We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, amazing food and lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentota Lake

Bentota Lake
No. 437, Elpitiya Road | Dedduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
+(94)774094844
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Bentota
Cuisines: Dessert, Indian, Seafood, Continental, Café, Sri Lankan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Newbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place, amazing food and lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Of all of the places to eat in bentota this place surely is the finest, this place truly is the jewel of bentota the food and hosts are fantastic and most welcoming and very friendly, we have had 2 nights there already and just on our way to a nights dining on the lake on a floating pontoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    9
    1
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breezy location, awesome staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

During our cycle tour through the area we were stopped by the very kind owner of the restaurant. He convinced us to visit his place for some drinks and we agreed. He promised that his place would be the most beautiful place in bentota. And we believe it is true. He served us a complementary cocktail of a fruit we did not know and joined us for a chat which we enjoyed very much.

Its is a shame we did not have time for dinner, but after reading the current reviews and judging by his dedication to get the most fresh fish in the area, we would definitely come back!

We believe this restaurant will grow to be one of the best in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My family and I went to Bentota Lake restaurant on 9 July 2014 to celebrate my birthday. The restaurant is unique as it has a pontoon which is rowed out into the middle of the lake while we enjoyed predinner drinks. We really enjoyed the experience and the beautiful view over the lake and surrounding area.
Our family (of 3 adults and 3 children) loved the meal of fresh seafood and quality produce. The children loved the food and have been asking to go back again.
It's a new family business and it's highly recommended if you are in Bentota.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfull place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very very beautiful place, good dishes, nice staff. Fresh air ! I liked garden located at this area. We saw eagles under the Island opposite. It's wild and dangerous.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentota, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice local food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

the restaurant was recommended by our hotel owner because it is brand new with a very nice location. the view over the lake is special, the taste of the food was very good: nice dishes served by friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentota Lake also viewed

Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 
Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 

Been to Bentota Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentota Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.