We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bouique quality, reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Galle Fort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mama's Galle Fort to your Saves list
Mama's Galle Fort
76 Leyn Baan Street, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 183 Galle B&B and Inns
Nottinghamshire
1 review
“Bouique quality, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

This is by far the best hotel we stayed in during our month in Sri Lanka, it was also really good value for money. The family that run it produce excellent food, and were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were huge, light and airy and furnished with antiques. The only drawback was the lack of a swimming pool, which was ok because of the proximity to the beach. A really lovely place!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

A 2 room guest house (not to be misconstrued as a “boutique” hotel) with a rooftop bar/restaurant.

We had a spacious room including an entrance hall, balcony and bathroom. The 4 poster bed with mosquito net canopy added charm to an otherwise basic and slightly faded room. Breakfast is served on the rooftop, by far the best feature, affording wonderful views of Galle lighthouse. A 5.00 a.m. wake-up call is provided by the nearby mosque - you have been warned. We ate here both nights of our stay and the food was reasonably priced and very tasty. Unfortunately, we were served some very undercooked chicken on the 2nd night - thankfully we spotted it before either of us had taken a bite.

Despite being large the bathroom left a lot to be desired in terms of general repair and cleanliness. The shower was directly in the entrance which swamped the floor with water, and as the room was not serviced this remained the case for the duration of our 2 night stay - the bathmat being inadequate to act as a mop. Quite unpleasant.

The staff were friendly and worked very hard. To sum up, it was reasonably cheap - and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Mama's is a beautiful old house in a fantastic location of the Fort. My room featured a lovely original balcony from where I could see the gentle pace of life below and (very clearly!) hear the Muezzin from the adjacent Mosque. The top floor terrace had fantastic views over the lighthouse. So far so good, but.... when you're paying 55 euros a night, you should expect some basics, namely clean towels which are not threadbare, dirty and full of holes - and certainly not something you would ever dry yourself with. This seems a very simple aspect to remedy quickly - and something which will dramatically increase the attraction of this otherwise charming place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

My best friend and I visited Galle for its famous Literary Festival and had trouble finding last minute accommodation. So we ended up calling Mama's and unfortunately they were also fully booked. However, the owner Mr. Jerome Perera was brilliant enough to find us accommodation in his neighbour's house. Although we spent the night in the other house, all meals were provided by Mama's and it was truly amazing. Mr. Perera's hospitality is out of this world so the service gets a 5 star rating from me.

Food was of local cuisine and it was the best food I've ever had in Galle. Thinking about it now, makes my mouth water.

Even if it's not an extravagant place, Mama's at Galle Fort is excellent for a traveller who appreciates local hospitality and wants a real local experience.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Mama's is situated inside the Galle fort, a walled area close the Galle train station which is a Unesco heritage site. Being inside the fort means Mama's is ideally located for exploring the fort and also checking out Galle and surroundings.

Mama's tasty homecooked meals are served on the roof terrace which gives a splendid view over most of the fort and indeed the Indian ocean. The beach is obviously within walking distance but seemed completely deserted so not sure how swimmable the ocean is at the Fort walls.

Where Mama's let us down was room comfort and cleanliness. During our two night stay, the sheets or towels weren't changed and the room wasn't cleaned. The bedsheets and mosquito net were also stained and the bathroom was in need of some renovation. This wouldn't be an issue if mama's was a low-budget backpacker style of place but it certainly isn't priced this way at a whopping €55 / night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

This old colonial hotel is precious. The house is owned by a British gentlement names Merrington (I think) and he has renovated the place into a treasure trove of simple wooden furniture. The entire place is so cosy and welcoming. Rooms are clean and spacious. They have the best rooftop. The manager, Jerome Perera is a dearie - honest, kind and always to ready to help.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

I couldnt agree more. We stayed with Mr Perera for just over a week and received teh most excellent service. It was Mrs Perera's birthday during our visit and we were even offered some of her birthday cake! We also enjoyed the most wonderful breakfasts up on the roof terrace (you can chose from Indian or western breakfast) with amazing views, and Mama's home made "special curry" in the evening was a true delight. This is a perfectly located and very comfortable guest house with attentive but unobtrusive service and I cannot recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mama's Galle Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Galle Fort

Address: 76 Leyn Baan Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamas Galle Fort Roof Café and Guesthouse is situated at 67, near Leyn Baan Street in the world heritage site of Galle Fort.It is newly renovated house Available 3 Bedrooms with A/C facilities with Roof cafe restaurants. Mrs.Malani and Her daughter ready to you family services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mama's Galle Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama`s Galle Fort Hotel Galle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Galle Fort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.