We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Prepared to be BLOWN AWAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leijay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Leijay Resort to your Saves list
Leijay Resort
43 A/B New Lane | Madawalamulla, Galle 8000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 161 Galle B&B and Inns
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Be Prepared to be BLOWN AWAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Once you pass through the nondescript gate you walk into an oasis of palms, Bougainvillea and coconut trees. Look closer and you will see the carefully tendered orchid gardens, with no two orchid alike.

When we reached our bungalow we genuinely thought we had made a mistake and checked the emails. Indeed it was only $25 a night each for 5 people (17500 RS total). The bungalow size is staggering at about 20 x 20 metres with an enclosed porch measuring 12 x 7 metres. They are designed like the Galle Fort architecture - columns, shingle roof, tiled floors and wood paneled ceilings - beautifully finished.

There are 2 bedrooms, kitchen (no stove) and lounge room with cable TV. Our bungalow had 7 tables and at least 17 chairs of a variety of types. But again it is the attention to detail that catches the eye; ornaments, paintings and sculptures everywhere (one cabinet has 24 different types of elephant atop) and a cabinet filled with drinking glasses.

The pool is huge, 20 x 8 metres, enough for lap swimming. A third is shallower for the younger ones while the deeper end is about 1.5 metres. The kids lived in it and so did the adults.

The resort (true use of the term) has a tuk tuk which can take you anywhere or pick you up.

Staff were all super attentive and professional but also unobtrusive, allowing us to let relax and soak up the atmosphere.

Believe me this resort has the WOW factor written all over it.

PS: We flew out of Colombo early on Sunday but were allowed to stay all of Saturday for free around the pool (awaiting for our van at 6.30 pm). Thank you for the gesture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
48
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked Leijay Resort for 2 nights as the start of our Sri Lanka trip, and as a base for our Galle visit.

It was an unexpected pleasant surprise. We found an oasis of rest: situated in the jungle outside Galle with a nice garden and pool, a perfect place to combine city/beach daytrips with relaxing at the resort villa.

The service of Dinesh and his team was great, they gave us a lot of usefull tips (eat at Crep-ology in the Galle fort, go to Jungle beach instead of the crowded Unawatuna beach).

Haven't tried the food at Leijay, we cannot judge that. The airconditioned rooms were nice spacious and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

On arrival, I was really worried about the location (it was hard to find and a little of the beaten track), but after talking to Dinesh, it really was no problem at all, they could provide us a tuk tuk and numerous times we just text him to pick us up. He was wonderful and very helpful. The room was big, beautiful and clean, the pool was heaven to relax in and the garden was the perfect spot to enjoy the afternoons. Delicious dinners and breakfast provided, so all in all a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for the long weekend of the Tamil and Sinhala new year and where happy for the family style, attentive staff and the real quiet environment. recommended for those who need to relax away from the city noise.
Galle town and the beach are just minutes away on a tuc tuc operated by LeiJay.
Max and Lella

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Leijay Resort gave us the most amazing holiday. Beautiful surroundings the most wonderful staff who were so kind, helpful and thoughtful. Dinesh gave us lots of helpful advice about where to visit and also provided a great service taking us out and picking us up in the tuk tuk. The accommodation was first class the garden was beautiful a perfect place to relax. We were made to feel like it was home from home and were spoilt all the time we were there. The food was delicious Jayantha's curries especially tasty and breakfast was always a leisurely affair. We can't thank Yvonne, Dinesh, Sudath, Dilini, Jayantha, Malani and everyone else enough for making our holiday the most amazing experience. We were sad to leave but we will definitely return it really was like paradise. So a big Thank You to you all we loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while traveling around the world for a year. Hands down, this is the best value and best experience we have found anywhere. The garden is unbelievably beautiful, the pool refreshing, meals on the peaceful veranda delicious and a good price, and the room comfortable. We did a few day trips in the area, but mainly enjoyed hanging out. It is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. Don't let this discourage you, as they make transportation easy. The staff are definitely the highlight -- uncommonly friendly and attentive. They even allowed us a curry cooking lesson in their kitchen. The owner is equally generous and delightful. At our behest, she arranged for us (and some other guests) to go with her to full moon ceremonies at a local temple. She even included us in her staff Christmas meal -- way above and beyond our expectations. I can not recommend this place with more enthusiasm. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful Place.......and Wonderful Staff..... Great for a Getaway with that Special Person in your life. Although it's a couple miles from the Fort they have great Tuk Tuk transportation at the Resort to take you anywhere. The did a wonderful specialized trip for me for a couple hours. The food is great and reasonably priced. They could have tried to charge more since there are not many restaurants close by but do not take advantage of their customers. Yvonne was a Joy to work with as were all the staff there !!! A wonderful experience !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leijay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leijay Resort

Address: 43 A/B New Lane | Madawalamulla, Galle 8000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bungalows, each room with ceiling fan and A/C, bathrooms with hot water, wireless Internet, beautiful pool, tropical garden {birdwatching}, own Ayurvedacenter in Unawatuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Leijay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leijay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.