We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterside Bentota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Waterside Bentota to your Saves list
The Waterside Bentota
Yathramulla, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived here after a long flight and we were mostly the only occupants there for the 5 days.
The place is lovely, so quiet and the staff could not have been more friendly.
Perfect surroundings and equally fabulous food - especialy the curry, one of the best we tasted accross Sri Lanka.
The free boat trip was a highlight of our holiday - amazing! We saw so much and even held a crocodile!
Susan, Lucky and the other staff were brilliant and so we just wanted to write this review as we would definately recommend this place!
Thanks for making the start of our honeymoon so special x

Room Tip: all rooms have an amazing view, would recommend a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

After tearing around Northern India by train, plane, rickshaw and taxi five days here was a perfect rest up for us. Great weather, great location lovely food and the staff Lucky, Nuwan and especially Chammy and Suresh were brilliant. The hotel has six rooms for our stay there was only us it was like having a huge villa to ourselves. Try the Sri Lankan breakfast at least once 'string hoppers' or noodles with a fish curry and dhal just lovely and to let you into a secret toast tastes even better when dipped in the curry sauce. You can have eggs and bacon as well as a host of other things. We loved the boat trip to the beach and loved the walk back about a mile no more. A great place go and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I chose this property over the Taj and that's not something a regular Indian would do in Bentota. And, thank God for that. We just loved our stay here. The hotel is not a budget property, mind you, but it's true value for every $ spent. The approach to the property is through winding narrow roads and you start getting jitters, whether you made the right decision.

Once, you enter the property, it's like finding a nice sweet spot on a picnic trip. It's quiet, it's on the river and it is beautiful. The hotel is very very nice and the white rooms and the white furniture almost makes you feel you are in some nice place. Something like a bungalow right out of the tea gardens in Eastern India.

The staff is very friendly and they went out of their way to take care of our needs. It's a small property so don't expect 24X7 room service with a 20 page menu. They have a set menu from which you can choose your food.

We requested a lot of local food and the chef agreed to treat us to the SL fare, which was very good. Breakfast is a continental affair and you don't mind that after a heavy spicy dinner.

We met the owner, Ms Susan for breakfast and she was a nice person to interact with.

The motor boat the hotel owns acts as a shuttle between the beach and the hotel, which is a big relief. The ride across the mangroves is a short one but you almost feel like you are in Sunderbans as you are navigated across the low hanging branches of the mangroves.

We saw a lot of monitors lazing on the river banks and the kids were pretty excited to see some impromptu wildlife.

I think we spent too little time in the hotel. This is the place you should come and just chill for a week and forget about the world.

I would definitely be coming back next year and this time it would be a longer stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic. but the ones next to the pool on the Ground Floor are interconnected an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Waterside bentota has it all - great location, staff, food and facilities. Nothing is too much trouble for Madame Susan and her team.

Waterside is a great base to explore the best that Sri Lanka has to offer - turtles, elephants, beaches, watersports ...all in a fantastic small, homely place. Each room is clean and spacious and they have a balcony overlooking the pool and lake. Meals are prepared to order and served by the best staff we encountered on our trip.

You won't regret picking the waterside

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed two nights in "The waterside". We just loved the place. The hotel is gorgeous, the staff is great and the location is amazing.
We found very convenient the boat shutle to the beach and the complimentary boat trip was great.
We had a bad experience though with dinner. The meat we had was impossible to chew! We returned the food and the rest of the dinner was kind of akward... So, my recommendation is to take a tuk-tuk and head somewhere else for dinner.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

everything about this small hotel adds to the growing sense of peace and relaxation that we experienced in our three days here. Plenty to do in the area but we just didn't want to....... especially when the owner lent me the sunday papers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

we had the pleasure of staying at this place for 2 nights with our 3 children age 2,3 and 7. The location is quite nice if it is not a must for you to stay right on the beach. beautiful view over the lake and a nice garden. very helpful and kind staff - and free 1-hour boat ride, which is definitely worthwile. would recommmend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterside Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Bentota

Address: Yathramulla, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside is an elegant well maintained Villa with restaurant,which is situated in a unique riverside location,and has magnificent views over the wide Bentota Ganga. Waterside is popular with guests of all nationalities.We have 6 ensuite (with bathtub and shower) A/C rooms with bar fridge,fan and satellite TV.The large open restaurant serves delicious Sri Lankan and Western dishes as well as mouth watering seafood.During your stay you can relax by our pool which is only a few steps from all the rooms, whilst enjoying the surrounding mature tropical garden and river views.We offer complimentary boat transfer to nearby beach, water sports or town.If you require Ayuvedic massage we can recommend several treatment centres.Excursions and tours to all the magnificent sites in this beautiful island can be arranged.If you wish to explore the local area we provide bicycles or we can organise local scenic tuk tuk rides . Fishing trips ,bird watching and river trips are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Waterside Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Bentota Hotel Bentota
The Waterside Hotel Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterside Bentota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.