and drank quickly and went elsewhere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good for a drink and a look in the store”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Good ambience.... good little spot with a nice feel to get out of the sun for a while. We grabbed a few iced coffees and looked around the store for a little bit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedlar's Inn Cafe also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to Pedlar's Inn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedlar's Inn Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.