We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of India Hut

India Hut
Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 135 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had two curries, but it was a mixed experience. I did not care for mine, but my wife liked hers. Basic place.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    47
    21
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing food - review by an Indian ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went last night after reading the reviews. I hadn't eaten for 4 days after catching fever so was looking forward to this meal. Wrong
We were seated fast and a few couples entered after us they all got served first but really in the speed that they serve this wasn't a problem.
I thought if play it safe get a classic indian dish channa masala and butter roti my husband went with the waiters recommendation on the special mutton.
The food arrived quickly as did our juices which were ok.
The channa masala was raw I couldn't break the chick peas at all, the roti was undercooked showing signs of raw dough so I left it as I didn't want to risk a fogey stomach.
My husbands tandoori chicken was very good he said but the mutton was not cooked enough either.
The waiter returned to see we hardly ate anything and offered to replace the dishes but to be honest we thought we are better off else where.
It is indian food but not as I would expect or serve it, disappointed would not recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Indian Hut is a wonderful Indian restaurant with tasty and partly very spicy Indian food. When we visited the restaurant, there was a blackout all over Galle. However the restaurant managed to serve our food without any delay. So we enjoyed our food with some spare lights powered by batteries.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsipaw, Myanmar
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good menu but could improve the place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

It was weird when they refused to serve us a "set menu" for they thought it was past 4. I really enjoyed my mutton here but not really the best I had in Sri Lanka. The food was cheap and fast. A good place to dine while watching people-watching. It's kinda sad my friend got sick after eating here though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Diarrhea”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Service was great. But sometimes it happens even in good places. After eating shrimps here I had next day terrible stomach problems and diarrhea. I suffered four days, before getting better. Good diet, because I gained weight in Sri Lanka. Food what I ordered tasted not so great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Hut also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to India Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage India Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.