We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great resort tinged with bad experiences.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant to your Saves list
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 21 Meegama Rd | Warapitiya, Bentota 85000, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Bentota
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“great resort tinged with bad experiences.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived in the early hours of the morning having already booked the room from the day before. on arrival no one (including the manager) had any idea what room we were in.
the resort itslef was quiet, relaxing and offered the perfect background to simply kick back and totally relax.

the food was fantastic. the chef took a personal interest and pride in making sure each dish he cooked was to the individual preference. there cant be any complaints about the food or kitchen/ waiting staff. (i noted that all the cooking was done with bottled water which just re enforces the care taken in food preperation).

the staff were all friendly, very attentive and would bend over backwards to accomodate the guests. top drawer.

the room was great, very basic facilities but it was just what we expected. there were plenty of smaller 'guests' but this also is expected when living in a jungle!

all in all, very good.... however there were some incidents that left a very bitter taste and went some way to ruining the entire visit.

we decided to travel to galle in order to watch an international cricket match. we asked the manager how we could arrange a taxi. he said he would call one for us.
we travelled to galle, the minibus broke down and we arrived around an hour late. when we were ready to leave the driver then proposed taking us to several sites. the turtle sanctuary, a'mineral' mine and several statues.
the turtle sanctuary was great. the mine was just a gimic for a jewellery shop with a hard sell. we bought something and noted the driver was then paid by the staff at the shop.
on arrival back at the resort i went to pay the driver, the manager said he would take care of it for me which i thought nothing of. on the final bill it cost 12,000 ruppes which is arounf £60. (for a days taxi ride, when two day trip to kandy cost 14,000 rupees.

i believe the manager paid the driver a fraction of what he charged me which is unethical if not a bit dishonest.

another incident was when a young couple had some money stolen from their room. they searched their bags as well as the room. the manager made a big show of sacking the two room boys responsible for cleaning the room. he didnt appear suprised by anything. the police were called and the couple were 'persuaded' to sign a disclaimer saying the theft hadnt occured for a fraction of the money returned by the manager.
the couple left that day, and strangely enough.... on the same evening we ordered room service as the weather was bad. the two 'sacked' room boys came to the room in casual clothing carrying umbrellas for the waiters. the following morning i saw one of the room boys back in his uniform at work.

put simply, the manager lied to me when i spoke to him - he told me the couple had been paid back the amount stolen... they were given a small fraction of a refund. the room boys had been sacked.... the manager didnt even flinch or realise his lie was obvious when i was speaking to him the following day and one of the room boys in uniform walked past.

i cannot imagine what had happened between him and the couple in order to get them to sign a disclaimer saying the money had been lost and not stolen.

the owner of this resort has to be made aware of this incident, which i believe is disgraceful, first the theft, then the management manipulating the situation to maintain the pretence of normality. (it also begs the question of where the money went, and how much was actually stolen..)

very disappointed.

Room Tip: the rooms are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peer F, Owner at Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are very happy to hear that you found the environments and services of Dalmanuta to be excellent.

We were surprised when you arrived in the middle of the night, we hadn’t got any information that you would be arriving late, so we assumed that your absence was a so called “No Show”. When you after all arrived, our office staffs had gone home for the night and due to thunder/lightning the computers were shut down. While the manager started the computer to find out what room should be yours, you were treated with cold towels and a fruit drink. In the future, in case of a “Believed No Show”, our routines will be changed. Thank you for pointing this error out. We do apologise the inconvenience caused.

We are very sad that one of our guests lost money in their room on the 24th November 2012, and that you, due to lack of communication on our behalf, got the wrong impression of our very highly recommended manager. We would like to clarify some of the events that took place, but first of all we would like to inform you that, due to this incident, we have from today 4th December 2012 installed mini safes in all our rooms. We have also today submitted a picture of one new room safe here at Tripadvisor Gallery.

When our manager was informed of the loss of money he instinctually reacted by firing the two room attendants that most obviously could be suspected of stealing. However, when the incident was reported to the police they informed him that without proof his dismissal of the two employees was questionable from a workers-rights point of view and that it would also hamper the possibilities of the police to investigate the theft further. So he, on the suggestion of the Police, reinstated the two room attendants (temporarily under close watch). Following the Police inquiry we can now inform you that one of the attendants, after interrogation in the police station for 12 hours, have confessed to have stolen money from the guest room. He is now in jail pending trial and since the other attendant could not be completely whitewashed he has also been relieved of his post.

Since this is actually the first time that any guest have reported a theft, the manager in his state of disbelief gave the guests half of the amount lost, from the hotel’s cash, as a patch on the wound and as a sign of the genuine grief he felt over the incident.

To further clarify what happened; the guests themselves made a report directly to the Police Officer that arrived at the hotel. Our manager could not interfere in what was written in the report. They received a copy of their report that could be used to claim compensation from their insurance company. The guests reported that they were satisfied with the way the Police Officer handled their case.

We are also sorry that you encountered a tour driver that took you for a little extra ride. But unfortunately it’s the rule, rather than the exception in Sri Lanka, that drivers get some commission from various tourist sites and it’s very difficult for us to prevent this from happening when using external drivers.

Thank you very much for taking your time to report this.

Kind Regards

Peer Franzén
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    30
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
33
111
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Felt like I came home: we were treated like princesses, staff here makes all wishes come true! Very friendly atmosphere at the hotel, very attentive and helpful staff. Ideal place to relax, have rest and find harmony. Strongly recommend to everybody!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It was an incredible experience at Dalmanuta - the best host! From day 1 we entered - each and everything was ensured to remain perfect. All the employees including the director of the resort were so friendly and warm. Being from a different country, they ensured that we feel at home. The resort in itself is a different world all together - its very well maintained and cleanliness is at its best. We were so impressed that we increased our stay there by 2 more days. I would definitely recommend all to stay at Dalmanuta during their trip to Lanka

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for our last days of our trip to Sri Lanka. It was like a little paradise, with excellent facilities and treatments. The staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble, they even gave my grandson bread each day to feed the fish and thought the boat trip to the beach was awesome.

Room Tip: Beware of the Mosquitos they were vicious despite spray and coils, also the trip back to the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for four nights in Dalmanuta and found it to be a very relaxing, friendly resort, in a beautiful surrounding. The rooms are very clean the treatments and yoga very relaxing and the staff could not do enough for you. The 10 minute boat ride to the beach wasn't a hassle at all as there is so much wildlife to look at on the river. Our 6 year old enjoyed the pool and the jacuzzi... so did we. I would recommend this place to people looking for complete relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surgut, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was very happy staying at this hotel. Here, great atmosphere, staff attitude, treatment, food, well-kept area. Very suitable for those who want to cleanse the body of toxins and thaksin, a little weight loss. There is a desire to return bakc here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were looking to get away after a hectic year. So not being on a busy beach was attractive. If you want a quiet, romantic place, where the staff are fantastically friendly this fits the bill. We went in late September and for two nights were the only ones there. The staff were always helpful, food was great especially the curry's and sea food. We stayed a week and after one disappointing meal at the "best restaurant in town (tripadvisor) we eat every night in the hotel. Pool is very inviting, and dinning every night on the huts over the river can't be bettered, especially when you can watch the fruit bats flying down the river or a croc swim by. The boat ride to a nice beach is also a great way to start the day and a tuc-tuc to the town cost very little. We were not bothered by the locals in Bentota as bad as other places in Sri Lanka we stayed. The owner and Atula the cook quickly become friends, a business that deserves to succeed ! We would go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant

Address: No 21 Meegama Rd | Warapitiya, Bentota 85000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#7 Family Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalmanuta is situated in a large lovely park along the Bentota River. Dalmanuta offers full Ayurvedic Treatment or just a relaxing holiday. The Hotel has two pools, one diving deep and one Jacuzzi pool. The restaurant is open also for guests not living at the hotel. Minimum stay 3 nights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort And Restaurant
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant Hotel Bentota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.