We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-Lanka Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shangri-Lanka Villa to your Saves list
Shangri-Lanka Villa
23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 43 Bentota B&B and Inns
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place is more of a small hotel than B&B given the level of (almost 24hr) service available by friendly & helpful staff.

We were in 1 of the new rooms, which was massive (a London studio could fit in the bathroom alone), very clean & comfortably equipped. (We had no probs with mossies, but kept our doors closed when lights were on.) The garden, setting & pool are great. You are 15 mins walk from a largely deserted area of beach.
Drivers for transfers were both excellent.
Given all that why on earth wold anyone stay at the lux resorts down the road for 4 times the price.
Yes there were a couple of small niggles, but they were generally beyond the control of the owners - & I have never stayed in a place that is perfect.
Worth noting for anyone who is a light sleeper the local stray dogs can have a barking frenzy at any point in the night - but the beds were big & comfy enough for me to just roll over & sleep through most of it.

Room Tip: room 5 - is top floor of 2 in detached villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
212
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Situated in the marsh lands, behind Bentota beach, you find a secluded large villa with 5 large very nicely decorated and clean bedrooms. Service it top notch, all prices are reasonable.
Food is from higher quality than average. Is Shangri-Lanka Villa he lost Paradise? No, their major problem are mosquitos. Be careful in a denque infested region. Our bathroom without mosquito screens was invaded. The beds are without mosquito nets and tthe products they use doesn't kill those flying insects. We made those remarks but they were unable to solve the problem. A great pity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilanka, Manager at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback.

We greatly appreciate your acknowledgment of our high standard and fair prices as that is one of our main goals.

We were sorry you were the only guests to be troubled by mosquitoes and understood you didn't want to close the bathroom windows unfortunately it is the best way to solve the problem and the only way a chemical can work because it kills whatever is the room once it is sealed.

The air-conditioning and ceiling fan in the bedroom is a big deterrent in the bedroom for people that don't like to use these we do have nets for the beds. It is just that we are hardly ever asked for them and as your stay was so short you were leaving before it was realised you didn't want to take the advice. We are very sorry to have failed to deliver your personal requirements which is another one of our goals

We didn't realise you had been wrongly informed about dengue or else we would have put your mind at rest. Dengue is contracted from a daytime mosquito and so not the night one that you were troubled by and Bentota is certainly not a dengue infested area..

As it is a tourist board resort very strict rules apply to all properties even local houses. Health inspectors check all properties and the beach area. Any guest that is staying with us now will have seen the health inspector here coincidentally. we were advised our property was excellent in all aspects of health.

If you ever return to Sri Lanka don't be put off staying here just inform us and we will have nets set up for when you arrive.

Thank you

Karen banister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissonerga, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This gem of a guest house lived up to every expectation and we can see why so many excellent ratings Karen and Rohan have been given. Spotlessly clean, nothing is too much trouble and the food and service by one and all is truly wonderful. We stayed 5 days and will remember our first visit with lovely memories. We made some good friends and will definately be returning sometime soon. If you are ever going to be in the Bentota area, do yourself a favour and spend a few nights here, you will not regret it and you will then see why everyone just loves this place.
Thank you everyone at Shangri Lanka for such a great time and Rohan, I will get you that hat on our return!!

Room Tip: we had the ground floor room opposite the pool and it was very convenient. lovely corner bath too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you like luxurious rooms with 16 sqm bathrooms and private terrasse situated in a British well-kept garden with a very nice pool and no visible neighbours, this is a guest-house for you to consider. The beach is 10-15 minutes walk away, and so is Bentota by tuk-tuk (200 roupies or 1,30 euro). The only "complaint" we have is the price level of the services and in particular the restaurant of the guest-house. It is of course low by European standards, but quite high by Sri Lankain standards. We enjoyed the guide and restaurant services of Alwis's Fish Restaurant down the road.

Room Tip: Our room, i.e. no. 2, was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilanka, Owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about the magnificence and maintenance of our property. We are very proud of it as we designed it ourselves

Our team of 7 employees help us maintain it to this high standard.

The same level of quality is displayed in our open kitchen. We don't take any outside guests so we can cater personally and individually for our own guests.

We have a clear and open policy and so our menu and current prices are on our website so there are no surprises..

Sri Lankan standards in Bentota are not low and most restaurants are similar in price to ours and a few are higher and the top end.

The place you enjoyed cheap seafood was opened while you were here and as you are aware it is not a fair comparison to any legal restaurant in Bentota. It is in the garden of a local house with no facilities.

We were very glad you enjoyed our breakfasts included in the room rate but we wish you had sampled more of the menu and you may have have found the price to be fair for portion size and quality.

You are very welcome back though for just bed and breakfast anytime.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This will be a short review as previous reviewers have said everything there is to say. The Shangri Lanka villa is a little bit of paradise. You do as little or as much as you want to do. We stayed for 12 nights and only ate out once as we content to stay at eat the wonderful food at the villa. The staff are wonderful and very attentive and Karen and Rohan were lovely hosts.

I hadn't been too well before I went and am facing surgery on my return so this was the perfect place to relax and build up my strength. Other guests who went on tours arranged by Rohan had a fantastic time with plenty of stories about their trips. We did go on the river cruise and that was well worth the trip.

I can't recommend this place highly enough and would love to return and take advantage of some the trips.

Thank you to all for making our stay such a delight.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timaru
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We loved our holiday at Shangri-Lanka. We had 5 days there and then 6 days on tour (which Karen and Rohan organised), before returning for another 5 days. Everything far exceeded our expectations. The rooms are luxurious, spacious and beautifully presented. We loved being able to have a cup of tea at any time - tea is delicious in Sri Lanka, probably because it is so fresh! We also loved the fact that we could join the crew in the kitchen to watch them whip up yet another tasty curry. The food was outstanding, freshest fish, biggest prawns, fabulous fruit - and plenty of it. Rohan (the cook) took us to the local Monday market - lots of fun and photos. The beach is a 10 minute stroll along a lovely country lane with water buffalo grazing in the wetlands on either side, but the pool is so gorgeous you won't want to go anywhere. A place you can be as friendly or as reserved as you like - intimate but private - you can eat on your balcony or join the other guests al fresco. We made lovely new friends and enjoyed the conviviality shared each evening. We especially want to recommend two things we did - a trip to the garden at "Brief" ( English artist Bevis Bawa lived here most of his life) in a tuk-tuk ,was well worth it - a tranquil and interesting place with some erotic sculptures that raise a smile, plus, you get served tea and biccies! The other visit was far more sobering but almost something everyone who visits Sri Lanks should do - go to the "Tsunami Photo Museum" - on the road south to Galle - just before the huge white shrine the Japanese have constructed at a site where a train derailed, drowning all aboard. The "museum" is little more than a simple shack set up by a lovely young woman and a Dutch tourist who survived this catastrophic event. Photos have been gathered from all around the world and the stories that accompany them are heart-wrenching - I cried my way around the exhibition. The purpose of the museum is to educate young people who did not live through the experience and to bring to everyone's attention the ongoing impacts on those living in devastated areas. One of those visits that makes you appreciate your little corner of the world and how fortunate those of us who can afford to be tourists are.
Sri Lanka is a beautiful country with wonderful, hospitable and charming people - there is so much to do and see- wild animals, flowers, fruits and trees, ancient temples and palaces, tea plantations, spices and gorgeous colours absolutely everywhere. Karen and Rohan organised the perfect tour for us and at half the price of commercial tour groups - highly recommended.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely - if you want a more expansive view of the paddy fields and neighbouring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The short review: BOOK WITHOUT THINKING.

The long review:
This beautiful gem of a resort will knock you sideways with its lush, green fields and fantastically modern and ginormous rooms. Everything in this artful villa is curated and thoughtful from the wonderful modern Sri Lankan paintings and linens to installing a notebook computer in every room. Very few places have made me feel this much zen. I would return here in a heartbeat - my only regret is that we only spent one night here.

The villa is just as much about a spectacular setting as it is about its people.
The masseuse is excellent - can't remember her name but my muscles thanked her!
Raymond is ever helpful.
The chef is uber-talented and caters to every whim.
And finally, the hosts Rohan and Karen are lovely. Rohan is a wonderful guy, so friendly, genuine and humble, he has built this villa with so much heart - my family and I enjoyed hours of conversation with him on the porch.

Room Tip: The new wing is massive - two rooms in an annex with own balcony and porch. Great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-Lanka Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.