We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a nice atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterside Bentota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Waterside Bentota to your Saves list
The Waterside Bentota
Yathramulla, Bentota, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quite a nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My family spend two wonderful nights in such a relaxing place. Is is absolute secluded from noise and a wonderful view of the river in front of you accompanied us all the time. My children enjoy the pool at three meters of our room and the free river transportation to Bentota beach and the surroundings.
Food was nice at the hotel and owner is permanent there to help and solve any problem.
We really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Everything about this Hotel was lovely apart from the price ! Spotlessly clean and very comfortable with friendly and helpful Staff. We loved the location,the complimentary River Trip looking for and finding Crocs.and our visit to the Brief garden. Food good but not haute cuisine. A relaxing end of holiday stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

After a two week tour of Sri Lanka we stayed at the Waterside to chill out for three nights and couldn't have been happier with the location, the ambience of the hotel and its friendly and efficient staff. It is a very peaceful and relaxing environment but there are plenty of interesting and fun things to do. We enjoyed going to the beach on the hotel's motor boat and visiting the nearby Bawa hotel for an excellent lunch and tour, as well as Brief Gardens. Our tuc tuc driver Sampath was great and also took us shopping and to a beautiful old local temple.
I left a dress behind by mistake and the hotel very kindly posted it to England for me. Our thanks and best wishes to all at the Waterside. We could easily have spent longer here and would love to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed here at the end of our trip to Sri Lanka for 2 days. The hotel was set in a beautiful location by the river. The hotel were spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were attentive and helpful and made our stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Having had the pleasure of staying for one month,Waterside hotel is a jewel on the riverbank, truly immersed in Nature, surrounded by both jungle and the local village, with good food and drink and relaxation high on the menue, and every facility with a Staff Team on hand dedicated to making your stay both enjoyable and memorable. The hotel boatman will take you on early morning bird watching trips up the river, and other wildlife seeking trips any time of the day, or ferry you across to Bentota beach or town. You can also walk to Bentota beach or take a local tuk -tuk, or use the hotel car for longer trips with drive &/or guide to many places of interest.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The Waterside Bentota is a small guest house with just 6 rooms, and is built like a home away from home. The staff are extremely attentive and ready to help with any request. The setting is one of the most tranquil in Sri Lanka, on the side of the river in a peaceful part of the village surrounded by coconut palms and tropical forest. The rooms are basic but extremely clean and well kept. The food served in the restaurant is the best we ate while in Sri Lanka, and the chef will cook anything that you request, we kept to traditional Sri Lankan curries and rice dishes for breakfast and dinner but they serve a good range of western dishes of top quality as well. There is a free boat trip for every guest which is well worthwhile, the staff will also arrange boats to the nearby beach or fishing if you are interested. The hotel's dedicated tuk tuk driver is very safe and considerate and will go out of his way to help you find what you are looking for. If like us you have had bad hotel experiences in Sri Lanka before, this is one place that will change your mind forever, we are already planning out next trip!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This lovely boutique hotel is set in a quiet location, with an attractive garden, pool, and wonderful view of the river.
We were here for only two nights, and spent most of our time relaxing on the large balcony and enjoying the view. We also had a nice trip up the river (saw quite a few birds), and to the nearby temple and Bawa Gardens.
The staff here are excellent - very well trained, polite, discreet - and will help to arrange whatever you need. The owners (Susan and her local partner) are hands-on and they make you feel like a guest in their home.
The restuarant food was wonderful - we mostly ate the sri lankan curries, which were very tasty.
The room was comfortable, spacious, and clean.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterside Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Bentota

Address: Yathramulla, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside is an elegant well maintained Villa with restaurant,which is situated in a unique riverside location,and has magnificent views over the wide Bentota Ganga. Waterside is popular with guests of all nationalities.We have 6 ensuite (with bathtub and shower) A/C rooms with bar fridge,fan and satellite TV.The large open restaurant serves delicious Sri Lankan and Western dishes as well as mouth watering seafood.During your stay you can relax by our pool which is only a few steps from all the rooms, whilst enjoying the surrounding mature tropical garden and river views.We offer complimentary boat transfer to nearby beach, water sports or town.If you require Ayuvedic massage we can recommend several treatment centres.Excursions and tours to all the magnificent sites in this beautiful island can be arranged.If you wish to explore the local area we provide bicycles or we can organise local scenic tuk tuk rides . Fishing trips ,bird watching and river trips are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Waterside Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Bentota Hotel Bentota
The Waterside Hotel Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterside Bentota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.