We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarind Hill to your Saves list
Tamarind Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No: 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $10 on select meals
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Galle
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel i june. Honestly I must say I was impressed with architecture, massive huge rooms, and absolutelly brilliant friendly staff, makes you feel very comfortable !

I would recommend this hotel for people looking for some nice quiet place to stay and relax, and personally, this place would be the best place for a wedding !

Great staff, great value. Loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings From Asia Leisure Family,

We thank you for your valuable comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Rightly stated Tamarind Hill is an ideal location for weddings. Garden weddings can be facilitated in the courtyard for approximately 200 guests.

We are grateful to you for giving us a golden opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcome you back to your hotel very soon.

Thank you,
Asia Leisure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    50
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
73
166
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

we stayed Tamarind hill just few days back it was fabulous. no wards to say about the food and the service. huge rooms friendly staff. best impression we had just on arrival great welcome by the GM and his team. we recommend Tamarind hill to all of our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure Family.

We are so excited to see your delightful review and the topic it self described how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are so grateful to you for giving us a golden opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcome you back to your favorite boutique hotel very soon.

Thank you,
Asia Leisure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We went to Tamarind Hill last month for a wedding and on arrival I was so impressed by the tasteful building, decor, and the rooms were simply divine… especially the bathrooms! We ate some excellent Sri Lankan food there. Most memorable of all was the polite, attentive service by the staff, especially the General Manager Nishantha who went out of his way to accommodate us.
Overall, its a wonderful base from which to explore Galle…..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings From Asia Leisure Family,

Thank you very much for your lovely feed back and we are thoroughly excited to see your descriptive review. Its always a pleasure to find that we have made your stay unforgettable and memorable.

We’re thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and our staff members were able to provide detailed touches to your trip. We look forward in seeing you again.

Thank you,
Asia Leisure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My friend and I experienced a very excellent day when we took visit in Galle city, the room of the hotel is very claasic, beautiful and special. there is enough space for a family to take rest, our room even has a little backyard which made us very surprise. the service is very nice and the waiters and waitresses are very kind and very hospital. if next time i go to Galle, i will absolutely choose this hotel again and i will be pleasure to recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

Room Tip: the number of room is limited, so make a reservation asap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Ayubowan!

Greeting from Asia Leisure family.

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with all of us and we extremely happy to hear about your experience. Wish all your comments and recommendations will help for the future guests to choose their dream destination with us.Thank you again and we all look forward to welcome you back to our corner of paradise in your next vacation.Please contact our marketing team directly on marketing@asialeisure.lk ,in order to reserve your room at a best rate as always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Set in a converted old Dutch building, Tamarind Hill is a quiet oasis around 4 minutes in a tuk tuk from the galle fort. Rooms are massive, and very comfortable. Staff could not have been more attentive or helpful during our stay. Food there was also excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure family,

We are very excited to see your lovely comments and we really appreciate all your kind words with regards the food and the atmosphere. The title it self described how much you fall in love with the colonial property, Thank you once again for sharing all your thoughts here.We look forward to welcome you back to our corner of paradise in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

awesome place. simple layout: center courtyard surrounded by a dozen or so rooms. One side is the reception, other is the pool.

the rooms are big, really big. bathrooms could have their own zipcode.

staff were very nice, we were a group of 11 with 3 indian aunties/mothers/MIL (high maintenance) and they assisted with a smile all through the trip.

Make sure you book the sri lankan breakfast its was amazing.

Room Tip: room #4 was the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure Family.

We are pleased to see your delightful review here and thank you very much for giving us a golden opportunity to serve you and your family. We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed the srilankan breakfast and you found our rooms were brilliant .Glad our associates have matched all your expectations with a friendly smile. Again thank you very much for all your compliments ,We hope that we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last month for a friends wedding at the Lighthouse which was right across the street. As you walk in you wonder if you are the only ones staying there! It was very private and you can only hear the birds and crickets, with the odd monkey swinging in the trees!
The swimming pool was lovely, although the pool attendant was a little creepy - ladies don't go and sit by the pool without your other half around! Overall the service was ok, everyone was very friendly, but it was extremely slow - maybe we are just used to the fast-paced life in Dubai.
Don't go expecting 5* luxury as you will be disappointed, instead look at it as a lovely and charming hotel that is very romantic!
The rooms are very clean and nicely made up every day, and they provide you with lots of water which is always appreciated. Finally the bathroom shower was what made our trip, a huge rainshower with large windows that you could have fully open and no one could see in! Bliss..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure team.

Dear Hayley ,Thank you very much for sharing your valuable thoughts with us and we glad that you found the environment of the tamarind was good and you were happy with the room fixtures and amenities, Specially the rain shower area. We are sorry if in case our service was not matched up your expectations.
However we appreciate your feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences and improve the service standards. We would be really great full if you could give us a opportunity address this with you personally. Please contact us on marketing@asialeisure.lk.Look forward to hear from you.Hopefully will have another opportunity to welcome you back to tamarind hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill

Address: No: 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#2 Business Hotel in Galle
#4 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Tamarind Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.